We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rancho Armadillo Estate
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Coco Palms(Playas del Coco)(Great Value!)
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Buena Onda(Playas del Coco)
US$682
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$499
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino(Playas del Coco)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bahia Pez Vela Resort(Playas del Coco)
US$329
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Loft Apart-Hotel(Playas del Coco)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Puerta del Sol(Playas del Coco)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Savannah(Playas del Coco)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Chantel Suites(Playas del Coco)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
181
14
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
14
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownercosta ricahowler monkeysfresh fruitplace to stayrustic charmevery morninglocal excursionssurrounding jungleafter reading all the great reviewsentire itinerarylocal flora and faunacinnamon rollsbed and breakfastnight staypersonal conciergezip lining
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2007

All the superlatives from previous reviews are true! We spent some of our honeymoon at Rancho Armadillo, and had an incredible time. One of the best things about it is the friendly atmosphere, which is all due to Rick, the owner. He spends time with and gets to know his guests, and helps the guests to get to know each other. He'll even help you plan your trip before you go, and gives great advice! He directed us to some less-touristy and very worthwhile activities. The grounds are very pretty, and the rooms comfortable. We'd go back in a second!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CABayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2007

Staying at Rancho Armadillo is like being invited by a friend of a friend who cannot wait to make sure you will have a terrific time. We spent Christmas week with our two young adult children and Rick went out of his way to make sure we had an enjoyable and interesting time. He made special enquiries to find out where we could join the locals for midnight mass and bull riding fiestas and recommended a number of tours that turned out to be fun and good value.
With only six rooms, and Ricks diligence in introducing all guests to eachother as well as his love and knowledge of the country, it felt intimate and not at all like a hotel.
The views and natural beauty of the estate only add to the intimate and lush atmosphere.

The Janka family,
Washington, DC.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amerloque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2007

Look no further because this is the place to stay. Rick treated us like family, he is very knowledgeable about where to eat and what to see. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the grounds are meticulously kept. Just a beautiful place to stay. A word of advice, rent a 4 wheel drive vehicle, or you'll miss some great beaches to see.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Harleyguyatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2006

Well, this place is very nice. The owners are so friendly and helpful. The meals he made were very good. The room was very clean. The property has a great view. The flowers are very pretty. So there, we just plain liked it. The price was very affordable. It is a good central location. I may add some pics later. Go there and enjoy the peace!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpikerFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
evanston (chicago), illinois
15
Reviewed 22 April 2006

Staying at Rancho Armadillo is a terrific way to experience this region of Costa Rica. Rick provides advice, information and assistance for activities that are all right on the money. He's an exceptional host. The estate is gorgeous, breakfasts are wonderful, pool is lovely, you really feel like you're staying at a friend's home. This is a terrific place to bring teenagers, as there's a ton of stuff for them to do (ziplining, white water rafting, hiking, snorkelling, etc.). By all means arrange for Rick to cook dinner for you at least once. Make sure you go to Sol y Luna, the Italian restaurant in town - homemade pasta - we went twice. Tarantula hunting, coati feeding, searching for fruit bats on the underside of the palm fronds every morning, listening to the iguanas scurry across the roof, and sharing the pool bathroom with a little tree frog or two...what a totally cool place to spend a week!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews