We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and warm hosts/ beautiful surrounding next to cozy village”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Liberia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed here 4 nights and also 1 night on the campground. There is al lot to explore and easy acces if you have a car.
This dutch couple where the place is from are great/ warm hosts. They have a lovely place in a nice spacious garden. The rooms are spotless/ verry clean and nicely decorated. The whole place is made by them by hand. They also have a good campground and you can even rent a tent and the stuff you need for camping. Good breakfast, eggs from their own chicken and cute dog "kaki" that gives you company . A place to go back to if we visit costa rica again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Simone8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2010

My partner and I stayed at El Sol Verde for 4 nights. We had no transport and opted to take Interbus from Fortuna:this is a bit pricey but infinitely preferable to starting at 7am and travelling on 3 different buses for the whole day.
We were given an extremely warm welcome by Gerard and Ingrid, and as we got to know them better they became like family to us. Ingrid even mended my backpack for me so that I could start using it again! What a couple! A delicious dinner was cooked for us if we wanted it.
These are not people who are out to make a fortune from tourists, but who love where they live and what they do, and love to share it all with others. So the rather small but toally adequate spotlessly clean room with private bath is very modestly priced at $45 and we spent 3 separate days with Gerard as our guide to visit the local attractions at an incredibly low price...just because Gerard loves making these trips and showing us the beautiful and fascinating wildlife which he is so enthusiastic and knowledgable about.
The location of the rooms with the views is stunning. We liked breakfast time the best, sitting half in and half out of the common area, watching the birds and listening to Pablo the Parrot sing "Colonel Bogey" Kakkie the Dog must get a special mention, too, as she will guide you to the village and/or the river and waterfall, looking back constantly to make sure you are OK (and Yes, Kakkie, I have forgiven you for deserting me on the way back in favour of 2 other guests who gave you a biscuit. I will carry my own supply of goodies next time,,,you are only....er... canine after all)

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quartetfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Gerard & Ingrid were the perfect hosts - multi-lingual, knowledgable of the area and always keen to help and advise and go the extra mile. Their establishment is simple, clean and comfortable and they run it efficiently and with evident pleasure. The location is excellent - it nestles in the forest on the edge of a very small town and yet is only a few miles from Rincon de la Vieja National Park. In many respects you get the best of both worlds - a taste of Costa Rican culture and yet easy access to the walks and thrills of the park. Excellent value and generally highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTwoJays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

While traveling around in Costa Rica we also spend some days in Sol Verde in Curubande. Luckily we checked the Trip-Advisors-Homepage two days before where to stay there. Sol Verde is a beautiful place and has a very relaxt atmosphere. We lived in front of the savannah with all the beautiful animals and birds which lives there in the threes. The room was absolutely sufficient: enough space, new establisht and very clean. Shower with hot water and the water-closet also worked fine. It was an amazing experience to here all the animals early in the morning which starts there singings. It was interesting but we didn't felt disturb by this - it was more a very relaxt atmosphere. Gerard and Ingrid - a nice and friendly dutch couple - did everything for us to feel comfortable. The breakfest was made from the eggs which came directly from there own chickens and this you definitely will notice. Gerard and Ingrid gave us helpful advices to explore the surrounding area. And they told us some nice stories about the area and the experiences they made while living there over the last years. It was really pleasent to here a lot of new things about Costa Rica. Gerard and Ingrid also offer a campground which is clean and quite. At least you should stay there for 3 or 4 nights to feel the nice atmosphere of this place and to explore all the nice things in the Rincon de la vieja NP. We enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unterwegs2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

We spent three great nights at El Sol Verde in late April 2009. The lodge and campground is located in Curubande, a sleepy village around halfway between Liberia and Rincon de la Vieja national park. Our room was comfortable and spotless. Ingrid and Gerard were fantastic hosts, letting us know about the best sodas in the village, a relaxing swimming area some 10 min walk from the campground and routes to take when exploring Rincon de la Vieja national park. If you don’t have a car, Gerard can give you a lift up to the park for $10, but it’s just as easy (and safe) to hitchhike from Curubande up to the park – everyone stops whether they’re tourists or the friendly locals working at the geothermal plant near the park entrance. We’d definitely go back to Rincon de la Vieja again, and wouldn’t think about staying anywhere else than El Sol Verde.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canuckcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

A big thumbs up!!!
As others have said, Curubande is the real Costa Rica and El Sol Verde is a gem nestled in this humble village. Ingrid and Gerard are fabulous hosts, the place is immaculate, comfortable and well appointed. Do not go here if you are looking for a Marriot, but if you care about different cultures, animals, birds and immersing yourself in a whole new experience, visit this place. We saw loads of animals here including howler monkeys, capuchins, screech owls and a wide variety of gorgeous birds. (Ingrid and Gerard own chickens which provide eggs and are tame due to daily cuddling from Gerard.
Rincon is thermally active and boasts fumaroles, mud pots and bubbling, steaming pools. The savannah is incredibly tranquil and about as far from the hustle and bustle as you can get. A nearby adventure company provides horseback riding, tubing down the river rapids, canopy adventures and so on. Way too much fun! The rivers close by are also fantastic to swim in; refreshing and beautiful. Hiking the volcano is delightful.
Be warned, Curubande is tiny and does not boast large stores etc. If you want your favorite potato chips or snack, buy them in Liberia.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetPeeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

We arrived at the El Sol Verde during an unusually bad windstorm that not only knocked out the power to the town of Curubande, but to Liberia as well. El Sol Verde is located on the outskirts of Curubande in a very pleasant, natural, rural setting. There are two rivers within walking distance. The owners are extremely nice, gracious, and informative.

There are three rooms and a camping area. The rooms are located in one building (with the owners house separate). The is a common patio area. The rooms are nice and clean, but somewhat small. Breakfast is very good, and is an additional $5 per person. Lots of places in Costa Rica offer free breakfast, but at a nightly rate of $40, this is not a big deal. As the power was out, the owners offered us dinner and beers with them (and their mother). This was an excellent meal, and a steal at $7 per person.

We had reservations for two nights, but given the terrible weather, Rincon de la Vieja was basically closed. The owners were very understanding, and actually suggested that it was okay to leave one night early to hopefully find a calmer place (which we did). I would go back to El Sol Verde in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liberia
3 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,416 reviews
5.4 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
519 reviews
4.2 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Rinconcito Lodge
Rinconcito Lodge
#2 of 5 in Rincon de La Vieja
232 reviews
13.7 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,019 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Rural Aroma de Campo
Casa Rural Aroma de Campo
#1 of 1 in Curubande
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground

Address: Curubande, Liberia, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Liberia
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'El Sol Verde' (the Green Sun) is a combination of a lodge and a campground, located at the boundary of Curubande,15 km. northeast of Liberia. It has a small-scale setting with a pleasant atmosphere and is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the sounds of nature. It is only 8km to the entrance of National Park Rincon de la Vieja. 'EL Sol Verde' therefore is a good starting point to make excursions to this magnificent piece of nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground Costa Rica/Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing