We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect balance of privacy, paradise and conveniences”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bahia Pez Vela Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Bahia Pez Vela in general was the perfect spot for us (family with two young kids). Very private beach with few visitors compared to so many, safe for swimming and snorkeling (Clean. The resort is made up of a cluster of villas with very well kept grounds, a very convenient restaurant, Picante, serving excellent food, and pools. Cesar in the office was a pleasure to work with and all staff were courteous and helpful. The landscaping, villas, pools and restaurant are very well maintained and it's simply paradise.

While the resort has a very private feel, it also offers easy access to Coco (with lots of restaurants, shops and grocery stores) as well as the main Ocotal beach (restaurant such as Father Roosters, scuba diving shop, fishing, etc.) For us it was the best of both worlds--proximity to conveniences when we wanted them yet a private, clean and safe area to relax and enjoy. I love to travel and even when I love a place I often don't return as there are so many other places to enjoy and see, but I do want to return here.

We had a car and felt we needed one to take advantage of everything the area has to offer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Our unit (19) had a great view of the bay, and ocean beyond, and was a short walk to the pool and restaurant. The resort is very quiet. These are owner occupied units, so they vary in appearance. It's more of condo living than a resort, which for our family of four, was perfect. We shopped in Coco at the grocery store, went out there to eat once or twice, but otherwise, cooked on our patio overlooking the water. You'll have to create your outings, or use the staff at the resort to do so for you; there is nothing within 10 minutes of the units, so you are staying away from it all. The views, and slow pace, was to our liking, but might not be for all. I would bring snorkel gear of my own next time, and fishing fear, too.Oh, and the pool: to die for, with its views and quite. All in all: paradise, and it will be a regular stop for us in the future.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank CGOTRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Private beach is black sand with tide pools in the morning that catch shells and critters. There were never many people around somehow! The monkeys however are everywhere and carry on early morning conversations.

We were a family of 7 and stayed in #14, an end unit with our own small pool. We were pleased to find a grill and used it 3 nights. The pool was great for our 8 and 11 year old kids. We had wanted an ocean front unit, but think this unit was perfect, just a short walk to the beach and to reception desk.

The food is spectacular at the Picante restaurant and reasonably priced. We ate lunch there and one dinner.

The woman (I didn't get her name) at reception was wonderful, finding us a boat trip, a rental car and horse back riding place.

We bought groceries and shopped in town. A great way to go with a group.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmbennington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Just returned from a week at this resort staying in unit #36. Beautiful resort, with immaculately kept grounds and very attentive staff. Nice and quiet as not many units. Private beach is wonderful. Pool area is spacious and well maintained.
Absolutely best feature is the Picante restaurant. Food is absolutely amazing with a menu that caters to those of seeking more of the local food, and those wanting the safe "american" choices. Cesar the bartender / waiter is wonderful.

Certainly would recommend having your own car if staying here. Taxis can be summoned, but much easier to drive yourself.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed in Villa Pelicano, #10. The apartment itself was well-appointed, modern, and convenient to the beach, the pool and Picante. We very much enjoyed the grounds, having a beach and bay essentially to ourselves, and the food at Picante.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This was our first time to Costa Rica. We stayed at two villas in Bahia Pez Vela... #1 and #33.

In general, Bahia Pez Vela is a beautiful resort if you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing place. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and everyday the grounds keepers are out and about maintaining it... very well maintained! The staff were very friendly, and Cesar, at the office, was extremely helpful. Picante, the restaurant, is right by the poolside, and open from noon every day. It was nice to be able to spend time at the pool, and still have convenient access to food and drinks (both very tasty). The next closest restaurants to Bahia Pez Vela are in Ocotal, just a 5 minute drive, where you will find another beachfront restaurant "Father Rooster"... a fun place to go for the evening. Bahia Pez Vela is about a 15 minute drive from Playas del Coco, where there are plenty of restaurants, grocery stores, bars/lounges, and souvenir shops.

Villa #1 is a beachfront property, very close to the main pool. It is newly renovated, and the furniture, inside and out, was very comfortable, the decor was very nice, warm and inviting, and the villa had everything we needed. It was nice to have quick access to the main pool and Picante. During our stay, there were hardly any other people. We almost felt like we had the beach and pool area to ourselves. We rented the villa through the owner, and it was such a pleasant experience... really nice people!

Villa #33 is in the upper level of Bahia Pez Vela villas. The ocean view from this villa was amazing, and the landscaping on this property was beautiful. The main pool is a steep 5-10 minute walk from this level, but there is another infinity pool on the same level, just a quick walk away. This villa was also beautifully decorated, and had all the comforts of home.

I highly recommend either of these villas.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RidaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I have been to Costa Rica twice and both times stayed at Bahia Pez Vela. The warm hospitality provided by the staff and help in planning our excursions made our trip so much more memorable and our villa had the most amazing view. Isabel was so helpful in organizing our day trips (snorkelling boat cruise, Adventure Day at Hacienda Guachipelin - Rincon de la Vieja) transportation to the airport and answered any questions we had. They made us feel right at home.

The villa was perfect for 6 of us and could have probably slept more. We used our big kitchen to make lots of our own meals and we had our own private pool (unique to some of the villas). The main pool was great as well especially with the poolside restaurant with local food and great service!

Such a memorable experience!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennPennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
2.9 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
346 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
8.1 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,608 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Pez Vela Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Pez Vela Resort

Address: Playa Ocotal, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range: £238 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Pez Vela Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia Pez Vela Resort is located on a secluded bay on the Papagayo Gulf near Playa Ocotal, only 3 miles from Playas del Coco and about 30 minutes from the Liberia Airport.Our Resort has 40 privately owned Villas that are used for vacation rentals. We have both beach front and ocean view Villas, all are 3 bedroom, 21/2 bath, fully furnished with full kitchen plus laundry facilities. The Villa prices range from $240 to $750 depending on location, season, and amenities.Our Picante Restaurant is next to 3 of our 4 swimming pools that overlook the black sand beach and the bay. It is available for weddings, meetings and other special events.Bahia Pez Vela Resort features snorkeling in our bay, easy pick up for fishing tours and a convenient location for enjoying Guanacaste area attractions and tours.We are sure that our Resort is a perfect resource for you, your family & friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Bahia Pez Vela Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Pez Vela Hotel Playas Del Coco
Bahia Pez Vela Resort Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing