We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best all inclusive in the North Pacific of Costa Rica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best all inclusive in the North Pacific of Costa Rica”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I have stayed at other all-included in Costa Rica and they are either

1) Dirty, poorly maintained with smells (black waters).
2) Terrible rooms, with beds where you'd rather sleep on the floor.
3) Food that is so bad, you are better off eating grass.
4) Terrible staff.

The Westin has none of this. It is truly hands-down the best all-included hotel in Costa Rica (and the only 5 star all inclusive in Costa Rica). Some might argue that Riu is a better all included in Guanacaste. Not so. Westin outclasses it on every possible department.

The complex is huge, it has the biggest pool I have seen out of any hotel (even bigger than the JW Marriott) and what I prefer over the JW is that this one has no shadows (trees) by the pool so those who prefer their shade are out of luck.

I do have to say that Marriotts buffet breakfast is better than the Westin's, but still, the Westin is fantastic.

The rooms are utter greatness that are spacious, and well designed. Beds are great, no weird sounds and the AC although a bit noisy, it's nothing to feel distracted.

Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OniLink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear OniLink,
Thanks for sharing your outstanding stay with us at The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal! I’m thrilled to hear that you had such a fantastic experience. Your feedback gives us a wonderful chance to celebrate with our team members! When your travels bring you back to our beautiful province, we look forward to welcoming you back our resort.
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,513
    1,019
    363
    96
    74
See reviews for
1,298
1,834
42
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,443)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larchmont, New York
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had a lovely vacation after a few issues with service. We understood the unavailability of restaurants on the night we arrived, but we called at 8AM the next morning to reserve for the rest of our stay and were informed that everything was booked for the next 2 nights! A visit to the concierge seemed to resolve this (and he sent a bottle of wine to the table that evening), but it was an unnecessary frustration. Then, when we did go to the restaurants, they were all half empty, so it was quite confusing that we were unable to reserve on our own. Housekeeping did a very poor job one day, not even emptying the trash or removing a dirty room service tray (which we purposely and considerately brought in from the terrace so that animals would not be attracted to the leftovers). Having to visit the lobby, which requires a tram ride, in order to obtain free wifi is a nuisance. There has to be a less offensive way to bury this cost in the room rate. Also, the smoke free policy was not observed by many guests and the staff did nothing to disuade the smokers. The spa was great, food generally good (although Bamboo really needs to figure out how to coordinate its service) and drinks of all kinds were plentiful and cheerfully served. I fell at the pool and though initially just shaken up, I developed a nasty bruise and requested a pillow from the concierge to take with me on the plane home. She gave a blank stare and said she would see what she could do, which apparently was nothing. She did not even say she was sorry I had fallen or that they were concerned about the slippery conditions around the pool.

Room Tip: We had a good location - right near the souvenir tent outside the entrance to the pool. We were abl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanG9141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear susang9141,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. Thank you for all your constructive comments and suggestions, we're always looking to improve our offer and product to give our guests a beautiful vacation.
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We have just returned from a one week stay at the westin . The resort grounds are gorgeous with lots of opportunities to view the wildlife of Costa Rica. The rooms were clean and spacious. Overall we found the food to be excellent and the service to be very good. The westin quality did not disappoint! We also found Eric on the beach and he was able to arrange excellent excursions for us. We would highly recommend this resort especially if you love nature!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djillianl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear djillianl,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We're glad to know that you had a beautiful time in our resort and enjoyed the services and facilities that we offer, as well the amazing wildlife of our natural reserve.
We will be waiting for your next visit.
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

This is the only all inclusive property in the Starwood hotel system and its a welcome addition. Everything about this hotel is easy including our direct flight from JFK to the one year old airport in Liberia. We had our luggage and were through customs and immigration within 10 minutes and then at the hotel within an hour. We had a room overlooking the Robert Trent Jones golf course and no matter where your room is on the property you aren't far from the pool and beach. The food was very good for an all inclusive and there are several restaurants to choose from. We ate at the Italian, Asian fusion, and Latin restaurants and even my kids found things they liked. Then again they didn't need much after the 6k calories they would take down every morning at the breakfast buffet and from all the smoothies they got at the swim-up bar. The only complaint I heard was from my 10 yr old who said the kids club was for smaller kids instead of her age group. I stay at Westins almost exclusively as I own a Westin timeshare and I will add this location to the rotation since the whole family really liked it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sj1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear sj1234567,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We're happy to know that you and your family had a wonderful time in our resort, we appreciate all your kind comments about our facilities and services, also so good to know that you enjoyed the beautiful golf course. Also, we appreciate the suggestion about the Westin Kids Club, as well.
We would love to have you back!
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Westin Playa Conchal for our honeymoon between September 30 - October 6, 2013. We had an amazing time! The service, rooms and food were all incredible. The beach was public but was still nice. We did a few excursions through Eric Garcia and they were wonderful, great value for the money we spent. It was rainy season, but only rained in short bursts and did not get in the way of our relaxing vacation! We would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the royal beach club as it was our honeymoon. The benefits were nice such as fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyarmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear emilyarmstrong,
Thank you very much for choosing us for your honeymoon.
We really appreciate your kind comments about our facilities and services.
We would love to have you back!
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Westin. We loved the resort and the beach. The staff were friendly and the quality of the spa was excellent. We were surprised by the number of children at the resort in mid February - and only remark about it because it did influence the ambiance of the restaurants in the evening when they were present. The buffet dining (for dinner) was very marginal - we only ate there on our first night when our late arrival made reservations at one of the five restaurants impossible. All other nights we dined at one of the restaurants - our favorite was the Mediterranean one although we did enjoy them all. As vegetarians we found the selection modest but the food was very good and was nicely presented. We would make a return visit to this property.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Janice D,
Thank you very much for your kind comments about the resort.
It's very nice to know that you had a renewal time with us.
We sorry to hear about the issues to get your dinner reservations, this is one of our opportunity areas to improve, hope the next time you come you can enjoy all the restaurants without any inconvenience.
We will be waiting for your next visit.
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

i'm a little surprised at the raving reviews of this place. we do a fair amount of traveling, mainly to the carribean, but also mexico and central america. we just came back from a one week stay at the westin.

this place do have a lot of things going for it: *all* the staff is super friendly, foods and drinks taste pretty good - better than the average all inclusive for sure. the grounds are very well kept, the rooms spacious and the cleaners do a super job.

with that said, it has some bad's too:

- the pools, while large and neatly architected, are outright filthy and you are covered with a film of god-knows-what after a swim. the large in-pool bars dont help as the crowd of 'boomers gets drunk and obnoxious and drops drinks, throws up, pees (or worse!) themselves in the pool EVERY day.

- the beach is public. from a democracy POV that is good but from a visitor POV its not so fun when locals turns parts of it into a semi-permanent shantytown.

- the beds are smallish, worn down and, as it seems, covered with some sort of moisture barrier as you get crazy sweaty, despite the excellent air conditioning.

- there is a charge for internet. in all fairness, once you pony up the ISP quality is above central american average.

- my biggest grief is that while the food tastes good for an all inclusive, the resort clearly has some food safety issues as just about everyone we spoke to had someone go sick - some quite seriously. on the flip side we found the on-site medical facilities to be good, but it'd rather not be food poisoned in the first place.

all in all this is an ok place. i wouldnt advice against going here but OTOH would not go back as there are others that are better at this price point, or sometimes even less.

one last thing: be aware that pacific costa rica gets very hot and dry in the spring. temperatures during our trip were 100+ some days and the landscape looked more like a friendly version of afghanistan than the green lush panoramas commonly associated with the country - all taken during the rainy season.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d94jonca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear d94jonca,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future.
It's important to inform you that all our Food and Beverage department works under the strict sanity standards of Starwood Hotels & Resort, all our staff is well trained in food handling.
We appreciate the comments that you have shared and we certainly look forward to your return.
Best regards,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Conchal
19.4 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,548 reviews
11.0 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
17.7 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
9.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,253 reviews
2.9 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Property: The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Address: Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Playa Conchal is an All Inclusive eco-friendly retreat, located between the exotic forests and unspoiled beaches of the North Pacific Riviera of Costa Rica. Our secluded vacation spot is a perfect balance between unrivaled luxury and local culture, giving our guests an unforgettable vacation experience. Our All Inclusive experience includes all meals, drinks, use of our fitness center and kids club as well as entertainment options including non motorized water sports, daily activities and nightly events. The resort also offers an adult only all exclusive experience at the Royal Beach Club where guests have access to a private pool with concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort And Spa, Playa Conchal
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing