We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place good rooms but the location and the people are amazing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Coco Beach & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great place good rooms but the location and the people are amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

This place is really great it was nice and clean it had a good pool and the rooms were standard Hotel style what really caught our eye without was how awesome the city of cocoa Beach was we had traveled to tell Madindo and it was just like being in America Coco Beach had very good nightlife and awesome clubs you have to check out the lounge and the green iguana

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    99
    61
    23
    27
See reviews for
44
99
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our room was dirty and smelling. Services were slow. It took forever to get our order of food or drinks. Two slices of breakfast bread costed us $2.00! The front desk wasn't helpful and could not give us information.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Detop W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playas del Coco hotels

Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

After a terrible journey from the border of Costa Rica, we arrived in playas del Coco.
The outside of the hotel looks very nice, with a lot of shops and small restaurants.

At 2.52pm we were standing at the reception, the front desk girl told us "your room is not ready, you ll have to wait, so please go to our bar for you to have a drink on the house" as we sat I told the bartender we were send here by the front desk for a drink on the house..so he replied "oh we just give the same complementary drink to every guest, its fruit punch" Oh well I said..he had his chance to make us feel better but he took the incorrect turn.

So, we walked around for an hour, the town is pretty nice! the beach is very clean and just right there, but not ocean front.

We were in our room finally, on the first floor, it look pretty nice but the bathroom..was not what I had in mind. The towels smelled like a deep fryer, the shower curtain had rust and holes in it and there were many stains in the shower floor. The light in the vanity didn't work well and for some reason when you drain water..it has a very bad smell. But, the A/C work, there was hot water and TV cable. The rooms just need an update ASAP. The bed was very comfortable.

We also experience that the front desk didn't manage information about the area...which is seems odd to me since..is such a small and touristic town! We didn't eat at the restaurant because I have read bad reviews about it.

Continental breakfast is included, which is fruits (4 kinds) and toast with butter and jam. Free refill coffee, juice and water are available for breakfast. We order an extra plate of pancakes...which there were terrible, raw in the inside and no fluffiness.
Also, the 1st day we had breakfast, we were not notice by a single server until 30 minutes later. So just go to breakfast early, not on the 8am rush.

If i had to recommend this hotel, I would tell people the location perfect. And maybe is best when you take a suit or something better?

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valen872014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Plus:
1) Cleanliness - rooms - they're cleaned everyday in a very accurate way
2) Staff at the front desk and in a restaurant - helpful also during the additional trip organization. I havent noticed any "pushy-style" as it's written in some opinions. Instead, they do their best to find you the very good option to what you need
3) Location - heart of the El Coco, c.a 400m to the main beach. The hotel is at the main street and thus there's often a noise due to the music from the pubs and restaurants around but you may benefit a lot from living in the center

Neutral
1) well-done pictures that can be misleading. The swimming pool is much smaller than on the pictures
2) wifi available only at the lobby, no access in rooms. As additional, it doesnt support android devices although there are plenty of restaurants around that offer free wifi

Negative:
1) division between continental and american/tipico breakfast. You can upgrade your price-included breakfast to the american/tipico one for 3usd/person/day which is not much although it affects the hotel prestige
2) lack of free shuttle. When you land in Liberia in the evening thete's no other possibility to use the shuttle from company which cooperates with the hotel (the hotel supports in the organization) which seem to be overpriced and costs 55usd/pair

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emel2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

The hotel has a very convenient location and is very well priced. We have stayed there on 2 different occasions now and have no complaints. The rooms were a little old but very clean and it had all the ammenities you need for a confortable night sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ljmortgage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Overall great location in the center of the city near the beach, bars, and restaurants. The service at the restaurant was very poor, but it didn't ruin our trip at all. Not a great place for a family, especially if your room is near the pool, but its great for the location to the nightlife and beach. Good value, maybe a little over priced.

Positives - This hotel has the best location in town it is nearby a lot of restaurants and bars that my girlfriend and I enjoyed quite a bit during our stay, some good seafood options and fun bars with happy hour from 11:30am til 7:30pm (Zi Lounge). It is also a few hundred meters away from the beach which is a dirty sand beach, but functions enough to chill in the water during the heat of the day. Room was clean when we arrived and cleaned pretty well while we were there. Front desk was attentive to what we needed from them and spoke good English. Shower good water pressure. TV gets an HBO channel in English and CNN International in English, but most everything else is in Spanish only.

Negatives - The biggest problem was the breakfast service which was touted as free, but ended up being $3.00 most days (no big deal) if only the service was anything remotely normal. The three mornings we had breakfast it took about 20 minutes to get coffee and usually, as other reviewers said it was a big ordeal getting utensils, napkins, butter/jam, and other basic items. There always seemed to be enough staff available to handle these basics, but each day we had breakfast it was the same issues over and over again. One night there were some very loud people hanging out outside our door at a picnic bench, but based on the location I thought that was to be expected. It would have been nice to have a exhaust fan in the bathroom, a fridge, a bit nicer towels for the pool, better water pressure in the sink which was horrible, and of course better service at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Sink has poor water pressure. Restaurant has horrible service. Bring bigger towels for beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wkawalek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Zurich, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

This hotel is beautifully located but the staff overall leaves a lot more to be desired.

Front desk: they are more interested in booking your tour and getting commission than giving you service. If you crossed them and booked tour yourselves they get vicious. Then the phone calls get routed wrong. They stopped understanding your English.

Cafe: Continental Breakfast was free, but you pay $3 for typical (Costa Rican, traditional). There is no one to greet you and lead you to your table, you sit on available table, and wait, which could be any where from 5 min to 20 min. The service not poor but horrible: they give you coffee but no sugar or cream. Many a time, i had to go upto front desk and get it myself. They give you toast but no butter or Jam. if you ask, you will need to wait for 15 min by the time, your toast & coffee are cold.
Food in general is over priced in the hotel. Walking distance you can find better options.

Rooms: are small and very tight. Bathrooms do not have exhaust fan, so the whole room stinks if someone just used the toilet. No hairdryer, no microwave. The TV room moves one channel up or down, you can not choose by number.

Room Tip: Rooms away from beach or restaurant are quieter comparatively. During our stay they had performance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PrempalSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
#5 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Chantel
Hotel Chantel
#2 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Savannah
Hotel Savannah
#9 of 11 in Playas del Coco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coco Beach & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coco Beach & Casino

Property: Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Address: Main St., Playas del Coco, Costa Rica (Formerly Coco Verde Hotel, Spa and Casino)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coco Beach & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coco Beach hotel is located in Playas del Coco, the area of largest touristic growth in the Golfo de Papagayo and one of the most popular vacation destinations for locals and tourists alike. This growing touristic community is located 40km from Liberia, the capital of Guanacaste at 20 minutes from the International Daniel Oduber Airport. Coco Beach hotel offers a fresh environment filled with tropical air and surrounded by fun and adventure. Our hotel brings together a variety of services that include hotel, restaurant, sports bar, casino and a small mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Coco Beach & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel Playas Del Coco
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing