We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick stop pit...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A quick stop pit...”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I stayed here 07/2014 and it is a basic hotel, great if you're on a budget or want to stay somewhere not too far from the airport (if you have a rental car) overnight.

The rooms are clean, but I'd say a 2 star standard, the bathrooms are not great and the place is noisy. If you want a quiet place to relax, this is not it, there is loud music playing late into the night and in the morning (early) you will be woken by cleaners/people checking out.

With those negatives, I must say that the staff are lovely, and this place as I said in the title is fine for a quick stop as you get your bearings for Guanacaste.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Coco Beach & Casino, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear MM, Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Coco Beach Hotel. We appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations… We are glad to hear that our staff helped efficiency and great service. Thanks again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    108
    63
    25
    28
See reviews for
48
103
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

the hotel is in the middle of the town of playa del coco. the room was nice and clean with a safe. there was a pool but no jacuzzi which we didn't use as we were only a couple minutes walk to the beach. it has a casino, but it was pretty sad and dead while we were there. the place says it comes with breakfast, but don't be fooled! it does come with breakfast, but it was some fruit and toast. if you want a costa rican breakfast or an american breakfast, you're going to have to pay. it's not much, but they shouldn't really say the room comes with breakfast!

we liked that it was in the middle of a town. there are other beaches close by that are much more secluded and quiet if you prefer that, but we liked being in town since we could walk to restaurants and bars. it can be noisy, though, when you're in your room since all rooms are set back from the street but still face out to the street. very loud cars and motorcycles pass through during the night. it can be annoying if you're a light sleeper. all in all, though, i would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cecilia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Coco Beach & Casino, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Cecilia , Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Coco Beach Hotel. We appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations…
Thanks again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

These guys really know how to care for people. Jorge the manager is great and will take care of you for sure. This is a great place to stay. I will stay again. The beds were by far the best I've slept on in Coco. Was very happy to have a real mattress.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rchernish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Coco Beach & Casino, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Rchernish, Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Coco Beach Hotel. We appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations… We are glad to hear that our staff helped efficiency and great service.
Thanks again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

hotel had worst smelling toilets ever, had to keep bathroom door closed at all time so smell would not infiltrate room, also water pressure was literally a dribble if wanted a warm shower. in the first room given to us, the toilet was leaking all over the floor and shower walls covered with mildew. towels were the most worn out I have ever seen, location is on main street, so loud music until 3 am at night heard through doors. find another hotel unless you want to be on main street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Coco Beach & Casino, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Vim , let me start by apologizing for the feeling that was caused to you in during your experience with us, we sorry that your stay was not what you expected. As you might have read in some of our responses or reviews, we are under new management and these problems you mentioned have been brought to attention.
We know our shortcomings and we're working to bring the property up to par
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playas del Coco hotels

Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed at Coco Beach in early July and the hotel and staff were awesome. The food is great and the service is very good.
Mariela and Erick at the front desk were great and helped when asked ( with a smile )
Luis was great at arranging tours
It is a five minute walk to the beach and within close walking distance to the shops, other cafe's and the supermarket.
A WONDERFUL COZY HOTEL WITH GREAT SERVICE. Worth every penny spent !!!!

Brian

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Coco Beach & Casino, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Brian R ,

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Coco Beach Hotel. We appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations… We are glad to hear that our staff helped efficiency and great service.

Thanks again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My friend and I stayed here from June 30th, 2014 to Jul 7th 2014. The staff was always very friendly, accommodating, polite & personable. Most of them speak english almost fluently. They were always happy to help if we had questions or needed advice. This is not a resort which was even better. Our rooms and the entire vicinity was always clean and well kept. It's a beautiful cozy little hotel smack dab in the middle of town and only a 5 minute walk to the beach. As far as non resort hotels in Coco Beach go, I'd have to say this is probably the nicest! I could go on and on about the hotel, but I think I'll end with the hotel manager...We only ever got one person's name which was Luis one of the concierge's (Not a fan) but the hotel manager, we saw him almost every day and not just at the hotel, in the local shops and restaurants. He always said hi and made sure we had everything we needed and made sure we were always taken care of.
Thank you to the staff of Coco Beach hotel for being part of our best vacation so far!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 105. It was somewhat close to the lobby and far enough from the casino. The only t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hishoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Coco Beach & Casino, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Hishoelle , thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Coco Beach Hotel . We appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations.
Hopefully if we get a chance to serve you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Do not stay here if you are traveling with anything of value. The safe malfunctioned upon our arrival. Their repair man picked the lock to reset it, but it still didn't work. We considered locking valuables in our car, but the hotel parking was open to the main street and another car in the lot had its back window smashed in, so we opted to put the camera in a nightstand drawer while we were snorkeling and hid other valuables elsewhere. The camera was stolen from the room by staff. We notified the manager the day it disappeared but he was incapable of recovering it. We gave him 24 hours to interview staff and return the camera, but he only gave us excuses and said it was not there. The camera was expensive, but replaceable. The pictures of our daughter's first siting of a two-toed sloth, her captivation with the playful behavior of wild monkeys in trees overhead, her face lit up by the joy of having a hummingbird land on her finger - these images and many more are irreplaceable. They were on the memory chip stolen with the camera. Please do not reward the blatant dishonesty of this hotel with your business or your valuable belongings.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Coco Beach & Casino, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Virginia , thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Coco Beach Hotel. …As you might have read in some of our responses or reviews, we are under new management and these problems you mentioned have been brought to attention. We know our shortcomings and we're working to bring the property up to par .
We appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Chantel
Hotel Chantel
#3 of 11 in Playas del Coco
151 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Savannah
Hotel Savannah
#9 of 11 in Playas del Coco
14 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
2.4 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coco Beach & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coco Beach & Casino

Property: Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Address: Main St., Playas del Coco, Costa Rica (Formerly Coco Verde Hotel, Spa and Casino)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coco Beach & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coco Beach hotel is located in Playas del Coco, the area of largest touristic growth in the Golfo de Papagayo and one of the most popular vacation destinations for locals and tourists alike. This growing touristic community is located 40km from Liberia, the capital of Guanacaste at 20 minutes from the International Daniel Oduber Airport. Coco Beach hotel offers a fresh environment filled with tropical air and surrounded by fun and adventure. Our hotel brings together a variety of services that include hotel, restaurant, sports bar, casino and a small mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Coco Beach & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel Playas Del Coco
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing