We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality and absolutely beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bahia Pez Vela Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm hospitality and absolutely beautiful!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I have been to Costa Rica twice and both times stayed at Bahia Pez Vela. The warm hospitality provided by the staff and help in planning our excursions made our trip so much more memorable and our villa had the most amazing view. Isabel was so helpful in organizing our day trips (snorkelling boat cruise, Adventure Day at Hacienda Guachipelin - Rincon de la Vieja) transportation to the airport and answered any questions we had. They made us feel right at home.

The villa was perfect for 6 of us and could have probably slept more. We used our big kitchen to make lots of our own meals and we had our own private pool (unique to some of the villas). The main pool was great as well especially with the poolside restaurant with local food and great service!

Such a memorable experience!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennPennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    15
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
75
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

One word described our trip.........PARADISE!!!!!
Right from check in with Modesta to Cesar and Laura at picante restaurant, all the staff were wonderful. And villa 10 was beautiful, right on the beach , right beside the pool and picante , you couldn't have it any better. We can't wait to go back again!!!!!!!!!! Pura vida !!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnson1to6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was our second stay at Bahia Pez Vela and it was great, as was the first one. The villas are large, clean, and makes you feel like you are at home. The restaurant is superb, the food is fresh and the staff is friendly and professional. We will continue going to Pez Vela as long as we can, will not change it for anything else in Guanacaste.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fab221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Best place we stayed during our vacation. We stayed in villa 9 which was awesome with a private pool. Villa 9 is in the second row on the end. It feels totally secluded which we loved. Nice big kitchen, two bedrooms with a view, one with a little deck. House was super clean. The private pool was totally worth a bit extra. Also had a washing machine. All the comforts of home away from home. A great value for 3 couples. The restaurant is pricy but great food. The shared pooled looked nice but there were loud kids in it when we were there so generally avoided it. The ocean is nice, we did some snorkeling off the shore. Can not recommend this place enough particularly Villa 9.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beikaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

First Costa Rica, Very clean, English spoken everywhere, you can get whatever you need for about the same price as the USA, You can buy duty free booze as you enter. (2 bottles Captain Morgan $14)
Next Playa Del Coco, Plenty of stores and shops and 2 large grocery stores. Only 30 minutes from airport. You should rent a car but get ready to be screwed by the car insurance. Very Clean. No beggars or hard sellers to bug you. Lots of good restaurants.
Next Bahia Pez Vela. Super secure. No stray people running around. A guard patrols at night just in case. We left dive gear lay around outside to dry all night. We left wallets and our computer lay around inside. We don't say you should be as careless as us but we didn't worry. HORTICULTURE! Wow flowers and plants everywhere. It is like the individual owners are trying to out do each other. The gardeners are genius'. You need a car to get there it is a 13 minute drive to Playa Del Coco. The restaurant there is nice but our favorites were in town. Condos 1, 2, 3, 4, were right on the beach. We stayed in 2 it was great. Everything you need. 3 bedrooms 3 baths. Great kitchen complete. Huge covered patio that you could sit outside in a storm. Gas grill. Inside CD's, movies, TV, Cold Air, Up to 8 beds.2 safes. Neatly decorated. This is one of the oldest condos but everything worked. The owners Eldon and Janis stop by to make sure everything is OK. Janis is a real sweetheart. But Eldon has some stories.
Condo # 1 has some bad reviews. Well it has a new owner and Verda and her husband remodeled the place head to toe. It is GORGEOUS. everything BRAND NEW. You will die and go to heaven when you go inside.
Condo # 4 has its own pool and the people staying there just loved it.
#3 was empty when we where there.
I'm going to end with the worst things. Weather 93 everyday 73 every night. The dark sand and even the concrete gets hot. Watch out for kids feet. We did not like the scuba diving here. Cold with bad Vis. The road to town at sundown is full of people and bikes that are hard to see. And fast taxis so slow down and look out.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deepdiverhermano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Perched on a small secluded black sand and shell beach. Although no beaches in Costa Rica are private, this one comes close. Great little hidden secret.

The beach is clean and the snorkeling is great, as are the tide pools.

We stayed in Villa 1 right next to the restaurant and pool. Very convenient and right on the ocean. The villa was large, modern inside, and had everything we needed including wifi.

The staff was great and had lots of ideas for activities in the area.

Thanks for a great time!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffR303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We arrived at Bahia Pez Vela quite a bit later at night than we expected, but luckily the management had dropped a key and directions off with the security personnel at the front gate. I did appreciate that as I was worried we wouldn't be able to get in after hours and hadn't called beforehand because of not having cell phone service.
Our villa was huge and much more space than we needed for two people. But the price was right and we did enjoy feeling at home there.
The location has its pros and cons. A big plus is the nice little black sand beach right at the foot of the villas that is only accessible at the development or by boat. It was great to roll out of bed in the morning and hike along the beach. At lower tide, you can actually make pretty far around the rock outcropping and we walked across a water covered point to a nearby cay. Most of the time, we didn't even encounter another person. But it is a little drive into town and definitely not walkable to any eateries, stores, attractions or much of anything at all beyond the onsite restaurant.
This seclusion also makes it difficult for those of us - (raises hand) - who didn't have the foresight to plan ahead. We came in exhausted after a multi-hour drive on windy, curvy roads and so hadn't had a chance to pick up anything for dinner on our way in expecting to grab a bit at the restaurant but it had already closed for the night. We were too tired to drive out so we went to bed completely hungry.
We enjoyed dining outside our villa but be aware the Magpie-Jays are a little out of control in the annoyance factor. We also had a raccoon pester us - quite creepily - for food in the outdoor dining at the restaurant. One morning we saw a coati sniffing around our villa and I was thrilled as I'd never seen one before. I also enjoyed hearing the holler monkeys in the morning.
An overnight storm knocked out the Internet and all WiFi connectivity on our first night there and it wasn't fixed until our last day. But we'd been traveling long before the 'net so we just made due the old fashioned way.
All in all a very memorable experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank truffle731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
8.1 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,549 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
187 reviews
6.2 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
330 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,261 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Pez Vela Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Pez Vela Resort

Property: Bahia Pez Vela Resort
Address: Playa Ocotal, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Pez Vela Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia Pez Vela Resort is located on a secluded bay on the Papagayo Gulf near Playa Ocotal, only 3 miles from Playas del Coco and about 30 minutes from the Liberia Airport.Our Resort has 40 privately owned Villas that are used for vacation rentals. We have both beach front and ocean view Villas, all are 3 bedroom, 21/2 bath, fully furnished with full kitchen plus laundry facilities. The Villa prices range from $240 to $750 depending on location, season, and amenities.Our Picante Restaurant is next to 3 of our 4 swimming pools that overlook the black sand beach and the bay. It is available for weddings, meetings and other special events.Bahia Pez Vela Resort features snorkeling in our bay, easy pick up for fishing tours and a convenient location for enjoying Guanacaste area attractions and tours.We are sure that our Resort is a perfect resource for you, your family & friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bahia Pez Vela Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Pez Vela Hotel Playas Del Coco
Bahia Pez Vela Resort Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing