We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cant go wrong”
Review of Hotel Coco Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Coco Palms
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“cant go wrong”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

hotel coco palms;best location 300yds.from beach,one block from center of town.Great food and service.Beautiful swimming pool,clean rooms and the price is right great.place to start your vacation the hotel can arranage all you trips,if you go fishing bring your catch back and it will be prerared any why you like John McLane

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hometaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCocoPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coco Palms, responded to this review, 23 September 2015
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Hotel Coco Palms. We are glad you got to enjoy our great location and welcoming staff . Thank you for your recommendations to future travelers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    49
    19
    11
    10
See reviews for
32
72
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

You get what you pay for. We rather spend our money on a great backyard and a place to chill out, than an upgraded room with all service. If you agree, this is a great place to stay. The backyard has a great pool, bar and restaurant and really great staff. The location is central and close to beach.The room was simple, but clean. The bathroom didn't has a door, but maybe the bigger rooms has.

The hotel also has a 24 hours open suoermarked.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Backpack20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCocoPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coco Palms, responded to this review, 23 September 2015
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Hotel Coco Palms. We are glad you got to enjoy our great location and welcoming staff . Thank you for your recommendations to future travelers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I was attending a close friends wedding in Costa Rica, and could not afford to stay at the RIU Resort with the rest of the wedding guests, so I took a gamble and stayed at the Hotel Coco Palms. Winner winner...chicken dinner! It was such a great place! The staff was so attentive! Andre the evening front desk clerk was very patient with us, and Cesar the daytime waiter in the restaurant was also friendly, kind and very helpful! We loved his different baseball hats that he wore every day from Superman to the Celetics. The breakfast was great because you receive $5 towards your breakfast from the menu, and was it good and fresh! The hotel was very quaint and intimate, the staff was very very attentive to our needs as well as patient with our lack of knowledge of the spanish language.

We did attend our friend's wedding at the RIU and it was a really nice resort. But my friend and I couldn't wait to get back to our hotel and away the from the massive grazing of the all-inclusive resort as well as the swimming pools with what seemed like hundreds of people in at a time. Our friends who stayed there were less than impressed with the cuisine, as were we when had the opportunity to dine there! We missed the authenticity of the Hotel Coco Palms as well as the Zi Lounge that was located just down the street! (The seafood soup was literally to die for, as well as the nachos with chicken!!!!!!) We missed our intimate staff who knew us by name!
The day that we had to check out was a sad one. Cesar gave us each a kiss on the cheek and the own came out of his office to see us off. We felt like one of the family, and would DEFINITELY plan to visit there again.

There was one downside, and that was the lack of hot water. They did upgrade our room to a really really nice room (although our first room was simple, it was still nice and very clean). We finally received hot water (not just luke warm) on our last morning there. Would that deter us from staying there again?!??! Definitely not! We would rather stay at the Hotel Coco Palms with lukewarm water than at the RIU Resort with piping hot water!

BTW, Coco Beach was the location that the RIU took it's guests to for shopping - $15 pp. We were already there enjoying all of the greatness that the area had to offer!

I recommend to the highest degree this hotel with two thumbs up!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hbg2pgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We were in Plays a Del Coco for a family destination wedding and stayed at Hotel Coco Palms for 4 days in March. If you're looking for a 4 star hotel with all the amenities you won't find it here. If you're looking for a clean, safe hotel with a delightful staff, relaxing atmosphere, and great restaurant near the center of town, this is your place! We had a wonderful time and can't say enough about the staff. It was great!

Room Tip: We were on the street side downstairs and really didn't hear much noise. Slept great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marsha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I recently stayed at Coco palms on a short but well planed trip to Costa Rica and was beyond pleased with the warm and attentive hospitality received at this one of a kind hotel. I traveled with my husband and a friend. We were there for 5 days and with so much to do in Costa Rica we decided to pre book our activities with a local travel company. We arrived on a Friday and had scheduled a day full of activities at Rincon De La Vieja volcano for saturday, I called the company to confirmed everything was set but the tour bus never came! I called the tour company and they told me the driver had been at the hotel and no one was there (whichwas a lie because we were waiting in the front lobby 20 minutes before our scheduled pick up time) after getting the run around for about an hour and even the manager getting on the phone with the tour company to confirm we were there the entire time we got nowhere with these people. I was devastated, this was the highlight of our trip and we had scheduled other activities for the rest of our stay. The manager of the hotel Patricia stood by our side the entire time trying to work out a deal with the tour company for us but when they wouldn't budge patrica quickly arranged for an immediate pick up at the hotel from a different tour company and a later tour. ( which we would have known nothing of if it weren't for her) we would've missed out on the best part of our trip! We had an amazing time it and wouldn't have been possible with out the manager's quick and costumer service oriented mentality. Our rooms were spotless each time we got back from whatever activities we were doing that day. They have free wi if and computers in the lobby and free local and international calls to the US from the lobby! Traditional Costa Rican breakfast was included with the stay and it was too amazing. I could write more and more about our short but soooooo pleasant stay here but I think I've said enough. Close to all the nightlife,bars,restaurants and attractions etc. awesome 24hr mini mart with alcohol available. Love coco palms!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kiriam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Loved the Hotel so much for a week in December, came back in February for a month! Going back in April for another month...what can I say...fell in love with Costa Rica. With Coco being so close to the airport ...you can't beat the location. I used Coco as a home base, as I traveled down the coast of Costa Rica... then up to San Juan del Sur and Granada, Nicaragua. Stayed this trip in a 2 bedroom/3 bath (with kitchen) suite on the 3rd floor with an ocean view off the huge deck. Maid service is outstanding with great laundry service for those extended trips. Love the staff as they are so accommodating, friendly and fun to be around. Emma the sushi chef/artist is the BEST in Coco, always has fresh fish for her great rolls!
The Hotel Bar/Restaurant is always full of world travelers with great stories, cold beer and Cuban cigars. Always have a blast at this Hotel...many thanks and kudos to the owners John and Savannah.

Room Tip: It's about attitude...get a good one...and smile your in paradise....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 9RobertG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We were passing through Playas del Cocos and booked a one-night stay here and showed up around check in time at 4 pm. After waiting in line for a few minutes the front desk told us that the hotel was full and they had just given away the last room to the couple standing in front of us in line! I was in complete shock because we arrived pretty early and usually I can see them being full late at night, but not at 4 pm!!

The owner came over and said they were putting us at Hotel Savannah a few blocks down. The hotel was horrible compared to what I expected at Coco Palms, in fact the owner even agreed that the accommodations at Hotel Savannah are not at the same level. Our room at Savannah was tiny, even though it was considered a "king size bed"; there was barely any space to walk around the room. We immediately found out there was no hot water in the shower and no hand washing soap or shampoo in the bathroom. The pool was filthy and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in days, if not weeks. My wife found ants crawling on the walls.

The worst part about this experience was that I later found out that the owner could have put us at Rubys, or another hotel that was a 3-star with the same level of service, but he chose to downgrade us and try to save money. In fact, when we mentioned that the sign out side said $25/nt and we paid $80 for Coco Palms, he only refunded us $40, and said that was the rate at Savannah.

I shudder to think that he would use the Coco Palms name to intentionally overbook the hotel and then put people at the sister property when all the rooms fill up. In fact, we ran into one of his former employees at a bar in town and that person said that the owner is bad business and his shady business practices led him to quit and work for another hotel.

I personally will never book Hotel Coco Palms again and encourage you to be careful when dealing with this business.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank volkswankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
#5 of 11 in Playas del Coco
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
#7 of 11 in Playas del Coco
271 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Chantel
Hotel Chantel
#2 of 11 in Playas del Coco
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Savannah
Hotel Savannah
#9 of 11 in Playas del Coco
13 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coco Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coco Palms

Property: Hotel Coco Palms
Address: Downtown Coco | across from Soccer Field, off the Beach, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coco Palms 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Palms Hotel and Restaurant located in Playas del Coco one of the fastest growing tourist areas of the Gulf of Papagayo and one of the most popular holiday destinations for Costa Rican and foreign tourists. This growing resort community is located 30 km from Daniel Oduber International Airport. Coco Palms features a cool environment surrounded by a tropical garden with outdoor seating by the pool with the soothing sound of the decorative fountains. This place brings variety of services including hotel, restaurant, 24-hour Market and 2 function rooms. In the restaurant Coco Palms can enjoy your meals around the pool surrounded by a beautiful garden enlivened music. Enjoy international cuisine with specialties Sushi and Thai food. In the bar you can find a variety of national and international spirits, cocktails of tropical fruits and natural beverages. It has 49 comfortable rooms in different Standard, Suite, Studios, Apartments categories (equipped), all properly equipped with queen or king beds, pelol dryer (to request), coffee maker, Minirefri, air conditioning, telephone, hot water, facilities that will provide total comfort in your room. We have single occupancy rooms, double and triple. We have a small library if you do not bring your book or share one already finished. We offer FREE Wireless Internet Calls to USA & CANADA FREE (from Reception) Rates do not include breakfast. We have special packages for groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Coco Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Palms Hotel
Hotel Coco Palms Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing