We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cute little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very cute little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

This place is a great place to stay in Coco. It's just the right size (small, but not too small - maybe 12 rooms?), has really nice grounds (an a private porch out the front of each room) and a nice pool. Location is perfect (close enough to walk to the main street, but far enough away to be quiet) and good service from the owners / staff. It's also kept very clean.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dylan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    41
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
75
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in this beautiful hotel for five nights with a diving trip planned through Deep Blue Diving company. The hotel was perfect because it was off the main street but only a five minute walk away from all the restaurants and shopping and a two minute walk from the beach where we met with the dive boat each morning. Our room was spacious with a big shower, comfortable bed, and excellent air conditioner. The grounds were gorgeously manicured and the pool was very inviting. Breakfast provided every morning was hot and delicious- the perfect prep before diving along with authentic Costa Rican coffee (not just instant). The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. They provided a map of the area and identified recommendations for restaurants (which all turned out to be excellent) and a great place to do zip-lining!!! I would highly recommend this hotel again and plan on staying there again when we return to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leachk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

La Puerta del Sol was the perfect hotel to stay at while my wife and I visited Playas del Coco on our honeymoon. We chose the hotel after reading a good review about it in our travel book and planned on only staying one night. A week later, we had spent our entire honeymoon there and were heading back to the States.

Their breakfast is amazing and they set us up with a great tour guide agency (Shaman Tours), who picked us up at the hotel every day and took us all over Costa Rica. The staff and owners are very, very friendly and they helped us out so much throughout the week. The garden and the pool are great and it is only about a 5 minute walk to the beach. It is also tucked away from the main street so it is very quiet at night and during the day, but is still an easy walk to get downtown. We were very lucky to stay at La Puerta del Sol and will definitely stay there again whenever we travel back to Coco.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka KS
Level Contributor
173 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

I stayed here as part of a dive & hotel package arranged by Deep Blue Diving, and couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel is lovely, situated off a quiet side street, and surrounded by beautiful gardens. The rooms were spacious, and included a small frig, coffee maker, security safe, and a semi-private veranda just steps from the pool. The bathroom had a large shower, with plenty of hot water and good water pressure, and the room had very good lighting, plenty of electrical outlets, a ceiling fan, excellent a/c, and yes, free WiFi.

The breakfast was the same each day, but it was more than adequate, and service was gracious and friendly. The fresh pineapple and papaya were particular favorites.

The resident cats kept us entertained, and we enjoyed watching the howler monkeys scampering in the distant treetops (no worries -- the hotel grounds are well-protected from marauding primates).

The service at the hotel was terrific; Elizabeth happily helped us arrange a day of zip-lining and white-water rafting, and she gave us some spot-on recommendations for local restaurants.

The hotel is a short walk from the beach, where we joined the dive boat each day. If you're diving with Deep Blue, Hotel La Puerta del Sol is the perfect choice, and I give it an unqualified recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reefwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We where in the suite, a bit more expensive than the others but it was the only one available. It was totally worthy!! We spend a lot of time in the swimming pool and seeing a nice bird and a squirrell that were fighting in one of the trees around the pool. We spend very good time there!

Room Tip: The suite is expensive, but it is really great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lunashiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
176 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

We came here while in CR spending time with family that lives in San Jose.
Hotel is small and cozy.
Nice owners and mellow dogs.
Hotel is close to some awesome beaches and some good places to eat.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hortkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

We stayed at the Puerta del Sol for three nights, diving with the Deep Blue Divers. The hotel is situated in a beautiful garden with a small swimming pool. It is situated in a little side street so that you have a quiet night but can reach the mainstreet by foot in less than 5 minutes. The rooms are very nicely decorated and individual as well as spaciuos and well equipped. Breakfast was good and the hosts, an italian couple, very friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy_Niko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
0.3 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Chantel
Hotel Chantel
#3 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
#7 of 11 in Playas del Coco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
4.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Puerta del Sol

Property: Hotel La Puerta del Sol
Address: La Chorrera | 200 mts. este del Lizard 75 sur, Playas del Coco 50503, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at 30 minutes from Liberia International airport, 100 meters of the beach.Our place is special for rest and relaxing,we are close to restaurants and shops.Swimming pool, gym, tropical garden, free parking, 24 hours security, Wi - fi connection. The rooms have small living room and private terrace, and are equipped with: Hot water, cable TV, Air conditioned, ceiling fan, safe box, refrigerator, Coffee maker. Only no smoking rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Puerta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Puerta Del Sol Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing