We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pura Vida!”
Review of Hotel Chantel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Chantel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pura Vida!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just returned from Costa Rica yesterday. My friends and I stayed there for about 4-5 days in celebration of one's birthday. We had an awesome time! We stayed at Hotel Chantel. At first, we were weary about our destination when the cab driver turned onto a rocky, not very scenic, dirt road, which later became paved and winding... but once we arrived at the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised! It was very clean and well kept. The view was breathtaking as you have an amazing landscape and oceanview. The pool was small but perfect for the group we went with. I would highly recommend this hotel. The room we booked had a problem with the air conditioning, but Anita was more than happy to accommodate us to work out our needs as she provided us with an extra room to use as we wish. Hopefully, that room's A/C will be fixed because it was awesome, with a full kitchen and living area. The staff was very pleasant - always smiling and very accommodating. Hope you have as great a time as we did when you visit Costa Rica and Hotel Chantel!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are ocean view! So close your eyes, and choose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    34
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
80
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carthage
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Although a bit daunting to get to, the effort to reach this secluded retreat is well worth it. Chantel & Anita are very accommodating, not just in their lodging, but in their knowledge of the area and willingness to arrange many activities only locals know about. We were fortunate to go just after the high season and had the master suite available to our family – a true home away from home!
Great people! Great place! Great Value! Wish I was there now

Room Tip: Laundry service is impossible to find at Coco - Hotel Chantel can help with that too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelChantel, Manager at Hotel Chantel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
It was a pleasure having you and your family visiting and staying with us. I am happy you enjoyed your visit and Playas del Coco area. I hope you can come back for a visit another day!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Hotel Chantel is located on top of the hill, and the view is incredible. You can see the entire bay of Coco and the sunset view is awesome. The service was so wonderful and the owner and her daughter were so sweet and helpful. They were helpful on a very personal level, and would always get back to us with an answer in a timely manner. The entire staff was friendly as well...including the hotel dogs! They were always greeting us with wagging tails and made the atmosphere even more relaxed. I would HIGHLY recommend staying here. Book early because the hotel only has a select number of rooms. Few, but VERY comfortable and well furnished. The food that they serve was always delicious. My compliments to the chef...the chicken tacos were to die for! Also, the nightly rate was very very reasonable...which made everything even better! cant wait to stay there again

Room Tip: The master suite is the best! there is only one, but it has an entire floor and a kitchen. very much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jemxx14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelChantel, Manager at Hotel Chantel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks for your comments, we really appreciate our guests feedback on their stay with us. I am happy you had a great time in Playas del Coco. Please come back and visit us soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Everyone who worked at the hotel was absolutely wonderful and extremely helpful. Customer service fully exceeded any expectations. Although the hotel is slightly out of the main area the cab is only $5 and the stunning view makes it worth it. Breakfast was great. Thoroughly enjoyed my visit.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Fantastic view. William provided great service. Food was excellent. Value was good .
It's a bit of a trek but well worth the trip.
We will be returning soon . Hope to see you there .
Will & Karen
Playa Ocotal

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Waki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Hotel Chantel is a great place, located in the hills in Playa del Coco, it provides great views of the area. It's clean and close to pretty much everything. Don't forget to check out the rooftop restaurant and lounge area!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicholasCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Point, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Extremely nice hosts and a view thats second to none in the area. Just off the crowded path of Playa del Coco and situated on a hill. Road to hotel is a bit rough and signs are "adequate". Free breakfast and WIFI are a plus. Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: No refrig in room so buy a cheap cooler and ice. Our rental car company gave us one for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjb-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
1.2 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
#5 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
#7 of 11 in Playas del Coco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Savannah
Hotel Savannah
#9 of 11 in Playas del Coco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chantel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chantel

Property: Hotel Chantel
Address: Vista Marina, Playas del Coco 10002, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chantel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chantel is a unique Ocean View Boutique Hotel overlooking Playas Del Coco, Guanacaste. It is an 8 minute drive to the beachfront. The property is located on a mountain along the country’s beautiful Northern Pacific coastline and yields breathtaking panoramic ocean views of Playas del Coco as well as the surrounding forest. Playas del Coco is a popular area for tours such as boat trips, zip-lining, volcanos, waterfalls, fishing, snorkeling, ATV trips, and more. Playas del Coco is known as a gateway for surfers to get to Roca Bruja and Ollie's Point and is also a prime scuba diving destination. There are plenty of shops, restaurants, bars, discos, casinos, markets, banks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Chantel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chantel Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing