We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Good price and the best location!! Very clean and a nice pool area. The restaurant is ok but a rooms are new and a very clean.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed two nights at Coco Beach Hotel coming from the southern part of the Nicoya peninsula. Let me tell you this hotel was a welcoming oasis of commercial as well as human activity. There are paved roads and very little dust compared to places like Santa Teresa, Mal Pais and Nosara. There are numerous restaurants, bars, souvenir shops, bike and ATV rentals as well as small boutiques. The beach is great for walking and a natural port so if you are looking for a beach to boogie board or swim then head north 10 km. to Playa Hermosa. Overall I recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in Coco for a few nights. It is not 5 star but rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, AC is nice and cold. The pool is fabulous where you can absorb the Streetscape vibe. Staff are friendly,and helpful. The room rate includes a nice Tico breakfast in their outdoor restaurant which had a European feel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor room number 112. There was absolutely no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebStoneyCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Me and two of my girlfriends traveled to Playa del Coco for one night and happened to stumble upon this hotel right downtown Coco. The hotel rooms are great, clean and really nice. They had the most comfortable beds I have slept on in my entire time in Costa Rica. We enjoyed the location of the hotel - next to restaurants, souviner shops, supermarket and less than 5 minute walk to the beach....literally right in the center of town! The beach is not great, no waves to surf and the sand is black but overall it was very tranquil beach with a couple cute restaurants that have happy hour and live music. We really enjoyed our stay at Coco Beach Hotel and Casino and would definitely return there if we were in the area again.

Not sure why the other reviewers didn't like the hotel but I would highly recommend it if you want a nice, clean room at a great price and an really great night of sleep!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

First, I should say this is one of the nicer places to stay in Playa Del Coco. Stayed one night here and got the hell out!

We arrived here Superbowl Sunday to a bustling beach side town. There are lots of junky souvenier stands with plenty of hustlers attempting to get you to part with your money. First time I was reminded of Mexico, it was also the last time b/c we left!

The public beach IS black sand but was flithy, cigarette butts littered the sand. This is not an area to surf, it is a bay for docking boats primarily. There were many locals at the park but very few ppl were on the sand.

Now, the rooms at first glance are ok & appear clean. The beds are comfy w decent linens. Bathrooms are ridiculously small and although the tile work is modern the cleanliness is less than par.

Shower did not have hot water until we complained. It was as though they turned on the heater after our complaint.

The hotel was quite noisy from the street noise and the neon lights from the sign shone into our room even w the blackout drapes drawn. A/C worked well.

Supermarket was right around the corner which was very convenient. Overall, the atmosphere of del Coco did not feel safe which is why we departed the next morning. We definitely will NOT return to del Coco again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsrbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I would never stay there again and definitely wouldnt even think about gambling there.....I was hesitant to play a video roulette in first place........I even had them help me put all $40 credit on Black and it rolled a Black number I said I am cashing out and instead of paying me $80 they paid me only $66...... Black or Red pays 2 to 1 on any roulette table----its set up just like roulette table but has eliminated the operator of the table........

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael_Bourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We were very happy with our stay at the new Coco Beach Hotel. The beds are really comfortable and they have a nice Sports Bar and Casino on the property. Pool was pleasant and by far the best hotel in El Coco. We will stay there again in the future. We like it much more than staying in an all-inclusive resort because of the distance to Coco and there are lots of quality restaurants in the area. Also close to several tours.

Room Tip: Get the upgraded room. Well worth the extra money. Only about $10 more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank livingthedream0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pasniav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
#5 of 11 in Playas del Coco
157 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Chantel Suites
Hotel Chantel Suites
#2 of 11 in Playas del Coco
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
1.3 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
346 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Casa Blanca
Hotel Villa Casa Blanca
#1 of 2 in Playa Ocotal
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coco Beach & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coco Beach & Casino

Address: Main St., Playas del Coco, Costa Rica (Formerly Coco Verde Hotel, Spa and Casino)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range: £50 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coco Beach & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coco Beach hotel is located in Playas del Coco, the area of largest touristic growth in the Golfo de Papagayo and one of the most popular vacation destinations for locals and tourists alike. This growing touristic community is located 40km from Liberia, the capital of Guanacaste at 20 minutes from the International Daniel Oduber Airport. Coco Beach hotel offers a fresh environment filled with tropical air and surrounded by fun and adventure. Our hotel brings together a variety of services that include hotel, restaurant, sports bar, casino and a small mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Coco Beach & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel Playas Del Coco
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing