We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Papagayo Seafood

Papagayo Seafood
Ranked #17 of 104 Restaurants in Playas del Coco
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi, Costa Rican, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Badalona, Spain
2 reviews
“good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

my partner and i had a 1kilo lumbster for dinner and a platter of seafood. we really enjoyed the food as well as the service, kind and quick.
the place is nice and the location too as it is 3 min far from the main beach walking distance where you'll find most of the hotels and restauration, including bars

Helpful?
Thank Lobeira8
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    222
    96
    66
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Costa Rica”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Had lunch there, everyone's lunch was delicious, we order various seafood plates. Service was "island time", not prompt, but acceptable. With tax and tip it ran about $30 per person,

Stayed at Four Seasons, lunch and dinner appeared to be prepared by former fast food cooks and was very expensive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Island_Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mahi in roasted garlic butter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

My wife and I decided on Papagayo for lunch on our last full day in Playas del Coco. I had the Mahi Mahi in roasted garlic butter and my lunch was very good. We had a lot of fun watching the people of Playas del Coco go by on all sorts of vehicles. Service was attentive while not intruding and the food fresh and tasty. WHile not our favorite restaurant in Coco our lunch was very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billsaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOREST HILLS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch Seafood was average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Everyone we met was raving about how good the seafood was here. I love seafood and this was average and even lesser in terms of preparation and flavor than many places I frequent in New York. I got the grilled seafood plate which was not bad but not memorable either. THe grilled veggies and side of mashed potatoes where actually very good. The price was also not amazing and I felt we paid to much considering the overall dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cocoschneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tasty Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This place had very good seafood. I had dinner here Sept. 2013. Portion sizes were very good. Seasoned well. Service was on point. I would deinitely eat here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Papagayo Seafood also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Papagayo Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing