We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You cannot find a more attentive host”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playas del Coco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rancho Armadillo Estate
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, MA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You cannot find a more attentive host”
Reviewed 5 December 2009

Beautiful view. Charming rooms. Great pool area with excellent hammock reading spot . The most attentive, knowledgeable, eager-to-help-in-any-way-possible host on the planet. If Rick and this place don't put you at ease, you can't be put at ease. Highly recommended. I like big iguanas guarding the walkway to my room but if your wife is as squeamish about such things as mine is, take that into consideration. She loved it, except for the critters around. But if, like me, that's part of what you go to Costa Rica for, it's yet another plus. And it's a great value on top of all that. Oh, and free wireless internet everywhere.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenFors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
92
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2009

This wasn't my first trip to costa rica, nor was it my first trip to rancho armadillo. i love it. the breakfasts are great, now with the addition of a waffle maker... rick is great. he will help you in any way you need. a great center location for day trips, trips out on the water, zip cording or just going into town. If you get a chance, ask him to turn off all the lights on the property one night, you will sit in awe of the stars. more stars than you have ever seen... just lean back, count the shooting stars, and wish on them that your trip never ends.

i will be back.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagopuravida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Stayed at Rancho Armadillo for 5 nights as part of a Costa Rica tour. Chose Playas del Coco for the diving above all and dived every day with Rich Coast Diving. Rancho Armadillo is gorgeous, set back from the town, very tranquil with beautiful sea views and lovely gardens. Very nice breakfasts and a chilled atmosphere.

Rick is what makes Rancho Armadillo special. What a lovely guy. He is so committed to making sure you have a great time from the moment you get in touch with him by email. His suggestions and recommendations are first rate and he really goes out of his way to look after your every need whether its showing the kids the roosting bats, pointing out interesting bugs, showing you Jupiter through the telescope, picking you fresh mangoes or recommending a good restaurant.

Can't recommend this place highly enough. A very peaceful end to our holiday.

Rich Coast Diving also come highly recommended although exercise caution if diving with younger children as some of the local dive sites have reasonably strong currents at times.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devizes64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2009

We just got back from Costa Rica and enjoyed our stay at Rancho Armadillo near Coco beach. The owner Rick is very helpful and actually helped me plan not just our stay at his place but also the rest of our Costa Rica visit which included La Fortuna and Manuel Antonio. We rented a car in La Fortuna and drove to Rancho Armadillo not a bad drive and Rick can help with directions. We did the zipline and snorkeling trip activities while during our stay which are close by and again Rick can help with the activities. I will say the zipline near his place is less than half the cost of other ziplines and very fun, you get to play with the monkeys afterward a plus. We also took a snorkeling boat trip which was one of the better snorkeling trips I have been on due to the guides. The Rancho Armadillo is very close to coco beach and there is a wide variety of restaurants to choose from. Highly recommend the Rancho Armadillo.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippy200922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulYak2
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

If it were possible to give a place six stars, this place would get it! We made our
reservation here based on the fact it was highly regarded on Trip Advisory, and
the reviews there couldn't have been more accurate. Rick basically planned our entire
itinerary (he suggested the places to go and activities to do.) The only problem with
his plan, was that it didn't have enough time at his ranch!
From the activities he arranged, all the e-mails with directions and restaurants to the
friendly and delicious meals and good conversation, this place has it all.
Overall, we stayed at four different places in Costa Rica, and this was by far
the best place we stayed.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulYak2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2009

We stayed at Rancho Armadillo April 2-5/09 and it is our favourite accommodation of all that we have stayed in over the past 3 years. With only 7 units, it has an intimate homey feel, without being claustrophobic. The rooms are a good size, furnished in upscale rustic style with lots of tile and tropical wood. The property overlooks Playa del Coco from a hillside just outside town. The owner, Rick, goes out of his way to an impressive degree to take care of his customers. He got up at 4:30 AM to knock on our door to make sure we didn't miss our early am flight. He was genuinely interested in helping us plan our days, with recommendations for everything from volcanoe trails to restaurants. We usually tend to keep to ourselves when travelling, but there was such a great vibe at this place that everyone chose to hang around the pool at night, comparing notes on the day's adventures and telling stories. Rick has created the perfect atmosphere, one that makes everyone feel relaxed and "tranquilla".

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraveladdictToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

I had a great time at Rancho Armadillo. If you're going to be staying here it is nice to have a car as it is a hike into town, and if you want to see the rest of the beaches around this area it is a good thing to have. The room was quaint, had all the amenities I wanted, even a nice fridge. The shower was large and very nice. I would not reccomend this place if you don't like bugs, there were giant spiders, army ants, and some other nasties around quite often. You get used to them after a few nights though. With that being said, we also saw monkies, iguana, and tons of pretty birds there.The pool was very nice and the breakfast even better.... it was the best breakfast I had in Costa Rica, with homemade waffles! Yummy!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wascana4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
0.0 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Chantel
Hotel Chantel
#3 of 11 in Playas del Coco
151 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
#7 of 11 in Playas del Coco
276 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
4.8 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Armadillo Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Armadillo Estate

Property: Rancho Armadillo Estate
Address: Playas del Coco, Playas del Coco 5019, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Armadillo Estate, a small private mountainside estate overlooking the Gulf of Papagayo. The estate is perfect for couples, families or groups. Our guests feel like they're coming to visit friends who have a really nice place to stay. Our knowledge of Costa Rica ensures our guests experience the best Costa Rica has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rancho Armadillo Estate Hotel Playas Del Coco
Rancho Armadillo Estate Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing