We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playas del Coco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rancho Armadillo Estate
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Camas, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

from the moment I got out of the car and was greeted by Rick, owner and operator of Armadillo, I was instantly welcomed and immediately felt right at home. The amount of information and concierge services he offers his guests far surpass many of the high end resorts I have stayed at in the past. The accomodations are island rustic, comfortable, colorful casitas surrounded by views of the ocean, flowering trees and sculptures/art in every nook your eyes glance to. The multitude of bird species was a constant delight, and the breezes that visit the property every day really help with the humidity and heat you endure in town. The staff is amazing- long time emplyed by Rick, their quality and dedication to their duties, represent their love for the property and all those who visit. I personally felt like I was leaving my new family when I departed, and can't wait to visit again next December. Rick's recommendations of restaurants, points of interest and places to visit are spot on- no guess work needed, and whether you are looking to do the "tourist" thing, or simply want a REAL local Costa Rica encounter, his suggestions will enhance all of your adventures. If you want the best of Coco Beach, I highly recommend this to be your hacienda- quiet and comfortable, with the hustle and bustle just 3 minutes down the hill. Rancho Armadillo's attention to detail, and the individual needs of their guests, is far superior than I expected, and I thank all of you for making my first trip to Costa Rica one of the most memerable vacations I have ever had-see you next year!!

Room Tip: be sure to tell Rick if you have special needs- he will place you in a room that bests suits you
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
91
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, il
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

We were lucky enough that when our airline changed our tickets, they gave us an extra night in Costa Rica. So, we wanted to move closer to the airport, but still be near the coast, and Rick's place - Rancho Armadillo - was perfect! The location was close to Ocotal and Coco, so that we had a nice easy dinner and shopping in Coco that evening, and managed an early-morning snorkel at Ocotal, before a leisure breakfast and easy trip to the airport. This small, charming place was totally accomodating, and had an outstanding view of the Pacific. Our group of 7, totally loved our brief visit, and will definitely stay with Rick again, on our next trip.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are equally good, and Rick will help put you in the best one for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rokubanlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We (a couple in our 30s/40s) stayed at Rancho Armadillo Estates in early Sept 2012, and discovered the real reason that this place is rated so highly.

It’s not the room we stayed in, which was very nice, with a king-sized bed, exposed wood ceiling, big flatscreen, huge shower, refrigerator, coffeemaker, good wifi access (rare to get such good bandwidth in CR).

It’s not the amazing view of Coco and the sea from the restaurant/pool terrace in the mornings, or the even better view from the chillout terrace at the highest point of the resort.

It’s not the excellent breakfast that was included in the room rate.

It’s not the nice, clean pool, nor is it even the excellent security and tranquility of the place.

Rancho Armadillo has all those things, but what makes it really special is the owner/manager, the American expat Rick Vogel, and the attention he gives to guests. We’ll just summarize by noting that Rick provided us with helpful information and assistance, to a degree that we don’t expect to find elsewhere, ever.

On the hotel website, Rick notes that: “We create an atmosphere so that our guests feel like they're coming to visit friends who have a really nice place to stay. From your first contact with us we will assist you in planning your entire stay in Costa Rica, not just your Rancho Armadillo Estate portion of your trip.” This is true. However, Rick seems to do this not because it’s a business strategy--he could make lots more money simply by expanding his resort--but because he genuinely enjoys helping people.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Wanderers-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinesburg, Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed at Rancho Armadillo on the first half of our Costa Rica vacation, and I am not sure that I have ever been so happy with a lodging pick in all of my travels. The grounds were beautiful and the loft overlooking the pool and with a view of the bay was the perfect setting to relax and soak in Costa Rica. Our room was well kept, comfortable, and large (though the draw of Costa Rica in general and the outdoors at Rancho Armadillo meant that little time was spent in the room). All of these aspects met my expectations, but what set's Rancho Armadillo apart is the customer service that Rick provides. Rick is always checking to make sure you have the information that you need to have a wonderful meal, activity filled day, or just a great time. He knows each of the restaurants in town and takes the time to hear your likes/dislikes/special concerns to make suggestions that will really ensure your best experience. He similarly knows the various places to visit in Guanacaste and gives you a true and honest assessment of what the activities entail and the positives and negatives of each. He is happy to call ahead to both restaurants and activities to make sure that his guests are treated well when they arrive. I feel very confident in saying that I have never come across another establishment of any kind that provided the level of customer service that Rick did on our trip. I would recommend Rancho Armadillo to anybody that is traveling to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hmelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

First let me say that Rick is more knowledgeable about what to do and where to eat than any other travel person we have ever worked with. Our family stayed at Rancho Armadillo in two rooms. Both were clean and comfortable. His estate is beautiful, breakfast delicious and every suggestion exactly as he says it. We went to Guatil for pottery, surfed at Lola's, an went diving locally. Spectacular. Rick is the best host and even lets you cook in the kitchen if you like.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

A stunningly set ranch, just far enough from Playas de Coco to be private. The grounds are amazing, the pool nice and private and the rooms huge and very well decorated. Rick, the owner, is a warm and welcoming character who gives you the grand tour, including the book to note you pool drinks in. A place still run on the honor system, wonderful. After staying in a few nice places in Santa Teresa, this was a good end to the vacation.
Near the pool is a kitchen you can use, huge open air covered dining areas, an iPad with thousands of songs (no hip hop) and a deck with hammocks to lazy the afternoon away in. There is a Skype phone and wifi throughout the property. Compared to the corporate type resort we stayed in the first night we were in Coco, this place felt like home.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We had spent 10 days in Santa Teresa/Mal Pais and had an midday flight out of Liberia. Given that it is a rough 5 hour drive, I didn't want to drive all of the way from Santa Teresa the same morning we flew. However, instead of staying at the airport hotel, we drove the extra 20 minutes to Playas del Coco to stay at Rancho Armadillo. This may have been the best decision of our entire trip! First of all, the property is simply spectacular. The rooms are terrific, the grounds are simply gorgeous, and the pool/breakfast area has the very best views in the area. In addition, we arrived in enough time to do the best zipline tour we have ever done and still have a beautiful dinner in town. The next morning we enjoyed the wonderful breakfast, walked on the beach for a while, and then headed to the airport (where the food is WAY too expensive, by the way!). As virtually everyone else has said, the owner Rick is terrific. He is a great host and was very helpful from the time of booking through our visit. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
0.0 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Chantel
Hotel Chantel
#2 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
#4 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
7.7 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
#8 of 11 in Playas del Coco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Armadillo Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Armadillo Estate

Property: Rancho Armadillo Estate
Address: Playas del Coco, Playas del Coco 5019, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Armadillo Estate, a small private mountainside estate overlooking the Gulf of Papagayo. The estate is perfect for couples, families or groups. Our guests feel like they're coming to visit friends who have a really nice place to stay. Our knowledge of Costa Rica ensures our guests experience the best Costa Rica has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rancho Armadillo Estate Hotel Playas Del Coco
Rancho Armadillo Estate Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing