We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place -- Great Vacation!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Conchal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Condor Heights Condominiums
Reviewed 10 August 2009

This is a wonderful hilltop condo with a fantastic water view. It’s private with beautiful views and breezes and a short easy drive to beaches and restaurants. The condo is beautifully decorated, well outfitted and clean. We had 2 adults 1 child and there was plenty of room. We awoke to the sounds of the area: howler monkeys and roosters. The beds were nice and firm; satellite TV; and chilly air conditioning made the stay comfortable. Even in the rain, the pool was always refreshing. The directions the owner, provided were VERY helpful but required a pirate’s navigational skills.

We decided to stay in Playa Conchal because it was close to everything we wanted to do: snorkeling, hiking, secluded beaches, horseback riding, jet skiing and local activities (zip lines, zoo, and river tours). The location is also convenient to other beach towns, grocery stores and restaurants are within minutes away -and the complex safe and secure. Visit the Happy Snapper and get “the happy snapper”.

Thank you again John and Linda for everything. You were wonderful hosts, were incredibly welcoming and helpful. They checked with us to make sure everything was OK when we arrived and were always available for questions and recommendations.

We can't wait to visit again next summer. Stan, Maggie and Emma from Maryland

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s21401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2009

Visited during the rainy season and had the place pretty much to ourselves. Great service. John and Linda were very helpful for places to see and things to do. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetsledgehammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

I was invited to stay at my good friend's condo at Condor Heights in March. My experience was joyous. The location is rather rural,which enables you to connect with your surroundings in a viseral way.the locals,Tico's ,are warm and embracing.the beaches are a short,scenic walk,and are so very beautiful.everything,rain forest,nightlife and watersports are easily available.the condo are well appointed,very organic(really very cool!) with the most amasing veiws of the ocean.my husband and i plan on renting a condo for future vactions.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcmotherNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2008

Our stay at Condor Heights was everything we hoped for in our vacation. In the heart of the local culture our hosts, John & Linda Gebauer, showed us true hospitality by being available for all our inquiries. From arranged site seeing tours, to just advising us of some of the local beaches to hang out at, we were very pleased.
The accomodations at Condor Heights were very comfortable with views of the bay at Playa Conchal. In the early morning you can sit on the balcony enjoying the locally grown coffee, taking in the fresh air and listening to the beauty of the howler monkeys off in the distance trees. In short, we wouldn't hesitate to make a return trip. This could become a habit!!

Stayed: September 2008
Thank gottagoredding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

We returned from a second wonderful end of summer trip to Condor Heights Condos in the Guanacaste region of Costa Rica with fabulous experiences and priceless family memories. Our family of 5 had plenty of room in the well-apppointed condos. We stayed one week in a two bedroom unit and the spacious laylout served our teenagers well. Our 13, 15 , and 17 year old were entertained with the onsite pool, pool table, and restuarant. We, as parents, enjoyed the safety of Condor Heights with 24 security and the sweeping views of the ocean from our unit and the pool/restaurant area. Condor Heights enjoys a close proximity (a short walk) to probably two of the most beautiful beaches in the world: Playa Pirata and Playa Minus. Surf this secluded beach and you have found paradise! Often, our family was the only one on the beach! Another stunning location within a walk is a beautiful Playa Conchal. This strech of beach was the destination for many morning beach walks and shares its opposite shore with Reserva Conchal (exclusive resort). However, if you are looking for a better bargain, a quieter location, a "best kept secret" location to enjoy an even more special paradise, then Condor Heights is your spot!
In addition to the wonderful condo and its location, Condor heights has the BEST property managers I have ever met. John and Linda will go out of their way to help you feel right at home. They are always available for questions, directions, advise, can help set up trips, rent cars and are "Traveler's Angels" when it comes to discovering a new location,especially with a family!
Condor Heights is a great place to re-discover yourself, your family and your spouse! We enjoyed magical trips to the active volcano Arenal (few hours drive), an adventure day of zip-line thrills, white water rafting, horseback riding and nud baths at National Park: RIncon de la Vieja (2 hours +/-), and local snorkeling adventures in the teeming warm waters within the Condor Heights neighborhood. Sure hope we can make it back to Condor Heights for a third time!

Thank pescar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

Summary:

The condo itself (#9) was very nice- new, tastefully furnished, great views, nice balcony. Booked directly through the owner via VRBO.

The GORGEOUS beach was close by (Playa Conchal) and walkable down a canopy covered dirt path.

The restaurant onsite was decent but semi-expensive and the wait staff/manager was a little iffy.

The property manager, while nice, was a little ditzy and not all that helpful.

The culture of Costa Rica itself wasn't as charming as we'd hoped, but I'm fairly certain that was due to our *tourist* status.

Details:
The condo we stayed in was fantastic. Very new (built in '07, I believe) and built with most of the amenities it promised. (Items missing: telephone, beach towels, broadband internet access, stereo system, CD player) The furnishings were new and tasteful - no tacky wicker like so many tropical vacation rentals.
The kitchen was appointed with all the amenities of home (dishes, cookware, appliances, etc) and nicely done (granite, stainless, etc).
The beds were new and comfortable, a bonus for vacation homes, and the linens were nice (damask) - everything was super clean.
The baths were nice and well appointed with the one drawback of hot water. There wasn't any. Thankfully we were there when it was HOT, so a cool shower after sweating it out on the beach was welcomed. Not sure how this would go over in cooler months. Lots of bath towels, no beach towels.
The balcony had an incredible view and lots of room to move around. The ceiling fans hadn't been installed yet, which would have been really nice since it was quite warm. The furniture was a little sparse - two plastic adirondack chairs, a small table and a stack of 4 resin chairs - but it served us fine. Would have been excellent to have a couple chaise lounges or a table/chairs to eat outside. Quite a few wasps were making nests in the cracks of the tiling which we handled by leaving them alone or smacking them with the fly swatter if they insisted on bothering my (allergic) husband.
The laundry closet was excellent and the machines were brand new. If you want to do laundry, you'll have to bring your own detergent, there wasn't any provided.
Living room was super comfy with a new sectional couch, large coffee table and new flat screen TV with satelite. Although most of the channels were in Spanish, there were a few English options. No TV in the bedrooms.

Playa Conchal is beautiful. I have been to beaches all over the world (Hawaii, Grand Cayman, Tahiti, Mexico, Europe, etc) and this beach is pretty incredible. Clear, calm, turquoise water, white sand beach, fairly light traffic and HUGE. The only drawbacks are the ATVs that whiz by on the beach and the horses that poop in the sand. Other than that, you can find a great spot to swim and not be bothered. Not much snorkeling to report. We saw some fish and coral, but nothing like Hawaii, Cayman, Mexico, etc. The beach is just a short walk through the canopy down to the sand from the condos. We typically walked down there in the morning to take advantage of the calm waters and then in the evening after the thunderstorms passed to take a starry swim. Lovely. Water so calm that after my husband dropped his wedding ring in the water one night, we were able to come back in the morning and find it in the same place at the bottom of the ocean. Crazy.

The restaurant was a pain the butt, to be honest. While everyone went on about Hugo's ceviche (which was good, to be sure), everything else seemed a little off. The service was unreliable, generally slow and seemed dishonest. We weren't offered a menu until we brought one down from our room ourselves and the first night we were there and ordered ceviche and beef (as suggested by Hugo) we were then brought out a few other random dishes, plus shots of tequila and beers and then charged for everything. Not that we shouldn't be charged, but we didn't order most of the stuff and it just arrived. The communication (in Spanish and English) was just really bad. Hugo didn't seem to want to answer questions, he just wanted to get the whole deal over with. And apparently really wanted to serve us ceviche because that's what he asked us every time we walked by. Anyway, after the first day we decided to go back to what we normally do and just cook for ourselves, which was great in the nice kitchen. We also checked out the Happy Snapper in Brasilito (good) and Mar y Sol in Playa Flamingo (excellent - great bar upstairs for sunset happy hour).

The property manager, Linda, while friendly and pleasant, was fairly ditzy and not all that helpful. We asked for directions to the condo and those she gave us were missing a crucial turn that we managed to take out of luck. (We created a map with photos for future travelers: http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?ie=UTF8&hl=en&msa=0&ll=10.394592,-85.818651&spn=0.003662,0.005429&t=h&z=18&msid=103671343379337134836.0004547170fdb58475032) We found our condo didn't have any curtains (which was an issue with the peeping security guards) and she said she'd find a solution and promptly forgot about it (we decided we'd just flash them and go on with our lives). She told us when we arrived that they "didn't have power all the time like we have in the States", which was fine, but it was the first time we'd heard about it. Thankfully we always travel with a headlamp (too many trips to India), so the power outages weren't a problem. She told us on the last day that there was a mid-stay maid service included in our condo - whoops - and that there was a $30 per diem at the restaurant - whoops again. In a nutshell, she's nice enough, but don't hope for any true guidance or help in the event that something comes up.

The culture of Costa Rica is probably charming, but we didn't see much of that. The locals seem pretty attuned to picking out tourists and treat them as such. They weren't interested in speaking with us in English or Spanish, just mostly interested in getting whatever $ we had for whatever activities they were offering or whatever products they had to sell. Which is fine, that's a big source of income for the economy, it's just kind of a turn off. There aren't a lot of people in the area of the condos, so the interaction with locals is pretty slim. Our experience was mostly with those in Playas del Coco (dump) and along the main roads, which could account for the less that warm reception. No worries, we were there to relax together, and we had a fantastic experience.

All in all, the location is beautiful and the beach is divine. If I were to go back, we'd fly direct into Liberia (instead of Tamarindo), rent the same compact 4x4 (dirt road to the condo can get dicey) and plan to cook all our meals except those we ate in Playa Flamingo and spend the majority of our days enjoying the views and sounds from the balcony (monkeys, parrots, etc) and swimming at Playa Conchal.

Tips:
Stop at AutoMercado in Tamarindo or SuperCompro on the road to Brasilito and pick up laundry detergent, bug spray, sunscreen, food, drink, shampoo.
Rent a compact 4x4 for the roads that get splashy after the big rains.
Don't forget to apply sunscreen and bug spray all the time.
Try to catch sunset at the Mar y Sol bar in Flamingo.
Know your exchange rate and use Colones with locals whenever you can.
Watch for cows on the road.
Practice your Spanish.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Norcal.Vaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

This was the second trip to Costa Rica and first to the Guanacaste area for my wife, my 15 year old son and me. Booked the stay through VRBO for the condominium we stayed in--a 2 bedroom, air conditioned unit that had a spectacular view of the Playa Conchal and the surrounding area. This is a relatively new condo that is well maintained and adjoins a restaurant and pool. The food was good. The drinks were well made. The property is secure. But the best are Linda and John, resident managers, who are a wealth of information and assistance in making your stay/trip the best it can be. They have lived there for several years and know the area well. They can assist in making reservations or just giving suggestions on where to go to soak up some sun, eat or take an adventure tour.
The condo is somewhat remote (5 km down a dirt road), but is very close to Playa Flamingo, Playa Conchal, Playa Grande, Tamarindo--all less than 30 minutes away. Playa Conchal is about a 7-10 minute walk to the beach. Playa Real, a very nice and quiet beach is about a 20-25 minute walk in another direction.
We will return to this area and stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Minajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Conchal hotels
0 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
0 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
0 mi away
Finca Buena Fuente Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condor Heights Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condor Heights Condominiums

Address: Condor Way | Matapalo, Playa Conchal, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Playa Conchal
Price Range: £130 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Searching for Paradise at Playa Conchal Costa Rica? Condor Heighgts is a brand new development within walking distance to Conchal beach. Every 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit provides magnificant views of the ocean. These beautiful condos, with large covered balconies, including washer dryer, full kitchen, and air conditioning provide a home away from home. Pool, restaurant and property management will make your vacation at Condor a full Costa Rican experience. Liberia Airport is approximately 45 minutes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing