We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shuttles!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shuttles!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Everything would be perfect here if the shuttle service wasn't so needlessly horrible!!
You have to wait half an hour for them to arrive, instead of a regular routine whereby you could predict (such as "pick up at X location every half hour) it's just rediculous and every reviewer says the same thing so you think they would figure it out

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGroce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    63
    24
    17
    9
See reviews for
121
47
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We booked 10 days thinking I would be ready to come home after 7 like most vacations. We were in a 3 bedroom, 3 1/2 bath 2nd floor unit in Carao and we all could have stayed another 7 days without a problem. We rented a 4x4 and a GPS and drove to Rincon de La Vieja, Monteverde, Palo Verde, Tamarindo, and lots of the other local beaches. Our favorite by far was Playa Conchal. We met a tour operator on the beach named Didier who gave us some inside tips and arranged horseback riding on the beach, fishing, and some other excursions. Totally solid guy, I recommend him. Since we booked through Pacific Views of Costa Rica, we didn't have breakfast included or daily maid service, but Sharon and Randy arranged everything we needed for the house and pointed us to the best local grocery stores. We love to cook so it was a great experience shopping for local stuff. I caught a 40 lb Wahoo the second day we were there on a boat named La Pola. Great captain and mate from Papagayo Sport Fishing. It rained some while we were out exploring but it never affected our plans. We loved the beach club at Reserva Conchal and our favorite waiter, Daniel never let us get thirsty. Great trip, A++!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
125 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my family in early June 2014 at the beginning of our vacation and we liked it here so much we came back again at the end of our vacation. We absolutely loved it. The service was superb! Probably some of the best service we've ever had. The rooms were well laid out. I must say the bed in our first room in the Bougainvillea condo was super hard, and we prefer more of a pillow top, but otherwise no complaints. You do need a car to get back and forth within the complex, but we'd rented one anyway so it wasn't a problem. Also, they offer 24 hour shuttle service so you can get a shuttle any time you need one. The beach was gorgeous. We met a tour guide on the beach, Didi, and made him our personal guide, saving us a bunch of money and giving us the convenience of someone local who could give us insights into local places to eat and the best attractions to see. The Beach Club restaurant was outstanding. We had breakfast there every day, lunch most days and also dinner. Delicious. Again, superb service. The wait staff remembered our names, our drink preferences and our meal preferences after the first day. My husband of 21 years still doesn't do that! LOL. The entire resort was exceptionally clean and well kept. Pools are beautiful (each set of condos has their own pool and there is also a pool at the Beach Club.) Gym was great and had an excellent selection of equipment. We got our room through hotels.com and they promised us an ocean view room, which we didn't get the first time around and made the mistake of not asking about it, but we did get ocean view during the 2nd stay and it was gorgeous. Be sure to ask when checking in if you're room is ocean view because the ocean view rooms are phenomenal. It's not the least expensive place we've ever stayed but it was well worth the price. We will definitely be back and are considering purchasing a condo in this beautiful resort.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank DJB002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband and I were traveling to Playa Conchal for a wedding that was being held at the Westin. The Westin was out of our budget but I found the Reserva was on the same property. I was very nervous about how everything would work out but it couldn't have been more perfect. We traveled the week after Christmas so it was pretty quiet. We had a pool and hot tub right off our room and an absolutely amazing view because the condos are higher up than the resort. We had lots of space as it was a condo not just a small hotel room and the decor and finishes were very nice.

Included in our stay was breakfast at the beach club. Every morning they had an amazing spread and everything was delicious. We had access to pretty much everything guests of the Westin had access to we just had to pay. This wasn't a big deal though because most of our vacation was spent on excursions and all inclusive would have been a waste for us. Speaking of excursions you can easily book many trips through the Reserva. We booked several during our stay and felt they were definitely worth the money.

Additionally, the Reserva has a shuttle bus to get you from your room to the beach/beach club/Westin. We enjoy walking though so that's what we did most of the time. If you're an active person looking for a nice place to stay near the beach the Reserva is for you. If you are looking for more of a lounge around, eat drink and be merry type of stay you would be disappointed and would be better off at the Westin.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful complex. Loved it. Can't say enough good things. The room was nice, the setting beautiful, beach club and food was great. Only down side is the distance to the beach club. Must take a shuttle or have a car.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rcanfield7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservaconchal, Sales Manager at Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Rcanfield7,

Thank you very much for taking the time of writing a review.

Positive side of having to take a shuttle down to the beach, is that this means that you are able to enjoy breathtaking views of the ocean and sunsets from the hills in the comfort and privacy of your residence.

We are very happy that you had a great stay with us!! We look forward to another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roohski
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We were discouraged from renting a car and I had concerns about driving into the jungle. But after reading these reviews, decided I didn't want to be hampered by waiting for a shuttle.
I am so glad we got the car not only for here, but for driving to dinner. The dinner on site was fine, But I really like having other choices and the ability to explore other areas. We opted to pay extra for a GPS for the trip to Arenal, but frankly our maps were so good, I don't even think we needed it (even though we explored and did activities, off the beaten path)
I never felt the least bit unsafe, but didn't do obvious things like leaving stuff in the car, on the beach or even out in our room. Reserva Conchal staff was excellent, breakfast buffet was more like a brunch, and the views, grounds and location were fantastic. It really is the nicest of all the beaches that I saw!

Room Tip: Ask for a view! Even though we were on the first floor of Malinche, (not the building with the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roohski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservaconchal, Sales Manager at Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Roohski,

Thank you very much for taking the time of writing a review.

It is great that you had an amazing time not only in our property, but discovering our beautiful country as well!! We certainly encourage our guests to have car rentals to explore around places and culture.

We agree, Playa Conchal is a jewel in the northwestern Pacific coast!! Looking forward to welcome you in our property once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Lake
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I booked my family vacation to Costa Rica through Expedia. What a mistake, first we booked a room with ocean views which does not exist at this property. When I asked about this they said they cannot doing anything about until Monday but we arrived Saturday. . The Reserva Conchal is a nice place but it is a timeshare not a hotel. The staff is very nice and the grounds are well kept but that is it. In order to go swimming in a pool or at a beach you have to take a shuttle which you are constantly waiting for. In addition, you have to walk down many steep steps to get yo the room. Once you get to the pool and beach it is beautiful but very far(a good ten minute shuttle ride not including 15-20 minutes you waited for the shuttle). There is one place to eat and in order to get there you have to take a shuttle. It offers only breakfast and lunch. If you want to eat dinner you have to go to the neighboring resort the Westin. The rooms are massive and nicely decorated but a little old. The beds in the rooms are very uncomfortable(hard). Really think twice about this resort. If you want a large room but are willing to sacrifice location and convenience then you will enjoy it. I would not recommend to anyone with kids in strolls or if you have difficulty with steps. This resort cost us over a 300 a night. I would also recommend steering clear of expedia, they are famous for bait and switching.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Smaria70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Conchal
3.9 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
19.3 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
0.7 mi away
Conchal Hotel
Conchal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Brasilito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
11.0 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
16.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica a...
#2 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa

Property: Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
Address: Cabo Velas, Playa Conchal 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reserva Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing