We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice find!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Donde Johann

Donde Johann
Ranked #22 of 103 Restaurants in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Monday tuesday close
2 reviews
“Nice find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

This place is just outside Coco, but well worth the visit. I had the filet mignon and it was cooked perfectly. Will definitely visit again.

Helpful?
Thank ed a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    33
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Perfect tenderloin and chlli rellenos. Wait staff was excellent. Nice atmosphere, and the prices were quiet reasonable. A bit out of town, but well worth the 5 minute drive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shawnrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We have been there many times, it was just great people and best food tasted. Best regards, Villas las colinas 7020

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Claudio Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We're so happy to find a nice place outside of Coco! Great food, loved it here! Priced the same as Coco, great service, easy to find, right on highway just before Nacazcol (when coming from Coco).

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PurpleTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, ON Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Excellent once again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We returned to Coco this year to find Donde Johann is still here. The restaurant is for sale but I still hope it continues as one of the best restaurants in Coco. I had the coconut shrimp and my wife had yet he buccanero shrimp....both excellent choices. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone without kids...more an adult atmosphere out of town. A shot of limoncello liqure was offered as an after dinner drink on the house....nice touch!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank scooter007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Donde Johann also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Donde Johann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing