We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I was part of a tour which stayed at the Westin for four nights. I was immediately impressed by the size and beauty of the resort grounds and the architecture, comfort and cleanliness of my suite. However, my favorite aspects of the resort were the proximity of the beach (a public beach), the lagoon-style pool, and the wildlife.

Yes, wildlife: birds, butterflies, iguanas, howler monkeys (quite a few), and troops of white-nosed coatis (raccoon relatives with long tails like lemur tails). On the first morning, I was leaving for breakfast when a troop of about 30 coatis came to have their own breakfast on a nearby lawn. The coatis also loved the pool area and are not shy of tourists. They are adorable, but do NOT leave food unattended...or any bag that once contained food. Also be careful throwing anything in the trash bin. I saw a coati scavenging in one of these bins.

The lagoon-style pool really made this resort special. It was beautifully landscaped, warm, and just delightful. You could just lounge in one spot, or you could swim or wade from one lagoon to another. I also saw people playing water volleyball or taking water aerobics classes.

The service was great, and I was able to get medical care (doctor's consult and medicine) for an ear infection. Now that I think of it, my one gripe was that the shuttle took longer than I would have liked at checkout time. There were a bunch of us checking out at the same time, and one thing about my room was that it was at a location nowhere near the lobby. The location was worth the occasional inconvenience because it was right near the beach, lagoon pool, and beach-side restaurants.

One thing to be aware of: The resort is huge, and you will need to take a shuttle to go to the Lobby/Front Desk. We arrived at the resort at night, which was really daunting. Also, this is Costa Rica, so there are bugs (bees, ants), but I wasn't finding any in my room.

The buffet was very good, and I enjoyed my meals in the various restaurants. They do need to be booked in advance.

Room Tip: Try to pick one of the rooms near the lagoon-style pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,996 - 2,002 of 4,421 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

My sister and I just returned from a beautiful vacation in Costa Rica at the Westin Playa Conchal. On the whole, it was spectacular. The resort is extremely well-equipped; the rooms were comfortable and elegant, the food was delicious (and made it easy to accommodate dietary restrictions), the restaurant reservations were easy and efficient, the staff were friendly and helpful and the beach was exquisite. I'm sure the pool was nice too but we did not step foot in it - why you would spend time in a pool when the magnificent ocean is steps away is a real mystery to me. The weather was lovely, despite being the wet season - we did get an almost-daily dose of rain but it was quick and warm and sometimes a refreshing respite from the glorious heat. The ocean water was so warm, waves were gentle and swimming was delightful. The $20 beach massages were divine - muchos gracias Jenny and Nellie!! :) A few negatives: our housekeeping services were a bit shoddy at the start but showed a marked improvement on day 3. The resort is large - but it is absolutely walkable. The incessant parade of vehicles moving people from their rooms to the restaurants, pool, etc was a bit astonishing to me -- it took roughly ten minutes to walk the length of the resort - that people were unable or, more likely unwilling, to walk a few minutes was a sad reminder of the reputation for laziness that North Americans have earned. These vehicles disturbed the natural serenity of the landscape, to say nothing of the needless pollution generated as a result in what was otherwise a very ecologically-friendly vacation destination. Also - at an all-inclusive of this caliber, I would expect wireless internet access to be included and not charged separately for $15/day. We went with Air Canada vacations and only at the end of our trip were we advised that internet was paid by Air Canada - we had been trekking up to the lobby daily needlessly for free wifi, which was not a good use of valuable vacation time. All of our excursions were organized through Air Canada vacations and were managed professionally. Our guide, Emilio, was helpful and knowledgeable. One of our excursions (to Nicaragua) was less successful - and it seems we were outsourced away from Air Canada vacations to a different group. The trip to Nicaragua was the only (relatively) low point of our trip - badly organized, poorly executed and overall a waste of time and money. On the whole, the Westin was marvelous and I would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to the stunning north Pacific area of Costa Rica. It would be my pleasure to return one day in the not-so-distant future!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank dutcherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

First, start with Alberto the concierge, and he will make sure you are well taken care of during your stay. The dining is absolutely delicious in any restaurant on the property. The activities are great and Jose is the best for yoga on the beach or water aerobics. Everyone is very pleasant and I will definitely return to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We took our family (13 of us) to the Westin Playa Conchal to celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary. It was a wonderful week of fun and family. We all stayed in the Junior Deluxe Suites. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. We ate at all the restaurants during the week and the food was exceptional. The pool area was very nice and it was wonderful to be waited on while relaxing in the sun. The entire hotel staff was very friendly and eager to meet everyones needs. We all went on a river boat tour and most of the family went scuba-diving, snorkeling, zip-lining and enjoyed the hot springs. Several of us utilized the spa and my niece even took a golf lesson. This vacation offered memories for all us - not only of a great vacation but also an opportunity to celebrate the product of 50 great years of marriage and each other!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My family and I just returned from the Westin Playa Conchal after a wonderful week of fun, relaxation, dining and adventure. It’s a wonderful property in a wonderful part of the world. We could not have been happier with our entire experience from beginning to end.

I found other Trip Advisor reviews to be incredibly helpful, so here is my return of favor to the Trip Advisor community.

First, some context: I’m an SPG Platinum, my wife and I traveled with our 18 and 16 year olds, we go to Hawaii every year and tend to compare beach vacations to what we know.

A few initial observations from an SPG perspective. While we received a tremendous amount of pre-trip contact from the front desk and concierge teams as a Platinum guest, absolutely everyone is treated with equal care regardless of status. As an all-inclusive resort, it’s hard to differentiate since it’s already over the top – wine delivered to room (sure, but just go to any of the seven bars and it’s included); chocolate strawberries (sure, but every meal has a great selection of desserts). The only benefit to being Platinum is the use of the Royal Beach Club pool and restaurant, but the main pool is just as nice, has more activities and is closer to more dining options.

First, arrival. I would recommend flying into Liberia over San Jose. No need to drive an extra couple of hours when most US and Central American carriers fly to Liberia. Contact the Westin in advance and arrange for a car to take you to the property. It’s about an hour depending on the road construction and the pace of travel. Reasonably priced too.

As a family of four, we chose two connected rooms. That was an excellent choice. And since the primary cost of the property is the food and drink, it was actually cheaper to get two rooms of two than try to put us all into a single suite. Our rooms were great. Clean, open, high ceilings with fans, great baths with Westin amenities and bathrobes. Twice daily maid service kept the sand out, the towels clean and everything fresh despite the warm (hot) weather.

BTW, we went in August – the traditional rainy season. It rained one day of seven. Guanacaste is in the dry part of the country and it seemed to be particularly dry.

We booked an adventure. It’s tempting to just stay on the property since everything is included (kayaks, snorkels, boogie boards and a many, many activities – we did beach yoga four of our six mornings) as well as every meal – but strongly encourage at least one all-day adventure. We chose to book through Swiss Travel who is the onsite adventure booking service. We selected “Pure Adrenaline” which was comprised of horseback riding, tubing, repelling, rock wall climbing and zip lining – we strongly recommend this tour.

Now the food. Here is my honest take on absolutely everything we ate. N.B.: despite the enormous quantity of food, it is entirely possible to eat healthily – and if your diet demands, gluten-free, dairy-free, vegan, etc.

Breakfasts: Nearly everyone eats at Mitra, the buffet. It’s very good, great combo of traditional Costa Rican foods (try the Gallo Pinto with eggs on top), American breakfasts and power foods and juices. A great breakfast after yoga for sure. We also ordered room service for the morning that we did our adventure since we had an early departure. Perfectly delivered, to the minute. Probably should have taken advantage of room service one more time.

Lunches are either at the buffet or at a pool-side off-menu restaurant with salads, sandwiches, etc. Plus there is a pool-side pizzeria. Careful with your extra pizza as the coatis will track down the scraps wherever they end up. (more on the animals later)

Dinner – we were told to reserve in advance by a friend and it was key that we did. The sit down restaurants – there are five – fill up early; you cannot count on getting a dinner reservation unless you plan ahead, but if you do plan, you will not have any problems. Most people just refer to the cuisine rather than the name; here are the ones that we tried.

French – in the upper lobby, our favorite. Great salads, soups to start, entrees were really well done including fish, steak and shrimp dishes. Excellent desserts too. Clearly the most elegant, but OK for all ages. N.B. tell your kids to pack appropriately, everyone was in nicer shorts, shirts, dresses etc. (without being stuffy or pretentious).

Italian – in the Royal Beach Club, also great. Personal favorite was the tenderloin with gorgonzola. Kids thought the pasta was the best meal they had on the property.

Latin American – just OK. Hard to believe, we chose for our first night in order to jump right into the culture. Some things were good, others just so-so. But definitely try it.

Asian – well you’re in Costa Rica… A few good items, particularly the sushi and other apps. Entrees a bit over sauced and heavy.

Bars – we tried them all. Pool side, in the pool, by the golf course, in the lobby at the Royal Beach Club. Five kinds of mojitos, three colors of margaritas, Mai Tais, Pina Coladas – we tried them all. N.B., the drinking age is 18. Seems like a pretty popular place for 18 year olds.

A few final comments. There are monkeys in the trees, iguanas, coatis, raccoons, bring a birding guide, binoculars, camera with a long lens. And five favorites:

1. Gallo Pinto with two eggs over easy
2. Beach yoga
3. White water tubing
4. Mai Tais
5. Wonderful, comfortable room

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
25  Thank drosen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the Westin in August 2014. Mother/daughter trip.
The resort is beautiful , lush and green, great pool, and right on the beach.
We stayed in the royal beach area at the very end of the resort. The beach was steps away. The room had a enclosed patio so it was a perfect view whenever we were in the room. The beaches are public so there are a lot of locals, we never had any problems. There is a lot of wild life around the resort which we really enjoyed seeing.
The concierge service is awesome, jonathon made sure everything was taken care of. He made sure all our dinners were reserved right away and was always available. My daughter had a sinus infection and we took care of it in a couple of hours with the help of the staff.
No problems with housekeeping or the room, didn't really spend a lot of time in the room.
The restaurants are ok. The food was good and fresh (beef was always perfect) but different from what we are used to. No tummy issues at all. The food service staff is hit and miss some of it may be communication problems but they seemed somewhat unorganized and grumpy.
The pool is clean and comfortable, we spend a couple of hours relaxing there. There are a lot of bees, I did not get stung and there not much that can be done.
Massage at the spa was great well wort the money.
We did not book the excursions through the hotel, we did the snorkeling and the guy was kinda rude.
For us the stay was perfect, we were gone during the day and we were taken care of by the hotel during down time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tanja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Overall we had a wonderful experience at the Westin. I’ll start with the positives: the staff is friendly and efficient; pool-side chairs are plentiful, the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable; food and service are excellent at all the reservations-only restaurants and good at the buffet; the beach has plenty of shade, beautiful white sand and comfortably warm but refreshing water you can swim on. As to entertainment and activities, the aquarobics at 11 every morning is not to be missed, there is also yoga every morning but we didn’t try it; snorkeling is decent on the rocky area of the beach on the right side of the hotel during low tide; night entertainment is mixed, the live music was very good, others were so-so.
Areas for improvement, first and foremost please make stronger and better coffee for breakfast, Americans and Canadians do appreciate a good cup of coffee, so how about brewing some of the locally grown coffee for the Westin guests! The bees … there are too many bees all over the pool. Be careful if you are allergic to bee stings.
Excursions and fun things to do: make sure you talk with Eric Garcia (red shirt at the beach entrance to the hotel) if you enjoy horseback riding, ATVs or a half day trip to Palo Verde. He’ll beat hotel prices and arrange for efficient and friendly service, talking of which, thank you Raul for showing us a great time on our trip to Palo Verde and horseback riding.

Room Tip: Transportation is frequent and around the clock, so room location is not that important unless you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jvazs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Conchal
0.4 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
19.4 mi away
Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Peninsula Papagayo
Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Penin...
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,758 reviews
4 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
17.7 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
2,262 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort

Address: | Cabo Velas, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range: £276 - £583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort is an eco-friendly resort in Playa Conchal, Cabo Velas, Costa Rica located between the exotic forests and unspoiled beaches of the North Pacific Riviera. Our secluded vacation spot is a perfect balance between unrivaled luxury and local culture, giving our guests an unforgettable vacation experience. An All Inclusive experience includes all meals, drinks, use of our fitness center and kids club as well as entertainment options including non motorized water sports, daily activities and nightly events. Our retreat also offers an adult only all exclusive experience at the Royal Beach Club where guests have access to a private pool with concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, West Indies, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort And Spa, Playa Conchal
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing