We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal Attention at It's Utmost”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playas del Coco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rancho Armadillo Estate
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Rancho Armadillo is everything wonderful that all the other reviewers have said about it. It's all a result, I believe, of the relationships that Rick has with his guests, his employees, and the Playa del Coco community. Rooms are spotless because he treats those who work with him with great respect. Guests benefit from his knowledge of restaurants and sightseeing spots and his connections with the people who run them. For example, our family, totaling 8 ranging in age from 10 months to over 70, was planning to head to a beach restaurant one day but Rick received an email from the owner saying it was closed for a private party, so we were able to avoid the useless trip there and go the following day. An adventuresome guest traveling by herself ended up chaperoning a school trip at Rick's suggestion, and during it she went zip-lining, which she had previously said she absolutely wouldn't do. One thing to keep in mind is that Rancho Armadillo is not, nor does it claim to be, a beach vacation. There are certainly beaches nearby, but that is not the primary focus, it's not a step-out-your-door-onto-the-sand place. It is, however, a wake-up-to-the calls-of-the-howler-monkeys vacation. The pool is relaxing, the sun is intense, the restaurants are good, the town an interesting mix of bicyclists, pedestrians and dogs all wandering about in the middle of the streets, tourist shops, ex-pats and locals, American-style and Costa-Rican style stores. The only downside was leaving!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cmw2117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

We spent 6 nights at Rancho Armadillo and absolutely loved it. The location is close to Playa del Coco's beach and restaurants, but just far enough away to enjoy quiet evenings around the rancho and pool. We enjoyed watching a variety of colorful birds and howler monkeys. The property has a nice view of the ocean with great sunsets. The main reason to stay at Rancho is Rick, the owner who is an amiable host and guide. He has a wealth of information on directions, attractions, and is eager to help make the most of your stay. One exceptionally clear evening, he set up an impressive telescope for the guests to look at Jupiter and the stars. Every morning, he personally prepares breakfast and chalks up great conversation about places to visit (or avoid) all while pointing out the bird species. Rancho Armadillo is convenient to Palo Verde, Rincon, Guatil Pottery, zip lines, and many other sites. It's less than 30 minutes from the Liberia Airport, and Rick is great with directions. I highly recommend Rancho Armadillo if you want to explore the Guanacaste area. We miss Rick already!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueRidgeTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 3 night stay - wished we would have had longer! This property has amazing views and all the amenities of home. Rick the owner really does it right! The rooms are rustic and charming- very clean. Showers are great! Breakfast was a highlight everyday- between the fresh breads and waffles and views - perfection! The pool was soo serene and actually this property and pool beat the beaches everyday! Playa Coco beach not very impressive and tourist town but fun to walk through. Soo happy we stayed at Rancho Armadillo and had Ricks recommendations for food and tours- he was spot on! Ate at Villa Italia and Los Olas- both great!! Waterfalls are a must. Rick will give you directions to anywhere you want to go although his property with soo many different species of birds and spectacular views and howler monkey visits was most appealing to us! Has had same staff for years and felt very safe on property.
Our last night had Rick as our chef upon request- ate with another wonderful couple we met staying there- and it was soo delicious and relaxing and a perfect ending to a perfect stay. I even got to see and feed a coati that occasionally visits!!! This hotel is a must for anyone who loves nature and relaxation and is not into loud rap music! Thank you Rick for your hospitality and being such a great host!! Hope our new friends have a great wedding - the pics will be stunning!! We will definitely be back someday!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papale10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We've just had the BEST HOLIDAY ever. Perfect location and excellent host. Rick has the rare ability to understand exactly what you need for your dream holiday just before you've figured it out yourself. Rick provides recommendations of amazing places to eat in Coco and BUT the best kept secret is when he does dinner. Can't stop talking about it. This morning at home we are dreaming about the breakfast waffle bar, fresh fruit and local coffee. Another great thing is all of his other guests get on so well with one another. It really felt like we were staying at a friends amazing place with 5 star service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joerepublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Rick Vogel provides a serene setting to park yourself for a Guanacoste vacation. A short trip from the airport (making vacation start soon) brings you to a quiet perch overlooking the sea. Rick is a wonderful host -- never in the way, but always available to give advice as to how to find the things you like most to do.

The estate is very tranquil. The rooms are not "plush" -- simply comfortable, clean, and "non-sterile". Our 5 stars comes from the stars Rick shows you through his telescope, the affection and knowledge he has of, CR, and his willingness to figure out how to get you to whatever places you want to be.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we pretty much planned it on our own. Glad we listened to the reviews on Trip Advisor and went with Rancho Armadillo because our trip was perfect! No, Rancho Armadillo isn't a luxury resort but if you want to experience Costa Rica in its "Pura Vida" form, this spot is the way to do it. Rick is AWESOME! On the first day he sat with us to chat about what we wanted to get out of our trip. He gave us some great suggestions and every morning greeted us with an itinerary and directions ( not to mention a smorgasbord of fresh fruit, smoothies and coffee) to help make our adventures a little bit easier to conquer and enjoy:) It was such a great way to experience our first vacation here. The grounds are quiet and peaceful - there are other guests of course, but everyone pretty much does their own thing. The hammocks are great for relaxing and to enjoy the sunsets and sounds of the monkeys and birds that surround you:) We also had in-room massages that were amazing and super REASONABLE! Overall, this trip was great and we were so bummed to leave! Hopefully we get back to Costa Rica and Rancho Armadillo soon!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katers58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Rancho Armadillo is a "Low key" friendly spot where the owner truly looks after you. He is a professional chef and knows food. He also understands people so he makes good recommendations. It is not a deluxe property, but the view and friendliness make up for it. We stayed for 3 nights and had a very nice time of it. Rick not only recommended where to go, but kindly drove us to the destinations. He also recommended a masseuse who gave us each a wonderful massage on the terrace as the birds sang. The property is clean and well cared for. The staff seems to be happy to be employed there. All in all, it was a "Feel Good" experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IrisColumbia_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
0.0 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
344 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
189 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
#7 of 11 in Playas del Coco
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Chantel Suites
Hotel Chantel Suites
#3 of 11 in Playas del Coco
152 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
#5 of 11 in Playas del Coco
155 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Armadillo Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Armadillo Estate

Address: Playas del Coco, Playas del Coco 5019, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range: £128 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Armadillo Estate, a small private mountainside estate overlooking the Gulf of Papagayo. The estate is perfect for couples, families or groups. Our guests feel like they're coming to visit friends who have a really nice place to stay. Our knowledge of Costa Rica ensures our guests experience the best Costa Rica has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rancho Armadillo Estate Hotel Playas Del Coco
Rancho Armadillo Estate Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing