We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort - Great Food and drinks :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We had a wonderful time at the westin in the royal beach club. A great upgrade that was well worth the price. Food options were excellent and plentiful. The pools were well staffed and the service throughout the resort was top notch. I thought the resort was going to be too big to walk around and was pleasantly surprised that it wasn't as big as it appeared online.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktwood11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear ktwood11,
Thanks for sharing your outstanding stay with us at The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the upgrade to Royal Beach Club and had such a fantastic experience. Thanks for all your kind comments about the food, beverages and our staff.
We can't wait to have you back.
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,329 - 2,335 of 4,430 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

My wife and I have stayed here twice, both times around the Christmas holidays. The resort is beautiful with lots of plants and wild animals running around. The food is good at all of the restaurants, including the buffet.

We participated in a couple of classes, cooking and coffee tasting. Both were fun and informative. There are also free bikes to use, which we used to tour around the property.

The beach feels endless and is great for long walks. The water is warm but the current can be strong so be careful. There are a number of vendors near the beach and you can get a great massage for $30 while listening to waves, birds and monkeys.

The pool is huge, with warm soft water. We would spend our evenings here.

We will definitely return to this resort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DAGR98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear DAGR98,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We're happy to know that you and your wife had a beautiful and renewal time in our resort, and enjoyed all the facilities and the wildlife around the grounds, and the amazing beach Conchal, as well.
We will be waiting for your next visit!
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This review is for a late November 2013 stay. My wife and three teenage sons went to the Westin Playa Conchal to celebrate my son's 15th birthday. The resort is beautiful, well maintained and on a nice beach. The kids loved the all-inclusive aspect and were ordering food pretty much throughout the day...they even ordered a steak via room service at 1AM! We ate at the Italian, Asian, Latin and buffet restaurants for dinner. The Italian and Asian were our favorites and found the Latin and buffet to be just OK. As others have stated it is key to reserve your restaurants as soon as you get there because they get filled up quick. Actually the resort staff was kind enough to allow us to reserve the Italian restaurant for the first night of our stay, a week prior to our arrival.

The staff was excellent and there are two main living areas at the resort. If you are going as a couples only, I definitely recommend staying in that part of the resort. Great service and access to the Italian restaurant for breakfast. Also, you have an adults only pool. In my opinion, the entertainment aspect lacks a little as far as active nightlife is concerned, but they do have a small bar/lounge that has a DJ everynight and we met some cool couples at the venue. Not a lot for teens to do in my opinion (especially at night)...but we are from Miami, so probably a lot of kids/teens that live in cold weather climates are more than content to be by the beach/pools.

For a family or as a couple excursions are a must. We used Memo Adventures and I can tell you that Memo the owner is 100% committed to customer service. He was extremely responsive to all of my e-mails leading up to our trip and answered all of my questions. We booked a deep sea fishing tour and all day zip line, horseback riding, mud baths, etc. tour. First the good: The zip line adventure day was amazing and the whole family had a great time. Additionally, Memo was our guide and he did a fabulous job and had everything perfectly arranged. Now the Bad: The fishing trip was a disaster (no fault of Memo...he basically finds a boat that is available and you go at it), and not even close to what we expected. First it was pretty expensive. Second it was ridiculously windy that day and in my opinion the trip should have been cancelled due to the wind alone. Lastly: me and the kids were actually expecting to do some active fishing but since it was deep sea fishing their technique is to mount 4 fishing rods in the boat, and keep the lines in the water till something bites (only one did and the mate grabs the rod, hooks the fish and then hands the rod to one of the kids to reel it in.) The rest of the trip we were tossed about on the boat and didn't catch a thing. Mid way through, my wife and kids were sleeping.

In general the biggest tip I can give is to fly into Liberia. We flew into San Jose and it is a 4 hour trip one way. What a mission!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miamitravels42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Miamitravels42,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We're glad to know that you and your family had a beautiful time in our resort, and enjoyed fully our culinary offer and other services, as well, so good to know that you took some time to explore the amazing nature of our country.
We are looking forward to have you back.
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I have stayed at other all-included in Costa Rica and they are either

1) Dirty, poorly maintained with smells (black waters).
2) Terrible rooms, with beds where you'd rather sleep on the floor.
3) Food that is so bad, you are better off eating grass.
4) Terrible staff.

The Westin has none of this. It is truly hands-down the best all-included hotel in Costa Rica (and the only 5 star all inclusive in Costa Rica). Some might argue that Riu is a better all included in Guanacaste. Not so. Westin outclasses it on every possible department.

The complex is huge, it has the biggest pool I have seen out of any hotel (even bigger than the JW Marriott) and what I prefer over the JW is that this one has no shadows (trees) by the pool so those who prefer their shade are out of luck.

I do have to say that Marriotts buffet breakfast is better than the Westin's, but still, the Westin is fantastic.

The rooms are utter greatness that are spacious, and well designed. Beds are great, no weird sounds and the AC although a bit noisy, it's nothing to feel distracted.

Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OniLink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear OniLink,
Thanks for sharing your outstanding stay with us at The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal! I’m thrilled to hear that you had such a fantastic experience. Your feedback gives us a wonderful chance to celebrate with our team members! When your travels bring you back to our beautiful province, we look forward to welcoming you back our resort.
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had a lovely vacation after a few issues with service. We understood the unavailability of restaurants on the night we arrived, but we called at 8AM the next morning to reserve for the rest of our stay and were informed that everything was booked for the next 2 nights! A visit to the concierge seemed to resolve this (and he sent a bottle of wine to the table that evening), but it was an unnecessary frustration. Then, when we did go to the restaurants, they were all half empty, so it was quite confusing that we were unable to reserve on our own. Housekeeping did a very poor job one day, not even emptying the trash or removing a dirty room service tray (which we purposely and considerately brought in from the terrace so that animals would not be attracted to the leftovers). Having to visit the lobby, which requires a tram ride, in order to obtain free wifi is a nuisance. There has to be a less offensive way to bury this cost in the room rate. Also, the smoke free policy was not observed by many guests and the staff did nothing to disuade the smokers. The spa was great, food generally good (although Bamboo really needs to figure out how to coordinate its service) and drinks of all kinds were plentiful and cheerfully served. I fell at the pool and though initially just shaken up, I developed a nasty bruise and requested a pillow from the concierge to take with me on the plane home. She gave a blank stare and said she would see what she could do, which apparently was nothing. She did not even say she was sorry I had fallen or that they were concerned about the slippery conditions around the pool.

Room Tip: We had a good location - right near the souvenir tent outside the entrance to the pool. We were abl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanG9141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear susang9141,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. Thank you for all your constructive comments and suggestions, we're always looking to improve our offer and product to give our guests a beautiful vacation.
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We have just returned from a one week stay at the westin . The resort grounds are gorgeous with lots of opportunities to view the wildlife of Costa Rica. The rooms were clean and spacious. Overall we found the food to be excellent and the service to be very good. The westin quality did not disappoint! We also found Eric on the beach and he was able to arrange excellent excursions for us. We would highly recommend this resort especially if you love nature!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djillianl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear djillianl,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We're glad to know that you had a beautiful time in our resort and enjoyed the services and facilities that we offer, as well the amazing wildlife of our natural reserve.
We will be waiting for your next visit.
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is the only all inclusive property in the Starwood hotel system and its a welcome addition. Everything about this hotel is easy including our direct flight from JFK to the one year old airport in Liberia. We had our luggage and were through customs and immigration within 10 minutes and then at the hotel within an hour. We had a room overlooking the Robert Trent Jones golf course and no matter where your room is on the property you aren't far from the pool and beach. The food was very good for an all inclusive and there are several restaurants to choose from. We ate at the Italian, Asian fusion, and Latin restaurants and even my kids found things they liked. Then again they didn't need much after the 6k calories they would take down every morning at the breakfast buffet and from all the smoothies they got at the swim-up bar. The only complaint I heard was from my 10 yr old who said the kids club was for smaller kids instead of her age group. I stay at Westins almost exclusively as I own a Westin timeshare and I will add this location to the rotation since the whole family really liked it.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank sj1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear sj1234567,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We're happy to know that you and your family had a wonderful time in our resort, we appreciate all your kind comments about our facilities and services, also so good to know that you enjoyed the beautiful golf course. Also, we appreciate the suggestion about the Westin Kids Club, as well.
We would love to have you back!
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Conchal
0.4 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
19.4 mi away
Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Peninsula Papagayo
Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Penin...
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,762 reviews
4 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
17.7 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
2,268 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort

Address: | Cabo Velas, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range: £277 - £586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort is an eco-friendly resort in Playa Conchal, Cabo Velas, Costa Rica located between the exotic forests and unspoiled beaches of the North Pacific Riviera. Our secluded vacation spot is a perfect balance between unrivaled luxury and local culture, giving our guests an unforgettable vacation experience. An All Inclusive experience includes all meals, drinks, use of our fitness center and kids club as well as entertainment options including non motorized water sports, daily activities and nightly events. Our retreat also offers an adult only all exclusive experience at the Royal Beach Club where guests have access to a private pool with concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, West Indies, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal
The Westin Resort And Spa, Playa Conchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing