We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth every penny and more!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth every penny and more!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Went on a girls trip with my best gal pal from Tennessee from March 7- 13th 2012. We had the best time of our life. The resort was fabulous. The service was fantastic and if you book the restaurants when you arrive you can take advantage of getting reservations. We were able to dine in every restaurant during our stay. We did a spa day and even did the golf cart tour which only cost $15 dollars. I highly recommend this. Any issues we had were corrected promptly. Everyone is so friendly and willing to help. You can do as much or as little as you want. The pool is beautiful and huge. The food is delicious and room service is included....what are you kidding me..........that was fantastic...we had breakfast in our sitting area overlooking the beach one morning.
If I would give one recommendation it is to do your side trips with Conchal Tours who are located just outside of the gated entrance of the beach. We got help from Erik Garcia, John Rodriguez and Ricardo Rodriguez. We ended booking the Buena Vista Package with their help. I could not recommend it more. It is a all day event that will take you horseback riding through the rain forest to a beautiful waterfall (see picture) and then hiking to a hot spring where you can relax before covering yourself in volcanic mud, which is a lot of fun. After that we took a tractor ride to a huge water slide, ate a catered lunch and went on a canopy tour through the rain forest.....it was fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! John's dad was even our tour guide! These guys SAVED us alot of money and were very attentive to our requests. Every day after our tour when they saw us they always greated us on the beach by name and gave us a flower. Just really nice people. They definately will give you a good deal. Just tell them Teresa and Angelia sent you. Have Fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Villa's 1-3 are closest to the beach and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,372
    974
    345
    91
    67
See reviews for
1,203
1,753
41
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed for a week in March. The property is very well maintained and beautifully landscaped and watered. Our room was centrally located to the restaurants and the pool/beach area - we were in building 39. The property is very large, but we enjoyed walking rather than taking the shuttles. The birds, monkeys, iguanas, and coatis were a welcome and frequent sight on the grounds and the sounds that the birds make are incredible. The Westin staff was excellent and most spoke English well. We booked three excursions with Central American Tours that has a rep in the lobby area. Erik on the beach was helpful, but we did not find that his prices competed with CAT tours. We took the trip to the Arenal Volcano and did the Sky Tram zipline (much higher, faster, and greener than the ones closer to the hotel) and also did the hot springs in this area. It is a long bus ride to Arenal, but we thought it was worth it. Another trip took us to the Rio Celeste River and waterfall in the rainforest - absolutely gorgeous and worth the muddy hike. Our last excurison took us to Palo Verde National Park for a boat ride and wildlife viewing. (lots of monkeys and birds)

The food was fabulous at all of the restaurants in the Westin complex. Our favorites were the Italian, French, and the pizza place for lunch. We did not have trouble making reservations as described in some of the reviews. We called most mornings between 8 and 9. The staff were very courteous and helpful. We especially enjoyed talking with Melvin who works with check-in and transportation around the resort.

The beach was beautiful. We enjoyed making some souvenir purchases on the beach from the local vendors We were not pleased with the Arenas employees who offer excursions and control the kayaks and the Hobie Cat - there were always excuses as to why we could not use these items that are supposed to be included with the hotel package. We were not allowed to use either all week.

Two other disappointments happened near the end of our trip. Our shoes were wet from hiking in the rainforest so we left them out in the breeze on our patio overnight to dry and in the morning my wifes shoes were missing. We alerted the hotel staff, but they said there was nothing they could do. We also collected some beautiful shells on the beach, but security at the airport took them all - we did not see any information that indicated they could not be collected - be aware.

Despite a couple of glitches, we had a wonderful time in a beautiful country, with friendly people and this fabulous resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is a lovely place. A little expensive...but maybe better deals could be found?

That said there is nothing I can say to fault this place. It is lovely. We stayed for a week from March 5 th to March 12. The weather was stunning. Hot, sunny and windy...which to me means no Mosquitos:)

We travelled with our six year old son and he had a blast. The resort has way more wildlife than I had thought would be there. First morning a large group of howler monkeys was hooting and hollering down at the beach. Priceless.

We did a half day riverboat tour...with monkeys and crocs...which was excellent. Although be warned the bus ride is bumpy so if you have a bad neck (like me) then skip it or take a pillow.

The resort was beautiful. The staff was amazing. Thank you Elial! We walked to Brassilito...and took a taxi into Tamarindo. Both worth it...if you want to see some nonresort Costa Rica.

The pool is gorgeous. Our room was on second floor and sitting on our patio was like being in a tree house. Lots of birds and butterflies.

I would go back in heartbeat. Pura Vida.

Room Tip: We were in 4397. Perfect. Near to beach, restaurants, and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maxsmum2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ridge, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We had a great trip to the Westin. Everyone was extremely nice. The only problem was the guys that work for the hotel that handle the Hobie Cat and beach equipment. We were there for 5 days and every day there was some problem that we couldn't use the Hobie Cat. Usually they said it was too rough but it didn't look rough at all. On the other hand, there is a guy just outside the beach entrance to the hotel who is extremely helpful. His name is Eric. He does bookings for a lot of tours in the area. We took a sailboat cruise that he booked and everything was great. He is cheaper than the hotel bookings and is way more concerned with the service that his clientele gets. His wife also does massage on the beach for $30. an hour that was delightful. Right on the beach in the shade. I used Eric as a concierge the whole time and he never steered me wrong.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We visited the Westin from March 12 - March 18 on our honeymoon. The resort is beautiful and the staff tries hard to meet every need. The golf course is well maintained and has gorgeous views. The food was all very good we ate breakfast at Mitra each morning, ordered a few pizzas by the pool, and had dinner at Cauri, Faisonella, Bamboo and Las Candelas. You must have a reservation for dinner. I would recommend calling for reservations as close to 8:00 a.m. as possible because the reservation slots fill up fast. Also, I found that the reservation desk is difficult to reach in the afternoon. The pool has plenty of chairs and shady spots - essential in the strong sun. The beach is very scenic and you can walk quite far each way which was great for morning and evening walks. Overall a great trip.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

The hotel is about an hour from the Liberia airport, not 45 minutes like they try to tell you.The resort is very pretty and they are currently changing most of the furniture in the rooms. The main lobby is pretty far from the rooms, so you must take a ride in a truck with an attached covered cart with seats for about 9. These carts drive around all day and will you give you rides anywhere on the resort. Our room was pretty far from the pool, beach, shopping, and dining areas which was sort of a pain but was good for exercise. There are only a few shops, and everything is very expensive. Try buying from the artisans and vendors on the beach or those that sell near the pool, but make sure to negotiate. Nothing is cheap except for the abalone earrings. Food was pretty good. The buffett had a pretty wide array each day. Our only complaint is that by the pool, there were no snack areas, and you could only order pizza to eat by the pool. All other food had to be eatten in a restaurant where you needed to have clothes on. Also, the pool area had one bar which was swim up on one side, and depending on where you sat, it could be far to get too. You must get a chair by the pool early or you won't have one! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were nice. Thought the resort overall was fun, with lots of activities, but could have been a little better for a 5 star resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool, shopping area, and food area or you will be walking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcyLevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, AL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

My husband and I went at the very beginning of the rainy season, which wasn't too rainy. The resort was very quiet - it'shuge, but it definitely wasn't crowded. Amazing beach where you could snorkel near the rocks & see all sorts of sealife! We surfed through point break surfing, which was also fantastic. Great food at the resort, a very friendly staff. Our only complaint - a very unhelpful front desk.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LBC_10Mobile_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Conchal
19.4 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
10.9 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
9.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,946 reviews
2.9 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Property: The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Address: Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Playa Conchal is an All Inclusive eco-friendly retreat, located between the exotic forests and unspoiled beaches of the North Pacific Riviera of Costa Rica. Our secluded vacation spot is a perfect balance between unrivaled luxury and local culture, giving our guests an unforgettable vacation experience. Our All Inclusive experience includes all meals, drinks, use of our fitness center and kids club as well as entertainment options including non motorized water sports, daily activities and nightly events. The resort also offers an adult only all exclusive experience at the Royal Beach Club where guests have access to a private pool with concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal
The Westin Resort And Spa, Playa Conchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing