We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claudio y Gloria

Claudio y Gloria
Ranked #24 of 103 Restaurants in Playas del Coco
Cuisines: Spanish, Central American, Costa Rican, Latin, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: I think it was in the Hotel Coco Mar
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
420 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Great local food and mixed drinks. Nice atmosphere and live mariachi band that will play for your table.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Freee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    74
    28
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best typical food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was by far the best typical meal my husband has had in Costa Rica, the fish was full of flavours. The rice and beans very done perfect.
I had a lovely salad and the Aztec soup. We would highly recommend this restaurant.
Service was great and live music on the weekends.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic first meal in Playas del Coco!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Our flight arrived at the Liberia airport around noon. After a short shuttle ride, we settled into to our condo and walked to the beach. We had heard of Claudio y Gloria's from the owner and decided to give that a try. Hot and tired from our trip, we found this place to be a cool and quite oasis.

Our server was Edwin. He was very friendly and made us all feel very welcome. He answered our questions about the menu, joked with our kids and was good natured as we practiced our rusty spanish.

We enjoyed both the chicken and mahi casado, shrimp fried rice and fried red snapper. The beach was about 100 yards away and provided a nice view while we enjoyed our food.

We returned for another lunchtime meal before our trip ended and were glad to have Edwin take care of us again.

The price for the tasty casdo plates was very reasonable for a beachside restaurant. The other dishes were a bit pricey. However, we were happy to return due to the friendly service, nice view and good food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mdcarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La crosse
1 review
“Pura vida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

I went to you Costa Rica with no plans and stayed 26 days at Claudio y Gloria in the hotel, and loved every moment !! Food and drink are the best. I want to go thank Daphne, Nelly, Anditta, Anabelle, Joshua, Louis, Edwin and Diego for making me feel welcome every day! If the people and the food aren't enough the view of the ocean is awesome. Am already making plans for next year. Thanks for a great stay!
Carla from Wisconsin

Helpful?
Thank Cmzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, ON Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

After reading a lot of reviews we decided to try this restaurant......what a disappointment! Chairs were too low for the tables...not much atmosphere...bathrooms disgusting....lighting too bright for fine dining. I ordered a margarita for a cocktail and. Could not taste any booze in it....the waiter brought a shot of tequila and dropped it into my drink...still seemed watered down. I ordered a shrimp dish which all I could taste was salt on everything including potatoes shrimp and vegetables. My wife had a chicken filet with a salty cream sauce and salty potatoes and vegetables. I definitely will never come back and would never recommend this restaurant to anyone! No one cooks with salt anymore!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank scooter007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Claudio y Gloria also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Claudio y Gloria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing