We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun beach bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Vida Loca

La Vida Loca
Ranked #48 of 104 Restaurants in Playas del Coco
Cuisines: Bar, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Fun beach bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We heard about this place from the owner of our beach rental. We were told, go down to the beach, turn left and cross over the little foot bridge to Vida Loca. With those kind of directions, how can you not go?

Vida Loca is a bar owned by a Texan and it is definitely the town hangout for Americans, Canadians and expats from various other countries. Good drinks, good pizza, excellent wifi, live music on weekends and interesting, friendly patrons.

Pull up a bar stool, relax and enjoy the great view.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    31
    24
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Finleyville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Deja' Vous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We came upon this quaint restaurant and bar while visiting Playas del CoCo in Costa Rica Guanacaste, We were out shopping for souvenirs and heard this music and followed the sound to a rickety bridge that led to the La Vida Loca Beach Bar and Restaurant. The atmosphere was casual and fun loving with tourists sipping on their drinks and dancing to the songs of the 50's-90's, being sung by a expat, who was wearing a tank top, shorts and flip flops! The bar/restaurant is mostly outside and served up great homemade pizza. The singer had a wonderful voice and sounded just like the various singers whose songs he was singing, especially Louie Armstrong! We couldn't believe this was only one man singing as he played the key board and played for 90 minutes before taking a break. We never caught his name, but the atmosphere and the friendly welcoming staff will have us coming back to the La Vida Loca. We were staying at the Villas Sol Beach Resort in Playa Hermosa and caught the shuttle from our resort to CoCo Beach for the late afternoon evening hours. There are many excellent restaurants here, but we found this one especially relaxing and had us reminiscing. We are 62, but a lot of 20-30 year old were there, which shows the appreciation for this era of music!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Channell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
231 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great beach bar, food,views.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Stopped here after crossing the rickety foot bridge that was really not that rickety, quite safe. Zack the owner greeted us out front. Really laid back beach bar with great food and reasonable prices. Sports bar with awesome views right on beach.
Will definitely go back for live music send BBQ sat. night.

Helpful?
Thank jimimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It is What it Is!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We "discovered" this little Bar/Restaurant on the first day of our holiday. We are not red necks, but we are also not pretentious. We loved the fact that we could sit outside, under a palm tree, right on the beach, overlooking the blue Pacific Ocean and order a $ 2.00 beer. How can it get any better than that.
We tried the fish tacos, french fries, fish samich, and casada. Pretty typical for Bar food. Nothing extraordinary, but the kitchen is clean, the service friendly and efficient, the owner is usually on site and friendly. We stopped here often during our two week stay in Coco. There are other bars along the main street, but this one is off on its own, and right on the beach. You can not get a better beach side view in CoCo.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HollyDaize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Only stayed a short time.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I went out while others were resting back at the hotel. Crossed the rickety bridge to have a beer. I left shortly after finishing it. I was going to have lunch, but a couple of tables were filled with loud obnoxious rednecks who were so deeming of the locals that I was embarrassed to be from the states.

Just outside the joint, I was approached by some 20ish fellows in deadlocks who commented how much they liked my camera. They were trying to reach for it, so they "could take my picture." Yeah, right, that would be the last I'd see of my camera if let them do so. They weren't local Ticos, but seemed like California beach bums. Only time I didn't feel completely safe in Costa Rica.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MizzouMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Vida Loca also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to La Vida Loca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing