We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a bare-bones hotel, but it has everything you need and everything worked (TV, coffee maker, shower...). The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful; in my case, I had to change the date of my stay, and they were willing to do without a cancelation fee, something they were not obligated to do since I had booked online. This was very much appreciated. Also, the Wi-Fi worked just fine in my room.
One caveat: the hotel rooms are directly in front of the main street in Coco Beach, and it did get quite noisy with the partying going on!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jilammers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Coco Beach & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear jilammers, Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Coco Beach Hotel. We appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations… We are glad to hear that our staff helped you with efficient and friendly service.
Thank you so much again for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

After reading some of the very negative comments about this hotel it was with some trepidation that we booked into the Coco Beach Hotel for a week given that it was located very close to where we wanted to be and it was reasonably priced, particularly compared with some of the alternatives that are in the multi-hundred dollar a night bracket.
To be perfectly frank, it is not the Ritz. However we found the reception friendly and effective, the rooms clean and quite spacious, the continental breakfast perfectly adequate for a hot climate and, in spite of being close to some of the noisiest night life around, the room was quiet and we had no trouble sleeping off our jet lag. It's true that the wi-fi coverage is patchy but being on holiday this is almost a blessing. In all and taken in the context of Costa Rica which is no low-cost destination, we found this hotel to be good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the passage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dixon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Coco Beach & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Dixon P , thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Coco Beach Hotel. We appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations… We are glad to hear that our staff helped efficiency and great service.

Thanks again for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Rooms are very noisy due to the pounding music the hotel plays all the time, difficult to sleep, street noise as well. Rooms very dark, difficult to read. Only 2 dim lamps. Can't use light from front window as then no privacy- on 1st floor. Bathrooms very dirty, old. Small window in bathroom did not lock. Don't recommend this hotel unless you have no choice, as we did, because it was part of a package.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank addi52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Coco Beach & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear addi52 , let me start by apologizing for the feeling that was caused to you in during your experience with us, we sorry that your stay was not what you expected. As you might have read in some of our responses or reviews, we are under new management and these problems you mentioned have been brought to attention. We know our shortcomings and we're working to bring the property up to par

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We paid for another hotel so we could leave the Coco Beach Hotel.

NO WI-FI IN ROOMS! Only really slow and spotty internet in public areas. I asked to be moved to a room near a public area so I could use Wi-Fi and they didn't move me. Hotel website says it has wi-fi and doesn't say public areas only (or at least I didn't see it).

Pool is beautiful but they are blasting REALLY profane music all afternoon. Every other word in the music is the F word, so I didn't want to be by the pool.

Tried to sleep last night but the music from the bar was really loud and people were honking like crazy on the street, which woke me up.

Air conditioning doesn't work well in the rooms. I was sweating all night.

Staff was very friendly and spoke English well. Handed us a nice fruit juice as soon as we walked in. Breakfast was a small plate of delicious fruit and a piece of toast. All other breakfasts were not included.

The Coco Beach area is nice but be sure to manage your expectations. It's not anything like the beach in Hawaii. The area around the beach is SUPER DRIED OUT with dead trees and dead weeds everywhere. Don't expect a lush green forest around the beach.

I know this review makes me sound like a whiner. I am grateful that I could go to Costa Rica, but this hotel was not the best choice of location in Costa Rica. We had a WONDERFUL trip other than this hotel. We stayed in the Linda Vista Del Norte hotel by La Fortuna and it was by far the nicest place of the trip. It's not a beach location, but it was definitely the most enjoyable part of our trip. Lots to do, quiet, and gorgeous rainforest hikes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by a public area so you can get wi-fi. Wi-fi is spotty even in public areas and does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimHarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coco Beach H, Asistente at Hotel Coco Beach & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Mrs JimHarmer
First let us start by apologizing for the feeling that was caused to you during your experience with us. We sorry that your stay was not what you expected. We are trying to solve this internet problem as at the moment it’s possible to connect only from the restaurant or lobby. The problems you mentioned have been brought to the attention of our restaurant staff. We are very aware of our shortcomings and we're working to bring the property up to par, we are glad to hear the Staff made your stay better. We have 2 seasons here at Costa Rica we are in the dry season right now, in October or September is Greener and the town is more relaxed. Hopefully if we get a chance to serve you again it will be as you expect it and as we want you to experience it.
We are glad you enjoyed Costa Rica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We had some issues with our rooms that were quickly taken care of with a smile and efficiency. I do ask management to give guests the ability to lock those bathroom windows - _not only for the customers safety but the amazing place called Coco beach hotel.
The food was very good!!!!! Staff again very accommodating. We really loved our stay. There are also some conditions on some rooms that need addressed - the mold in some of the bathrooms. Several of us had it.
But the best if the hotel is the staff and their amenities and close proximity to everything.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Taraland45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coco Beach H, Asistente at Hotel Coco Beach & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Taraland , thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Coco Beach Hotel. We appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations… We are glad to hear that our staff helped efficiency and great service.

Thanks again for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

we paid 113$ (including tax) and got a room with 2 queen beds, but we were a couple, so for 2 people it was not worth the money.
the room was old, with no windows (actually therer is a big window but it cannot be opened...), and the shower was leaking...

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Shai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coco Beach H, Asistente at Hotel Coco Beach & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Shai K, let me start by apologizing for the feeling that was caused to you in during your experience with us, we sorry that your stay was not what you expected. As you might have read in some of our responses or reviews, we are under new management and these problems you mentioned have been brought to attention. We know our shortcomings and we're working to bring the property up to par
Hopefully if we get a chance to serve you again it will be as you expect it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I had a brief one night stay at this hotel thank goodness for that! I'd hardly call it a hotel, budget motel or pit stop would be more like it. The bathroom was the equivalent of a gas station rest room in the states, something you need but want to get out of at all costs. I gave it 1 star because they said that they were under new management in the last 6 months and the front desk was polite upon arrival. Btw the internet is only available in the reception area not in your room. If they can clean this place up it might be a good stay someday because it was located right on the main drag of the town. The room I had was dirty! It had not been painted for a LONG time if ever. There were big black marks on the walls, the shower was covered in mold, broken tiles, and the sink had years of crusted dirt around the faucet. I was so disgusted that I didn't even shower. The bed linens were course and didn't feel that great on my sun drenched skin. For the money compared to the other places I stayed it was by far the worst value. I got in late, justified staying because I was tired and had no energy to find another location at 9:30 pm. I asked for a 7:30 wake up call and my phone rang at 5, 5:24, and again at 5:30. I dozed back to sleep confused but no wake up call at 7:30 so I was running late. I spoke to the front desk about being called at 5 and they said their wake up call system was malfunctioning. I expressed my disappointment with the room and they didn't offer a thing other than to explain that they were under new management. I'd avoid this location until they upgrade. How much could it cost to clean the bathrooms and buy a can of paint? I don't understand the other ratings I must have been given the worst room in the house for the most money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EquestrianTraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coco Beach H, Asistente at Hotel Coco Beach & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Mrs. Equestrian, First let me start by apologizing as you might have read in some of our responses or reviews, we are under new management, we sorry that your stay was not what you expected. We are trying to solve some of these problems. We´re aware of our shortcomings and we're working around the clock to bring the property up to par. We started an internal investigation to examine a details surrounding the Wake up Calls problem.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
#5 of 11 in Playas del Coco
154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Chantel Suites
Hotel Chantel Suites
#2 of 11 in Playas del Coco
152 reviews
19.5 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.2 mi away
Hotel M&M Beach House
Hotel M&M Beach House
#1 of 15 in Playas del Coco
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coco Beach & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coco Beach & Casino

Address: Main St., Playas del Coco, Costa Rica (Formerly Coco Verde Hotel, Spa and Casino)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range: £43 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coco Beach & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coco Beach hotel is located in Playas del Coco, the area of largest touristic growth in the Golfo de Papagayo and one of the most popular vacation destinations for locals and tourists alike. This growing touristic community is located 40km from Liberia, the capital of Guanacaste at 20 minutes from the International Daniel Oduber Airport. Coco Beach hotel offers a fresh environment filled with tropical air and surrounded by fun and adventure. Our hotel brings together a variety of services that include hotel, restaurant, sports bar, casino and a small mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Coco Beach & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel Playas Del Coco
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing