We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!”
Review of Villa Buena Onda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Buena Onda
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at Villa Buena Onda for 1 week and it was the best part of our vacation. The rooms are amazing and the view is breath taking! We could not asked for a better more enjoyable time. We will be staying there every time we are in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobinJolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

If you want to disconnect from the world and have an amazing time, Villa Buena Onda is "the place"to stay. Located in a very peaceful area, where silence and the sounds of nature are the best company. The staff is super friendly and always trying to make your of your stay an amazing experience. Excellent food, nice rooms, and their service is the best. Definately one of the nicest Hotels in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcoA07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Villa Buena Onda is wonderful in every aspect; location, staff, facilities, and food. I stayed here while on my Honeymoon. My husband and I both stayed in a downstairs room. It was awesome. I loved that it was adults only and there weren't many other guest at the hotel. For this reason, it was so peaceful. We ate like kings every night. We also enjoyed the excursions the hotel had set up for us. I highly recommend staying at Villa Buena Onda. I was so sad to leave and will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: I love the downstairs corner rooms. They had beautiful hammocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Villa Buena is amazing. It has six rooms, so if you don't like big crowds and just want to relax then this is your place. The staff builds a friendship like relationship with you, and makes you feel like a millionaire on your own private resort, or your own little slice of heaven. The view is breathtaking and the pool area is beautiful and so relaxing. Laying in your own hammock and having a bartender bring drinks to you is definitely a big plus. We seen howler monkeys in the trees right next to the pools on several occasions. The food is amazing, something for everyone's taste buds for sure. I will personally recommend this place to all my friends.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and the endless pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sn00wman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This was our last stop, after touring other areas of Costa Rica-( a beautiful country- we had the best time) if you are interested in just chilling out this is the place. Incredible staff, beautiful view, great food, extremely nice rooms, and the pool- perfect!! The staff is genuinely friendly and so gracious in anything you ask of them. A 5 minute ride to town, beach etc. but once you arrive you will find it so hard to leave-perfect ending to a wonderful trip. 1st Class!!

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean view with the hammock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giz1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Villa Buena Onda is a magical, unique place where your soul wants to dance. You wake up to the beautiful sounds of nature while singing birds welcome you to a new day and the gracious, caring staff greets you in the morning with a charming smile. You find the Villa relaxing and peaceful, the food is delicious, and the amazing staff teaches you new words in Spanish every day and makes this place very special.
Muchas Gracias Jennifer, Shelley, Dayana, Cristian, Javier, Gabriel, Rosa, Migdalia.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

After spending a week adventuring through Costa Rica, Villa Buena Onda was the most relaxing and luxurious way to end our vacation. The Villa (rooms and common areas) and the staff was amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed each of our tasty meals and appreciated the the serenity of sitting in VBO's infinity pool while also in the most lush landscape. Although not directly on the beach, VBO has a great view of the pacific. (Guests are able to visit the beaches by free private shuttle which leave the hotel in the morning and in the afternoon). For any traveler visiting the West coast of Costa Rica, this is a MUST STAY.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms include a personal hammock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank perlanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
7.7 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,666 reviews
20.3 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 24 in Tamarindo
736 reviews
20 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
12.1 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
5.6 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Buena Onda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Buena Onda

Address: From the Anchor Sculpture 200 Meters East and 700 Meters South, Playas del Coco 50503, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range: £325 - £525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Buena Onda 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, boutique hotel overlooking the Pacific ocean. Located just 20 mins from the Liberia International airport. Service includes three a la carte meals served daily. Nearby half a dozen beaches, fishing spots, surf breaks and under an hour from the Rincon de La Vieja (hot springs, mud pits) National Park. Fine decor, two-tier swimming pool with a swim-up bar and stunning ocean views make this a special place to visit. Fantastic food and exceptional service can be expected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Buena Onda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Buena Onda Hotel Playas Del Coco
Villa Buena Onda Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing