We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Hotel Chantel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chantel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Cranbrook, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Rooms very clean. Anita really goes that extra mile to meet your needs. We were there on Valetines Day and there was a lovely heart made out of towels, sprinkled with flower petals and in the center, a very nice box of chocolates. Loved the atmosphere at this hotel. Beautiful view. Fantastic rooftop restaurant/relaxing area. Delicious complimentary breakfast. The pool is small but refreshing. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoWanderlusts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    34
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
80
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Nicest hotel for the price during our 3 week stay in Costa Rica. Originally booked for 1 night but likes it so much we stayed for 2 more. Great hosts that went above and beyond. Immaculately clean and comfortable rooms. You won't be disappointed!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The first thing you notice when you get there is the view, you can see all Coco beach from the hotel, the owner Annita is really friendly as well as the staff.

The rooms feel like new, clean, fresh, the bathroom is big with nice anti-skid tiles.

You really rest in this hotel, the only thing you can hear over the night are the crickets outside.

This place is great for what you pay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gjarllarhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed here the last week of December 2013 with my brother, sister-in-law, niece (7) and nephew (10) and absolutely loved it. We were originally at a different hotel near the town center and the craziness that goes with the weekend before New Years. Because of the all-night party noise, we switched hotels and luckily ended up at penthouse room at the Hotel Chantel.

The room had been recently remodeled, the view is phenomenal, the deck is amazing, and the service was second to none. Anita, Chantel, and Adrian gave us great advice on where to go, what to do, and helped with any little thing we needed. Adrian _even_ offered to drive into town to get us a pizza.

The breakfast at the restaurant was really good, and the upstair deck / lounge was nice. I only wish the restaurant was open for more than just breakfast.

Staying at this hotel, put the final cherry on top of our first trip to Costa Rica. I wish we could have stayed here longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mukulkundu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

I had a wonderful experience while I stayed at Chantel's. Decided to stay 1 more night. Very friendly staff and they also accepted my kitten as a guest!!! :) the view was amazing, the rooms are modern and clean!! and breakfast at the restaurant on the rooftop was great!!!! Will keep coming back!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alebarboza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Un hotel con hermosa vista a la bahia, limpio, decoracion moderna y exquisita en las habitaciones y las areas comunes.
110 % recomendado
Gracias a Anita, la propietaria, por su amabilidad y por hacer de esta propiedad un lugar hermoso con precios excelentes.

A hotel with great view of the bay, clean, modern decoration in rooms and common areas.
Recommend 110 %
Special thanks to Anita, owner, for being such a good host and made this property a good place to spend vacations plus the good price

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyCorrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Amazing staff with the most incredible view of Playa Del Coco. I have travelled to Costa Rica a few times before and I can say that this is by far my favorite place. The staff were very friendly, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the rooftop patio was my favorite place to watch the breath taking sunsets every night!! I will definitely be staying at Hotel Chantel on my next trip!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Genevievedelcarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
1.1 mi away
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
#7 of 11 in Playas del Coco
276 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
3.3 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
362 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chantel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chantel

Property: Hotel Chantel
Address: Vista Marina, Playas del Coco 10002, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chantel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chantel is a unique Ocean View Boutique Hotel overlooking Playas Del Coco, Guanacaste. It is an 8 minute drive to the beachfront. The property is located on a mountain along the country’s beautiful Northern Pacific coastline and yields breathtaking panoramic ocean views of Playas del Coco as well as the surrounding forest. Playas del Coco is a popular area for tours such as boat trips, zip-lining, volcanos, waterfalls, fishing, snorkeling, ATV trips, and more. Playas del Coco is known as a gateway for surfers to get to Roca Bruja and Ollie's Point and is also a prime scuba diving destination. There are plenty of shops, restaurants, bars, discos, casinos, markets, banks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Chantel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chantel Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing