We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful, modern, well-kept”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bahia Pez Vela Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed in Villa Pelicano, #10. The apartment itself was well-appointed, modern, and convenient to the beach, the pool and Picante. We very much enjoyed the grounds, having a beach and bay essentially to ourselves, and the food at Picante.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

This was our first time to Costa Rica. We stayed at two villas in Bahia Pez Vela... #1 and #33.

In general, Bahia Pez Vela is a beautiful resort if you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing place. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and everyday the grounds keepers are out and about maintaining it... very well maintained! The staff were very friendly, and Cesar, at the office, was extremely helpful. Picante, the restaurant, is right by the poolside, and open from noon every day. It was nice to be able to spend time at the pool, and still have convenient access to food and drinks (both very tasty). The next closest restaurants to Bahia Pez Vela are in Ocotal, just a 5 minute drive, where you will find another beachfront restaurant "Father Rooster"... a fun place to go for the evening. Bahia Pez Vela is about a 15 minute drive from Playas del Coco, where there are plenty of restaurants, grocery stores, bars/lounges, and souvenir shops.

Villa #1 is a beachfront property, very close to the main pool. It is newly renovated, and the furniture, inside and out, was very comfortable, the decor was very nice, warm and inviting, and the villa had everything we needed. It was nice to have quick access to the main pool and Picante. During our stay, there were hardly any other people. We almost felt like we had the beach and pool area to ourselves. We rented the villa through the owner, and it was such a pleasant experience... really nice people!

Villa #33 is in the upper level of Bahia Pez Vela villas. The ocean view from this villa was amazing, and the landscaping on this property was beautiful. The main pool is a steep 5-10 minute walk from this level, but there is another infinity pool on the same level, just a quick walk away. This villa was also beautifully decorated, and had all the comforts of home.

I highly recommend either of these villas.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RidaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I have been to Costa Rica twice and both times stayed at Bahia Pez Vela. The warm hospitality provided by the staff and help in planning our excursions made our trip so much more memorable and our villa had the most amazing view. Isabel was so helpful in organizing our day trips (snorkelling boat cruise, Adventure Day at Hacienda Guachipelin - Rincon de la Vieja) transportation to the airport and answered any questions we had. They made us feel right at home.

The villa was perfect for 6 of us and could have probably slept more. We used our big kitchen to make lots of our own meals and we had our own private pool (unique to some of the villas). The main pool was great as well especially with the poolside restaurant with local food and great service!

Such a memorable experience!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennPennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

One word described our trip.........PARADISE!!!!!
Right from check in with Modesta to Cesar and Laura at picante restaurant, all the staff were wonderful. And villa 10 was beautiful, right on the beach , right beside the pool and picante , you couldn't have it any better. We can't wait to go back again!!!!!!!!!! Pura vida !!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnson1to6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was our second stay at Bahia Pez Vela and it was great, as was the first one. The villas are large, clean, and makes you feel like you are at home. The restaurant is superb, the food is fresh and the staff is friendly and professional. We will continue going to Pez Vela as long as we can, will not change it for anything else in Guanacaste.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fab221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Best place we stayed during our vacation. We stayed in villa 9 which was awesome with a private pool. Villa 9 is in the second row on the end. It feels totally secluded which we loved. Nice big kitchen, two bedrooms with a view, one with a little deck. House was super clean. The private pool was totally worth a bit extra. Also had a washing machine. All the comforts of home away from home. A great value for 3 couples. The restaurant is pricy but great food. The shared pooled looked nice but there were loud kids in it when we were there so generally avoided it. The ocean is nice, we did some snorkeling off the shore. Can not recommend this place enough particularly Villa 9.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beikaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

First Costa Rica, Very clean, English spoken everywhere, you can get whatever you need for about the same price as the USA, You can buy duty free booze as you enter. (2 bottles Captain Morgan $14)
Next Playa Del Coco, Plenty of stores and shops and 2 large grocery stores. Only 30 minutes from airport. You should rent a car but get ready to be screwed by the car insurance. Very Clean. No beggars or hard sellers to bug you. Lots of good restaurants.
Next Bahia Pez Vela. Super secure. No stray people running around. A guard patrols at night just in case. We left dive gear lay around outside to dry all night. We left wallets and our computer lay around inside. We don't say you should be as careless as us but we didn't worry. HORTICULTURE! Wow flowers and plants everywhere. It is like the individual owners are trying to out do each other. The gardeners are genius'. You need a car to get there it is a 13 minute drive to Playa Del Coco. The restaurant there is nice but our favorites were in town. Condos 1, 2, 3, 4, were right on the beach. We stayed in 2 it was great. Everything you need. 3 bedrooms 3 baths. Great kitchen complete. Huge covered patio that you could sit outside in a storm. Gas grill. Inside CD's, movies, TV, Cold Air, Up to 8 beds.2 safes. Neatly decorated. This is one of the oldest condos but everything worked. The owners Eldon and Janis stop by to make sure everything is OK. Janis is a real sweetheart. But Eldon has some stories.
Condo # 1 has some bad reviews. Well it has a new owner and Verda and her husband remodeled the place head to toe. It is GORGEOUS. everything BRAND NEW. You will die and go to heaven when you go inside.
Condo # 4 has its own pool and the people staying there just loved it.
#3 was empty when we where there.
I'm going to end with the worst things. Weather 93 everyday 73 every night. The dark sand and even the concrete gets hot. Watch out for kids feet. We did not like the scuba diving here. Cold with bad Vis. The road to town at sundown is full of people and bikes that are hard to see. And fast taxis so slow down and look out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deepdiverhermano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
8.1 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,617 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
2.9 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Panama
728 reviews
6.2 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Pez Vela Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Pez Vela Resort

Address: Playa Ocotal, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range: £207 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Pez Vela Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia Pez Vela Resort is located on a secluded bay on the Papagayo Gulf near Playa Ocotal, only 3 miles from Playas del Coco and about 30 minutes from the Liberia Airport.Our Resort has 40 privately owned Villas that are used for vacation rentals. We have both beach front and ocean view Villas, all are 3 bedroom, 21/2 bath, fully furnished with full kitchen plus laundry facilities. The Villa prices range from $240 to $750 depending on location, season, and amenities.Our Picante Restaurant is next to 3 of our 4 swimming pools that overlook the black sand beach and the bay. It is available for weddings, meetings and other special events.Bahia Pez Vela Resort features snorkeling in our bay, easy pick up for fishing tours and a convenient location for enjoying Guanacaste area attractions and tours.We are sure that our Resort is a perfect resource for you, your family & friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Bahia Pez Vela Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Pez Vela Hotel Playas Del Coco
Bahia Pez Vela Resort Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing