We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Finca Buena Fuente Residence Hotel(Playa Conchal)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas La Paz(Playa Conchal)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa(Playa Conchal)(Great Value!)
US$301
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conchal Hotel(Brasilito)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Brasilito(Brasilito)(Great Value!)
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nany(Brasilito)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
US$361
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Guanacaste Lodge(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,651)
Filter reviews
4,651 results
Traveller rating
2,921
1,127
400
110
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,921
1,127
400
110
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal beach clubcosta ricadinner reservationserik garciaroom servicezip liningswim up barswiss travelpizzaour honeymoonitalian restaurantmain poolpura vidaall inclusiveshot springsmake reservationshorseback riding
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 4,651 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent half of our week in Costa Rica in the Arenal area, and half of it at the Westin on the beach. That was the perfect mix of adventure, and just relaxation. The Westin is the place to eat, drink, and relax! The room was beautiful and spacious, and we loved having a large balcony to sit and enjoy the scenery. The grounds are very well landscaped and taken care of. We golfed one day which is a beautiful course and they were very friendly. Pool and bar area is fun and lively. The locals on the beach are a bit pushy, but you just have to ignore them. Plenty of food choices, just book all your restaurants the first day. We would definitely go back! Pura vida!

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank puppylover11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is an all inclusive with 2 large pools within walking distance to a beautiful beach. There are always travel carts driving around the large property to get you where you want to go. Every person who worked there made a huge effort to make you feel special. We bought our trip through Costco which provided our transportation from the Liberia airport to the resort (about an hour's drive). I highly recommend Costco's travel arrangements. We booked a junior suite which offers 2 double beds and a very uncomfortable (for sleeping) sofa bed. We had a few issues with our room, but the manager, Erica, took care of it for us. One of our favorite drivers was Evoristo Gonzales who always made a point of finding out what our plans were for the day and just showing up to give us a ride. The only excursion we did was a great catamaran snorkel trip on the Lazy Lizard set up by Eric on the beach. Eric, Jesus and Jeffrey staffed that fun trip...they were wonderful and Jeffrey made a point of showing my granddaughter the joys of snorkeling. If you can swing it, I would recommend the Royal Beach Club at the Westin...no kids, a swim up bar with premium liquor and butler service while you sunbathe. The family pool for regular guests is quite nice too and provides more games and activities. The restaurant at the Royal Beach Club is great! We also like Bamboo restaurant. They will be joining the Marriott Starwood chain in August.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We upgraded to the "Royal Beach Club" section, which was wonderful. Beautiful adults only section with spectacular pool, comfy lounge chairs and plenty of shady areas. The beach was ok but not what I was used to from other resorts. I was not able to get a lounge chair nor were there adequate umbrellas or shade so I chose to stay by the pool despite being a beach person.

Food and service was excellent. The rooms were nice, very good size with everything you need.

I have to say if I went back to Costa Rica I would definitely not stay in a resort, I would go explore the beautiful country.

Stayed: February 2018
2  Thank kerrbear_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The wait staff at the property were all great - bartenders, wait staff, shuttle drivers, etc. The food was a little hit or miss, but overall pretty good. Our room was fine, although the mattress on the pull out couch was a joke. I was really disappointed in the service over the phone - where people were rude or just didn't answer. You need dinner reservations for every restaurant except for the buffet. Not totally unusual, but it was impossible to get a decent seating time for our group. Every day they would say they were full but as we walked around, the restaurants were all almost empty. It seemed like they were either understaffed or pushing us to the buffet. For a trip in the offseason, where the group was there for a wedding on property, just expected a lot better service.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yasil A, Guest Services & Quality Assurance Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Lauren B,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing a review. I understand that your stay was not all you hoped it would be. I regret that our restaurant reservation system did not meet your expectations. I would like to inform you that reservations are not available in any of our restaurants between the hours of 6:30 pm and 7:30 pm. Our restaurants operate on rotational seating process, therefore during this time the restaurants are full and in preparation for the next available seating. At our property we do provide four different seating options for our guests to enjoy based on availability and the established hours are 6:00pm, 6:30pm, 8:00pm and 8:30 pm. We are sorry to hear that despite the different seating options available at our resort, we were unable to fulfill your expectations. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered.

I hope that despite the inconveniences you experienced, you have enjoyed some other aspects of your stay. When your travels bring you back to our beautiful country. I hope you will give us an opportunity to be of service to you again at su casa in Guanacaste.

Best regards:

Yasil Alvarado
Guest Services & Quality Assurance Manager
THE WESTIN GOLF RESORT & SPA
PLAYA CONCHAL.
Playa Conchal, Cabo Velas
Santa Cruz, Guanacaste
Costa Rica
westinplayaconchal.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Held a work reward trip there with ~50 people. The staff was fantastic throughout. Property is beautiful. Food was great everywhere we tried (couple private events, Las Candelas, Bamboo, breakfast buffet). Cute monkeys everywhere thrilled our guests. Spa service and golf were raved about.

The only negatives were the amount of "vendors" hassling people on the beach (though the people who got massages there said they were wonderful for only $20 for an hour) and while at the spa there was construction or something going on outside that made it a bit noisy. Nothing at all to distract from the rest of the amazing experience.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews