We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is what dreams are made of!”
A Beautiful Morning poolside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A Beautiful Morning poolside
Newly remodeled kitchen Our patio is steps from the ocean
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
A Beautiful Morning poolside
Newly remodeled kitchen
Our patio is steps from the ocean
A view of the living area
Dining Area
A view out to the patio and beach
Bedroom 2, with a King and beach view
Master Bedroom with Balcony overlooking the beach
Bedroom #3, Two twins
New outdoor furniture on our covered patio
The two level infinity pool 20 steps away
The main two level pool from Picante restaurant right next door to the villa
An evening on the patio
Howlers frequent the proprty
Fishing Boats pick you up right at the beach!
Snorkeling from the Beach cant be more convenient
Arenal is a must see when you are in Costa Rica
Dolphins aplenty when you go fishing...
Walkway to the beach
A beautiful sunset from the patio.
World Class Fishing off the beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
leavingMN
St. Paul, Minnesota
1 review
“This is what dreams are made of!”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

If you are looking for a perfect vacation spot to unwind and enjoy Costa Rica, this is it!
Every February we spend a week in the sun and this year chose Costa Rica for the 1st time. Originally reserving an all-inclusive near Tamarindo, I found this condo which promised all we were hoping for and more. (The all-inclusive only provided a buffet for the week and you are surrounded by the other guests all week fighting for space by the pool which made me re-think our stay) The privacy of this condo is amazing and all you will hear are the monkeys and birds! Palms and thick beautiful flowering vegetation surround the patio with an amazing view of the ocean that we photographed hoping to capture it to view on our walls until our next visit.

We planned to eat out at least once a day on our trip but the condo is so well equipped and we so enjoyed the place that we only went out 2 times. It was fun firing up the grill while enjoying a glass (or more) of wine with the spectacular view watching birds and boats after a day in the sun. Shopping was very easy in Playa Ocotal which was only a few minutes away by car. We ended up bringing many staples along on our trip so we really only had to buy fresh produce (stands are all over town) and dairy products! We packed a soft side cooler in our checked suitcase with frozen bacon, hamburger, cheese, crackers, cereal, bread etc. which cut down on our shopping time and expense. This isn't necessary as the stores really had everything we needed, but it was nice to have it when we arrived and it was probably a bit less money from home even with a bag charge.

Verda has 2 condo rentals within Bahia Pez. The Flying Villa was higher up on tiered hillside with the best view you could get. (We walked around and this by far had the best location and patio up there!) There was a very private and quiet pool just a few doors down on this tier, or you could drive down to the beach which has another beautiful pool near the resort restaurant and bar. Resort guests are only allowed and it there were only about 4 other groups there at any given time. A car is needed to enjoy the area in Playa Ocotol. Don't even question it. There is NO way we could have made it without one. It was actually quite a jaunt up the hill to this level where the condo resides from the beach and we ended up giving some elderly visitors a ride as they were struggling (especially in the heat of the day!) We rented a five passenger Nissan type SUV from AVIS for just over $400. Rent online with the actual Costa Rica car rental company - not a booking agent. You should take proof of your credit card offering because most offer the CDW insurance and you will only need to pay $10-13 more each day for the other mandatory insurance. Driving in Costa Rica is not difficult and the police were very friendly. Just keep your speed down and enjoy the drive. We didn't get a GPS and reading a map is quite simple there. It was a breeze taking the shuttle to/from the airport getting the car and going on our way.

One of the nights we went to Father Rooster's for dinner. It was very fun and they had live music. We were very impressed when we drove back to the condo as there were 2 gates with security to get through before the condo! The security even walked around every evening a few times and shown huge lights down the hillside but there was never any alarm. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The night we went into Playa Ocotol they had long happy hour specials for $2/drinks! It was fun to shop in the area for Souvenirs.

We used the 2 king sized bedrooms and the beds were the most comfortable we've ever had staying away from home. It was amazing to wake up to the view of the ocean we had. The appliances and amenities are all new and very nice. It's great that you can drink the tap water and not worry. We never were sick during our stay.

The decor in Verda's condo was awesome. It was so fun to just sit and look at what she's done with the place and imagine all the work they've put into making this home what it is. We were very impressed and cannot wait to return. It is by far worth it.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peegup
Bismarck, North Dakota
2 reviews
“Amazing vacation”
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Bahia Pez Vela is a beautiful villa village built into the Costa Rican countryside. The Flying H Villa (villa #1) is awesome. The interior and exterior decor is amazing and comfortable. The location to the pool, restaurant, and beach could not be better, literally just steps away to anything, but yet very private due to the abundance of tropical plants surrounding the villa. We kayaked from our beach to a white pristine beach a couple miles south and we saw a whale on our return kayak to our beach. We saw and heard Howler monkeys everyday in the trees surrounding the villas. We went fishing and caught two tuna and a beautiful ~50 pound blue Rooster fish. We had the chef at the Bahia Pez Vela Picante Restaurant prepare the tuna for us for dinner that evening. We did day trips to the Cortez Waterfalls and sailboating from Coco beach. The infinity pool was so refreshing and the view of the beach and bay was breathtaking. Cesar and Juan at the onsite Picante Restaurant took excellent care of us and the meals we had there were absolutely delicious. Neil and Verda were so easy to deal with and had plenty of ideas for excursions and restaurants. We had busy days and we had relaxing time by the pool. It was the perfect combination to a very awesome vacation.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vmgersh
Austin, Minnesota
1 review
“Perfect villa to enjoy your family/friends!”
Reviewed 13 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Bahia Pez Vela is beautiful! The villa and its location are spectacular! The villa had plenty of room for our family of 4. The kitchen had everything you could need. The 3 bedrooms were spacious and very comfortable and there are 3 bathrooms. We spent most mornings on the patio enjoying the peace and quiet watching and listening to the waves! You are just steps from the the ocean which has a beautiful beach with soft sand. It's in a small cove that is nice and quiet, except when you hear the howler monkeys! Unfortunately we didn't get to see them. The restaurant and pool were right next door. Verda provided us with great information regarding excursions, restaurants, grocery shopping and even rental car information. We zip lined at Diamanté. It had a mile long superman style zip line! We went deep sea fishing only catching one Black finned Tuna but the captain kept us entertained watching whales, Dolphins, stingrays, sea turtles and sail fish. There is so much to do that we would love to go back! Thank you so much Verda and Neil

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen S
Mount Vernon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect vacation spot!”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

As we were looking for a place to stay in Costa Rica, we discovered the Flying H Villa on Trip Advisor. The pictures drew me in first, but then the great reviews really sold me on this place. After talking with the owners, Neil and Verda, I knew this was the place for our group. The house had everything we needed. The kitchen was well stocked. We also enjoyed the grill outside.

The beach is not huge, but it also was not crowded while we were there. Very nice. Several of us also enjoyed a massage on the beach. The first morning we were there, we heard and saw several howler monkeys in nearby trees. So cool!

This villa is right next to the main swimming pool at Bahia Pez Vela. I worried that it might be too close – that the noise of other swimmers might be bothersome. But the beautiful landscaping at this villa offered a lot of privacy. We were never bothered by the noise. And the back porch furniture was very comfortable. As a group, we were always out there relaxing versus being inside the house.

The entire resort was beautifully landscaped and very well maintained. We ate at the restaurant twice while we were there. The food was great. And Thursday night they had live entertainment and we all learned to do the Salsa!

In summary, it’s a great place to stay whether you want to stay there and relax for an entire week. Or use it as your hub for other adventures as we did, it’s a great place to stay.

Working with Verda was awesome. Couldn't have asked for it to go more smoothly. Highly recommend this place!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogers, Arkansas
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brentwood, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed 20 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing