We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real Italian food in Playas del Coco”

el gusto de la vida
Ranked #17 of 106 Restaurants in Playas del Coco
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The real Italian food in Playas del Coco”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We live in Playas del Coco, this is the place where we can find the real Italian food,not an Italian/American in US, The portion are huge, the 2 owners and the helper lady are very helpful and friendly, we eat there at least twice a month.Glad to have them in Cococ

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Van T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    15
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Italian”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Wife and I decided to eat late and they stayed open so that we could. I ordered the spaghetti and meatball. Wife had the fettuccine. Both meals were awesome. Probably the best spaghetti and meatballs I've ever had. We recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently Great Italian Food!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I have eaten at El Gusto de La Vida close to 15 times (lunch & dinner) and have never been
disappointed. The food is consistently good and they make a great bread that you can dip in olive oil & vinegar (no butter needed). Sarah (the server) is very attentive & sweet. The carbonara
pasta is one of the best my husband has ever had (& he considers himself an expert) and the
mixed seafood pasta is awesome - my favorite! I highly recommend this restaurant. Diane Madara, Ocotal

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardrossan,Alberta,Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Friendly waiter but the food was terrible, dry bread, no butter, lasagna had few noodles, too much flavourless bechemel sauce.
The pasta with italian sausage left me with grit in my teeth from the gristle in the sausage and it had virtually no flavour.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank albertaborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Andiamo ragazzi!!!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Fantastic ambient, awesome italian cousine and very friendly staff! On Saturday exelent live music...you can't miss it!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed el gusto de la vida also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to el gusto de la vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing