We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only stayed a short time.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Vida Loca

La Vida Loca
Ranked #48 of 104 Restaurants in Playas del Coco
Cuisines: Bar, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Only stayed a short time.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I went out while others were resting back at the hotel. Crossed the rickety bridge to have a beer. I left shortly after finishing it. I was going to have lunch, but a couple of tables were filled with loud obnoxious rednecks who were so deeming of the locals that I was embarrassed to be from the states.

Just outside the joint, I was approached by some 20ish fellows in deadlocks who commented how much they liked my camera. They were trying to reach for it, so they "could take my picture." Yeah, right, that would be the last I'd see of my camera if let them do so. They weren't local Ticos, but seemed like California beach bums. Only time I didn't feel completely safe in Costa Rica.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MizzouMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    31
    24
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We found this place only because a friend had been there before. It sits right on the beach just south of the main strip and across a small foot bridge that looks like it will fall at any minute (held 5 grown adults though). There is an easier way to get there by car if you know where you're going. The place is clean and prices are cheaper than some of the local bars. Accepts cash or credit cards.

Helpful?
Thank matts905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in Playa Del Coco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

You cross a delapitated bridge on the beach to get to it - away from town. It's right on the beach so you have a great view while you eat. They have wonderful fish tacos! You get so much - we shared a plate. Really good value for your money. The beer is cold and the fruit drinks are good. What more could you want.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicademusVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athabasca, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth the walk over the rickety bridge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

South on the beach and over the rickety bridge to this fun beach bar where there is usually a good crowd of ex-pats, Tico's and tourists enjoying the cold beer and excellent food. Seems like there is always something going on with live music frequently featured. Try their famous meat loaf. Very good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunshells2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Felt like an American restaurant.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Very cool beach location, great service, food tasted great, but so sad to see Tico feel fading away. Wish local Latino music was more common here than American.

Helpful?
Thank PurpleTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Vida Loca also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to La Vida Loca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing