We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chantel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Chantel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Everyone who worked at the hotel was absolutely wonderful and extremely helpful. Customer service fully exceeded any expectations. Although the hotel is slightly out of the main area the cab is only $5 and the stunning view makes it worth it. Breakfast was great. Thoroughly enjoyed my visit.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    34
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
77
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Fantastic view. William provided great service. Food was excellent. Value was good .
It's a bit of a trek but well worth the trip.
We will be returning soon . Hope to see you there .
Will & Karen
Playa Ocotal

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Waki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Hotel Chantel is a great place, located in the hills in Playa del Coco, it provides great views of the area. It's clean and close to pretty much everything. Don't forget to check out the rooftop restaurant and lounge area!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicholasCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Point, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Extremely nice hosts and a view thats second to none in the area. Just off the crowded path of Playa del Coco and situated on a hill. Road to hotel is a bit rough and signs are "adequate". Free breakfast and WIFI are a plus. Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: No refrig in room so buy a cheap cooler and ice. Our rental car company gave us one for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjb-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

This hotel has the MOST amazing views, they are truly breathtaking. The view from the top floor, where the restaurant is, is just stunning. One evening my husband and I brought a bottle of wine from town and enjoyed the sunset up there. I believe they are a relatively new hotel, yet everyone was extremely helpful and really went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The room had plenty of space and there is free wifi. The staff is very knowledgeable about the surrounding beaches, restaurants, bars and tours. Breakfast is complimentary and there is a pool on premises with another great view. We stayed there early March for about 5 days and did not have a car. If you don’t rent a car, you will need to take a cab into town (Coco beach is where the bars and restaurants are), you really can’t walk from the hotel because of the steep roads. But Coco beach is only a five minute cab ride away, Ocotal beach is maybe a ten minute cab ride. You must see Ocotal beach, it’s quite beautiful and very quiet. We never had any trouble calling or finding a taxi to take us to/from the hotel to the beaches or into town, so not having a car isn’t a problem. I absolutely love when there are animals at hotels, and the owner has three dogs that visit. I highly recommend staying here, it’s very quiet and being away from town (Coco beach), you don’t have to worry about the loud bars and patrons.

Room Tip: All rooms faced the ocean, so you have a great view no matter what room you stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Everything was great from the location to the view to the free daily breakfast to the very nice staff. 5 mins to coco beach & 5 mins to town cab cost $5 USD it was just great !!! Would stay Here again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank malissa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

This is a very nice hotel with a gorgeous view and nice rooms. There are a few areas that they need to improve in order for me to rate them excellent. Simple things that didn't hurt our stay but just bumped them down a notch. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. The kitchen was poorly stocked (no cutting board, large knives, anything to cook with in the oven, etc.), only 1 bar of tiny soap was provided which didn't last the trip and wasn't restocked, the pool needed some skimming (it was dry season though so a lot of leaves are falling and it's probably hard to keep up) and the low quality of the toilet paper did not match the quality of the hotel.
But it had a great view, breakfast was good and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharCharBinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
1.2 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
#5 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Savannah
Hotel Savannah
#9 of 11 in Playas del Coco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
#7 of 11 in Playas del Coco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chantel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chantel

Property: Hotel Chantel
Address: Vista Marina, Playas del Coco 10002, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chantel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chantel is a unique Ocean View Boutique Hotel overlooking Playas Del Coco, Guanacaste. The property is located along the country’s beautiful Northern Pacific coastline and yields breathtaking panoramic ocean views of Playas del Coco as well as the surrounding rain forest.Playas del Coco is a very popular area for all tours, sport fishing, Playas del Coco is known as well as the gateway for surfers, this beach is a prime scuba diving spot. There is also plenty of shops, restaurants, bars, discos, casinos.Playas del Coco also has day and sunset cruises, rainforest canopy and zip-line tours, hot springs, and day tours to sea turtle nesting areas and inland volcanoes all within 45 minutes to a `couple hours drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Chantel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chantel Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing