We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almaco Deluxe Beach BBQ”

Almaco Diving & Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Almaco's private customized boat tours are a great way to experience Costa Rica from the ocean’s point of view. For almost a decade we have been designing dynamic tours for small groups and families who want a little bit of everything while out on the water. We offer snorkeling, sport fishing, scuba diving (and instruction), surf trips (and instruction), standup paddling, sunset tours, and unforgettable full day beach barbeque tours with delicious gourmet food.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Almaco Deluxe Beach BBQ”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We traveled to Costa Rica with 2 other families and booked a deluxe beach BBQ with 2 boats for our group of 14 (6 adults and 8 kids). We were picked up at Playa Ocotal for a ride around Monkey Head Island and a cruise to look for animals. We saw huge rays swimming below the surface, smaller eagle rays jumping out of the water, dolphins following the boats, and turtles floating on the surface. We were then taken snorkeling where our guides pointed out a variety of wildlife. After snorkeling, we took a side trip down a small river to checkout the alligators and birds. We then headed to the beach for a fantastic BBQ that included beef, chicken, and lobster along with some local fare. After the huge feast, our group engaged in a variety of activities including paddle boarding, tubing, water skiing, snorkeling, fishing, building sand castles, playing with hermit crabs, and relaxing on the beach. The crew of 5 were led by Rolbin and Leo who were excellent and knowledgeable guides very fluent in English. They played with the kids, entertained the parents, and made sure that everyone enjoyed themselves. It was a great way to spend a day and highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, Ohio
1 review
“Voted Favorite Activity by my Sons”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Our half day fishing charter was so memorable. We boarded a very clean boat, packed with snacks and beverages, right off the beach of our hotel (Andaz Peninsula Papagayo). My 21 & 15 year old sons had an amazing 1/2 day of fishing....red snapper was abundant! I believe they would have loved for a monster fish to bite, but overall were very satisfied with their catch. Alex and Chipopa were welcoming, educated, completely flexible to our wishes, fluent in English and so accomodating - baited every hook and even cleaned the fish we kept for our hotel chef to prepare for our dinner! In addition to fishing, we were able to enjoy dolphins playing, rays flipping and a entertaining conversation of the history and sites of Costa Rica.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MSS61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding trip”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We did the full day charter last week on the Nai'a with Almaco and it was the perfect trip! We had 4 adults and 5 kids (ages 7-15) , and we were picked up at the beach at our resort, which was extremely convenient. The day started with a short trip and then the kids went tubing which they could not get enough of. Most of the charters we have taken were on sailboats or catamarans, but this boat, with its twin engines, was the most fun. We were able to go fishing and then take a trip up and down the coast in no time at all. We then went to a quiet beach and bay where we went snorkelling and paddleboarding before we had a great BBQ lunch. The chicken, swordfish, and lobster were outstanding and the kids had a blast playing at the beach while the adults relaxed with their wine and beer. Before we knew it, it was late afternoon and we didn't even have time to go wakeboarding, which we had originally planned to do. We then took a quick trip through the mangroves before the kids went tubing one more time. This time, there were dolphins jumping through the kids wake! We have been on a lot of great charters before, but this one was most likely the best. The crew was gracious, accommodating and had a ton of activities for us the whole day. Booking the charter online was easy and their office was responsive and easy to work with. A first class operation all around!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank bsu88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
1 review
“Awesome Adventure!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We were in Costa Rica this past week with dear friends and booked the all day boat tour with Almaco. Our boat crew included Chipopa, Jorge and Alex. They were fantastic and so knowledgeable about the area, they made us comfortable and kept us learning while having fun! We did some fishing and caught some Red Snapper and Grouper. Next, we moved onto snorkeling which was really amazing! Jorge guided us through the beautiful coral where we saw many different and beautiful fish and eel. We were also lucky enough to swim with several schools of fish something that will take your breath away if you are lucky enough to do! Chipopas was busy creating our lunch when we arrived at our secluded beach that was set up with hammocks, a lovely table and chairs and all sorts of yummy sides to munch on! They even had beer and wine for us to enjoy! The chicken, lobster and fish were all excellent and cooked to perfection! After eating we just enjoyed the water with paddle boards, swimming and looking for shells. The day was coming to an end and we headed back to our resort but not before we got to see the sun set on the ocean which was also amazing! Later, I realized that I had left a bag on the boat and we were set to check out in the morning. To my amazement, Jorge had brought my bag back to the hotel the following morning just in time for me to take it back home to Dallas! Thank you so much Jorge for going above and beyond the call of duty! I can't say enough about this crew, trip and adventure! If you are going to book a boat tour pick Almaco and you are sure to be thrilled with your choice!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SilviaB112730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“fabulous ride”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Knowledgeable, interesting and charming host. Snorkeling in warm water was disappointing only because few fishes there. Saw dolphins, a huge sea turtle and the Temisque River estuary too. Surely one of the best things we did in Costa Rica.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Almaco Diving & Tours also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Almaco Diving & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing