We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Infrastructure with Poor Service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Infrastructure with Poor Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Reserva Conchal is a large resort with a beautiful infrastructure. We stayed in a condominium in the Bougainvillea section. It was approximately a 10 minute shuttle ride to the Beach Club. Instead of maintaining a schedule, guests must call the main office to request shuttle service. Shuttle service waiting time was 10-15 minutes during daylight hours. In the evening, wait times were often 20 minutes. It seemed like we spent an inordinate amount of time working with transportation services.

Guests staying in the condiminiums have use of the Beach Club facilities and complimentary breakfast buffet. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The Beach Club facilities are very nice. The beach is beautiful. The Beach Club is managed by the Westin. Unfortunately, this is probably the most poorly managed resort I have ever experienced. The poolside service is poor and often non-existent. There is no beachfront service available. Restaurant and bar service is incredibly slow. The restaurant and bar areas are understaffed. We found many of the waiters to be unfriendly and disinterested in the customers.

I would not recommend Reserva Conchal Resort at this time. If management and service improves, then it would be an enjoyable destination. Needless to say, we will not be returning.

Room Tip: The condominiums are spacious and comfortable. They are all approximately a 10 minute shuttle ride...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David64742014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservaconchal, Sales Manager at Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

Our property is considerably large, and specially on the Holiday Season shuttle gets a lot of transportation requests; we do encourage our guests to call 10 to 15 minutes prior the time you would like to be picked up in order for the shuttle to be on time right outside of your Private Residence.

In regards to food & beverages service on the beach area, unfortunately we cannot extend this service to our guests due to municipal directions. As far as the other areas of service, we are working to improve by the reinforcement of standards in all of our outlets.

Your opinion is very valuable for us, based on this we can work harder everyday to indulge our guests and make our resort the best place for your vacation.

We hope you do reconsider to visit us again!

Warm regards,

Marcela Villalobos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    63
    24
    17
    9
See reviews for
121
47
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We rented a great 4 bedroom with loft in Bouganvillea for two weeks over Christmas and New Years. The unit it's self was great for 4 families and was equipped nicely you could tell it was a rental unit so alittle rough around the edges. Bouganvillea has beautiful views from upper units the down side of upper units is a LOT of stairs. down and up to get into the place. We rented from VRBO and dealt with the owner directly and his own contact made all of our transporation arrangements.

The property is huge! It is quite a trip to the beach club, we rented a car for the week of Christmas. The shuttles are great but during that week they were maxed out with guests.

The grocery is right outside the gates and has anything you will need. Our first night we had a cook come in and prepare our evening meal. Juan brought all the food and cleaned up. Eating at the beach club is very easy, but eating at the hotel is a bit of a challenge. (the hotel is all inclusive for their guests) I made reservations thru the rental office and only had an issue one night. The big problem is paying, we would be told credit card machine not working. Now I had a bit of a problem thinking a Westin hotel didn't have a working credit card machine. The Italian restaurant is Fabulous!!!

Our contact thru our owner set up our tours thru Three Monkies. Great personlized service their tour guide Juan was so knowledgeable. Would for sure recommend them.

Transporation to the property from Liberia (BTW the Liberia airport is a piece of cake compared to San Jose) Was on time and very efficient, but only took cash.

Played golf 5 times during stay. Louis is golf shop was great. Course is outstanding but don't expect pristine conditions.

Beach is great, bad rip tide. The ladies on beach giving massage for $20.00 is a real bargin and excellent. They are licensed.

We traveled to surrounding towns but did not eat.

Overall fabulous and look forward to going back. Be sure to take alot of cash. Not sure you need to tip like at other resorts, staff seemed very surprised when given $$$.

Room Tip: Christmas and New Years is a Zoo! Best weather of anywhere I have been everyday. Fly into Liberia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GolfRocks1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservaconchal, Sales Manager at Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

We do apologize for the inconvenience at the time of paying your restaurant bill at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa.

Nevertheless, we are very happy to read you had a great time. We look forward to your next visit!

Kindest regards,

Marcela Villalobos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is the 3rd time in about 5 years that I visited the beautiful Reserva Conchal location. First 2 times we stayed in Bouganvillea aparatments, this time we stayed in the Carao apartments (# T16) ...outstanding 3 bedroom, fully equiped, modern apartment with an outstanding view of the golf court and ocean from a large terrace,

Rental of the apartment (1 week) includes buffet breakfast ( very good!) to be enjoyed besides the long / modern swimming pool of the Beach Club facilities ...from where you can appreciate at a close distance beach tress and even some animals such as iguanas, urracas and howling monkeys

The use of spa is also included (fully equiped gym,sauna, steam bath & both inside and outside jacuzzi. Variety of massage services can be obtained in the Spa, which has a quiet - cool and relaxed for atmosphere for reasonable fees.

Unfortunatelly some of services and spa facilities maintenance have deteriorated as compared to my previous stays ( I understand that Beach Club & Spa facilities have changed management from 1st trip (Paradisus?) to 2nd trip (Reserva Conchal) to 3rd trip (Westin) ... service has deteriorated sadly in the restaurant, pool service, spa maintenance ( outside spa without heated water in Dec., faulty steam/sauna units, lack of towels in peak season, apartment food delivery (eliminated). Possibly a queen ... detailed oriented location management + proper staffing would be good.

Nevertheless, all in all ... a good, relaxing vacation place in beautiful Costa Rica !

Room Tip: 2nd or third floor apartments usually have a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank viajero961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservaconchal, Sales Manager at Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time of writing this review.

We are very glad to read that you where happy with your Private Residence and enjoyed your daily breakfast at our private Beach Club!

Regarding The Spa, unfortunately we had a one day trouble with temperatures in our outside Jacuzzis, luckily it was fixed very quickly. I would like to take the opportunity to let you know that we also have an indoor heated water Jacuzzi at your disposal.

As far as your other concerns, your opinion is very valuable for us, based on this we can work harder everyday to extend high standard services in all of our outlets.

We look forward to welcome you once again!

Kind regards,

Marcela Villalobos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Don't expect to get ocean views or hear waves crashing while in your villa. Shuttle service was good but going to the pool, restaurants, spa or beach is about a 10 minute shuttle ride- longer with more stops. Understaffed, but the staff is polite. We stayed in the Bougainvillea section and I wouldn't recommend it. A little outdated, poor water pressure in the shower and a very noisy air conditioning unit. Do your research on the exact villa. Better yet, stay at the Westin next door where the bungalows look quaint and are all walking distance to the pools and beach. The Beach Club is very nice and it's easy to get chairs even during busy season.

Room Tip: Avoid the Bougainvillas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAB304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservaconchal, Sales Manager at Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

Our Private Residences & Villas are all spread out around our Robert Trent Jones II golf course which give amazing views of nature and ocean views depending on the residence you are staying at. Bougainvillea was the first complex built in Reserva Conchal and finishes are a little bit more rustic than other complexes, we differentiate them as our Deluxe category, although they do receive proper and constant maintenance for the enjoyment of our guests. We are very sorry that you did not had the best experience, we are working everyday to raise standards in all of our units and extended services of all our guests.

We hope that you give us another opportunity to show you the real Reserva Conchal experience.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Reserva Conchal is located about 4 hours from San Jose. They have many condos for 7+ nights. In our room we had 4 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, a spacious kitchen. There was just a pool for the people staying in the condos. Then they have a beach club. The beach club has a pool, a restaurant, a fitness center, and a gift shop. There a supermarkets 5+ kilometers away. They have hiking trails that you can go as far as you want and turn around to come back to where you started on that trail. If you are in Guanecaste you should stay in Reserva Conchal.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NWS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed in Malinche condos on the Westin property. They are very nice, at the top of the hill overlooking the entire bay. It also has a private pool for this building only.
We did not get the all - inclusive meals, as eating in town was much more enjoyable. The hours for restaurants are very odd, so call ahead and get resevations. But if you are looking for lunch and drinks, look no further than Club de Playa. The staff, at the bar is fantastic.
I cannot say enough good things about Brahim, he made our trip very special, and was very easy to deal with, even with my poor Spanish. Ask him for drink recommendations and you won't be disappointed. We stayed the week before Christmas, and the place was pretty empty, bit picked up closer to the holiday.
The pool is nice, the westin pool seemed crowded all the time.
The beach is public with vendors being ever - present, but most are very friendly. Massages on the beach are about $20, whereas at the resort spa they are $100.
In Brasilito, there is a very good open air restaurant called Papaya. It's run by 3 local women, the food is great. In Huacas is Soda de Guanacaste, Burritos de Pollo are a must have!!!

Things are very spread out here, so having a car is a good idea.

If you are looking for waves, Playa Grande is your best bet, usually pretty empty, but at high tide the surfers take over the big spots. There are 2 surf shops near Playa Grande, I really liked the people at Frijoles Loco, they are great, have surf lessons and rentals. Parking is safe with the attendant. Costs 1000 colones, $2.
Tamarindo has good restaurants, but EVERYONE is trying to sell you something. Parking at the beach is 3000 colones. But there is ample street parking. Beach is usually crowded, and windy. I recommend getting a chair. Rent for 6000 for 2 and an umbrella. Patagonia is great for dinner.

If you are looking for a grocery, Auto Mercado is your best bet for North American type food.

Overall, I will come back. It was a great time. Very laid back. Just look out for the Tico drivers!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank haole-boy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Statesville, NC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I've had the chance to play here twice and what an experience! While I did not stay at the hotel, we did have breakfast there and the lobby and restaurant were very nice. The golf however, was outstanding (I wish we'd have stayed for that alone!). For one outing, I played as a single and they managed to get me a 6:30am tee time (depending on the time of year, heat is a factor!) and what fun to hear the monkey's in the trees around the fairways. Beautifully manicured course and some very challenging greens (including one split by water!). Service was remarkable with the course attendants stopping by regularly to offer towels and bottles of cold water. That said, be sure to be aware of your surroundings! If your ball goes into the woods, I'd highly suggest you not go after it! Also, don't be surprised that there is a lack of signs and boundaries - so be careful where you step! As my ball ran off the back of one of the greens, to my surprise it was a 100ft drop - no gates or markers (needless to say, I didn't try to retrieve it).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Conchal
3.9 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
19.3 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Conchal Hotel
Conchal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Brasilito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
11.0 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
16.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica a...
#2 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa

Property: Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
Address: Cabo Velas, Playa Conchal 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reserva Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing