We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Any Day of The Week and Twice Sunday.”
Review of Restaurante La Farola - CLOSED

Restaurante La Farola
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Abierto de 5pm a 10pm de Lunes a Sabado. Domingos cerrado. Open from 5pm to 10pm Monday to Saturday. Sundays closed.
los angles
1 review
“Any Day of The Week and Twice Sunday.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was by far, the best restaurant in Coco. The owners were very pleasant and overly accommodating. The food was delicious and the atmosphere tranquil... Muchas Gracias!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigzig56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    17
    5
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Spanish Restaurant”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was our first visit. No need to dress up but a little more classy than the typical Playa del Coco restaurant. It is a mother/son operation with Mama doing the cooking (she came here from Spain 2 years ago). We were served complimentary amuse buche which was a mussel with escabeche served in a spoon. DELICIOUS! I had a glass of the house sangria which is the BEST sangria I have ever had. We shared a bowl of gaspacho, again, THE BEST WE HAVE EVER HAD. We are not very familiar with Spanish cuisine, but we are foodies and wanted to try the seafood paella (for 2 minimum), it was very good. We ended the meal sharing the homemade chocolate cake with strawberries and whipped cream. Good chocolate flavor, every component homemade, but the cake was a little dry. The whole meal about $96. We would go back for a special occasion to try other items because the food and service were excellent, but for us, it's a splurge. We enjoyed it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Very Good Spanish Restaurant”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

La Farola is, no doubt, the best restaurant in Playa Coco, Costa Rica. Located inland in a very attractive yellow building with beautiful interior furnishings, this restaurant offers excellent seafood prepared in several ways. The family running the restaurant is from Spain with the mother in the kitchen and the sons being gracious hosts. Dinner begins with a small pickled seafood salad offering from the chef. We have had an excellent salad with fried sea bass as a starter, and the main dish fish, whether broiled or sautéed, has always been fresh and perfectly prepared—and served with potatoes, whether fried or mashed, and nice veggies. The fish "stew," which we believe is a misnomer because of limited English skills, is sautéed with sautéed garlic on top, and was a favorite. Another appetizer we liked were croquettes with ham; those with shrimp were more bland. We did not have the paella but wished we'd have had another opportunity to try it as all the dishes have been prepared with care and the seafood has been perfectly fresh. Among the desserts, we had a very nice tart served with sorbet, as well as a super-rich chocolate cake interlayered with strawberries—like giant rich brownies interspersed with strawberries and covered with chocolate syrup. The table setting is lovely, the dining room is very pretty, and the service is friendly and capable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If your there you must try it”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had a wonderful dinner there. Everything about the experience was delightful. Daniel ,son of the owner, was our waiter and explained everything on the menu and choose our wine. He did a wonderful job. So much so we returned the next week for Piaaya which was absolutely delicious. It was served by his mother,the chief, as Daniel translated her explanation of the dish. A fun evening in a very comfortable setting.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairview, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We dined here and were so pleased with everything! The service was great. The food was excellent (thanks to Mama)!!! Pleasantly surprised by the very nice interior! We also appreciated the very comfortable temperature of AC! This is a special place to go in Cco! We will be back!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherry0516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante La Farola also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing