We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise in Guanacaste”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Toro Blanco Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Toro Blanco Resort
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paradise in Guanacaste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I travel a lot to Playas del Coco in Guanacaste because I am a diver, and it was hard to find the perfect place near the beach; which is also clean, very comfortable and has a great price. I found this little paradise a long time ago and everytime I go there, they make me feel like I am home, or even better than home.The owners Leo and Federica are awesome and very nice to people. I am happy to visit Toro Blanco everytime I go diving to see my friends, and have a nice time in the swimming pool and the wetbar. I love to spend time with the owners and Evelynn, and I also like to hang out with my dog friend Blanco.
I highly recommend this beautiful hotel for divers around the world.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the pool are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennie875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    49
    13
    14
    3
See reviews for
20
67
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Super clean, very reasonable. Right near the beach and all the action. Leo is a great host. We found this place by accident after a bad experience the night before in San Jose. We were only going to commit to one night but stayed 7 after realizing this little jewel was a great place and great value. The innkeepers were very friendly and accomodating. Will stay here again next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricktgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tappen, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We decided to stay in Playas del Coco after travelling all around Costa Rica. This hotel fit the bill for price and location, it was clean and comfortable. The rooms are a little tired and could use some TLC, but for the price its OK. The grounds however are very attractive as is the nice pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elainehansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, NJ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

After running away from a filthy hotel that we had booked months ago, we arrived in Playas del Coco after dark. We asked a local store owner for a suggestion for a clean hotel. He immediately directed us to Toro Blanco. We were very pleased with the way we were greeted at the gate and shown a room. The room was very clean and efficient. It met our needs. (It could benefit from a new mattress and a restain of the counter top.)

We stayed at Toro Blanco two nights and were very satisfied with the location, lodging, pool, and management. Contrary to others' opinions, we found the cost reasonable. Location to town is great, even though it does get a bit noisy after dark.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank insom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I read the reviews of Toro Blanco before we left and I totally disagree with the people that were complaining about the noise and the cleanliness. The hotel is very close to the beach and all the restaurants and boutiques. We had a great time at Toro Blanco. Our room was just perfect for our need and we love the fact that we could relax outside our room and be right by the pool. The owners of the hotel Leo and Federica as well as all their staffs are very friendly and helpful. We needed a transportation to the bank on our last morning and they let me used their golf cart to get there. Leo also gave us a ride to a nice italian restaurant that same night. Yes, the owner don't speak english, but if you make an effort to speak with them, we manage to understand each other. We also love the fact that they have their 3 dogs and cat staying right at the site. Leo, Blanco, Walter and Lolita are very friendly and made us feel just like home. It was our first time in Playa Del Coco and Toro Blanco and we will return again probably next year and will definitely recommend this place. Looking forward to see all of them next year and hopefully by then our spanish will be better cause we would love to be able to have conversation with Leo and Federica. Overall a great place to stay and definitely recommend it. See you next year guys!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Youppi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We really enjoyed our time at the Toro Blanco. I love the balcony and the kitchenette was nice to have. Having a security guard brings that extra little peace of mind that you don't really need in Coco but it's nice to have. the pool was great with just enough shade during the day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rchernish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

My partner and I arrived to Toro Blanco as the last part of our trip. The hotel is quite beautiful in contrast to the rougher aspects of the city of Coco. Each room had a large balcony with a table overlooking the pool. The rooms were dated but clean, with a kitchen in each and air conditioning and warm water. Housekeeping was great, replacing our towels with fresh ones daily and putting away our drying dishes. The hotel staff were friendly but most did not know much English, which made it difficult to originally check in. However, the main owner was friendly and we were able to get some information about the area, such as getting to playa ocotal and arranging transportation to the airport for a very reasonable rate of 35$. We found toro blanco through rich coast diving, a great resource for those looking for some adventure in coco. We enjoyed snorkelling and diving to see puffer fish, star fish, rays, and even sharks. Toro blanco is close to town and a 2 min walk to the beach, very convenient location but you can hear the base from the music late in to the night. This minor inconvenience was worth it to us for the location. Would recommend toro blanco for anyone looking to spend some time in coco, with a reasonable rate, clean hotel, and friendly staff. Would not recommend if you are hoping for somewhere more quiet, luxurious, and helpful in terms of planning excursions/activities if you are English speaking. Thanks for the stay!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayleenNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
0.0 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
#5 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
#7 of 11 in Playas del Coco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Chantel
Hotel Chantel
#3 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
4.2 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toro Blanco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toro Blanco Resort

Property: Toro Blanco Resort
Address: 25 mts south of the Iglesia Catolica, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Toro Blanco Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toro Blanco is a newly-built apart-hotel located a mere 50 meters away from the beach, and about a 5-minute walk to the main street of Playas del Coco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Toro Blanco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toro Blanco Hotel Playas Del Coco
Toro Blanco Resort Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing