We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The View”
Review of Cafe de Playa

Cafe de Playa
Ranked #24 of 106 Restaurants in Playas del Coco
Price range: US$10 - US$70
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, View, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The View”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Service was excellent. Small very personalized restaurant with a view. Food was outstanding. If wanting to eat paella call in advance as they don't serve it if ordered at arrival.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Monica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    119
    37
    24
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice and Quaint”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was a nice little cozy place to enjoy the beach. They have good lawn chairs to lay out in and they try to keep them clean. If you try the food at the restaurant, you must try their Peruvian Ceviche. It was great!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyingchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great Beach but lousy service”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had access to Cafe de Playa included with our timeshare exchange stay at Bahia Turquesa Residences. (Terrible, terrible place, but that's another story.)

We used the beach on three occasions and not once did we get any service from the wait staff. We did see staff talking to other guests on the beach and people being served drinks, but we were never asked.

One afternoon we were sitting on one of the couches between the beach and the bar hoping to be waited on. A waitress arraying a tray of drinks came by to ask if the drinks were ours. We said no, but that we did want to order. She delivered the drinks to a couple on the beach and proceeded to walk past us on her way back to the bar. After a few minutes when we realized she wasn't coming back, we went to the bar ourselves.

Imagine our shock when we were charged the equivalent of almost $10 USD for two Imperials during "happy hour"!! We hadn't paid more than $2 USD anywhere else for this beer!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BWBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, awesome setting and non alcoholic beer served too!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

A higher end experience on the beach with fine dining, a good wine selection and the Kaiser N/A beer served cold and in a glass.

The food and the presentation are top notch. A varied menu with a nice selection of appetizers, main course, soups and salads and desserts ....

Enjoyed the live music on the nights I was there when they had local artists playing as well as the food and the sound of the waves as a backdrop.

As you walk in from the street, it seems like you've entered Shangila ...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RandySpate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice beach side restaurant away from the tourist strip of Playa de Coco.”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Walked 10 minutes from the center along the beach. Situated among homes at the far end of the beach. Delightful pink and white decor in lounge chairs and sofas. The small restaurant opened to views of the beach and pool. Very tasty and not touristy. My family of 5 enjoyed a delicious lunch of ceviche and bocas all under $70 which was a deal when compared to what we were paying at the Four Seasons. Treat yourself at Cafe de Playa.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XrsPappas5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe de Playa also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Cafe de Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing