We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabuloso!”
Review of Mar Y Sol Restaurant - CLOSED

Mar Y Sol Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fabuloso!”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Start your evening upstairs, settle into a sofa by the rail and order a passion fruit mojito, or two. Enjoy the sunset, then head down for the best food in the area, if not the province. Excellent, well prepared fish. Steak skewers dusted in ground coffee beans were surprisingly fine. Service was attentive yet not overbearing.

The restaurant is hard to find if you are driving, on the right with a poorly marked sign, up a steep road. Valet parking makes it easy once you arrive. prices were high for Guanacaste, but not for what you get. Would be twice the price back home. A truly memorable evening, highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    44
    16
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, Md.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not again”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

over priced - food not that great .........................................

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RichAbingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kc
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Sunset in the bar is a must, but maybe dinner elsewhere”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This hillside spot has gotten a lot of attention and is rated as one of the top restaurants in the area. Sometimes our expectations are so high that we end up disappointed. It was good, but not great. We enjoyed our drink in the bar as we watched the perfect Pacific sunset. I would recommend the mojitos ($5), the Cava ($7), and Argentenian Sauv Blanc ($7), but would skip the reds. The ceviche trio with ostiones was a hit ($12) as was the sushi. The entrees were average. The desserts were pretty good, especially the coconut icecream. If you are in the Playa Flamingo area, you may want to try it for one meal, as it was a memorable sunset. Just make sure your expectations are where they should be. They will also pick you up for free if you make arrangements with your reservation.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kpenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC !”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Went three times during the week visit to Flamingo.......has it all -- view, beautiful decor, friendly staff, EXCELLENT cuisine......in my opinion, one of the best overall in the world...............

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Derek2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good but we ate at better places”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We had heard so many good things about mar y sol so we saved our visit there until our last night! We wanted to have a great last meal on our last night in costa rica. We had so many fabulous meals during our trip and although this was pretty good, it wasnt one of our favorites. Don't get me wrong, the food was okay but it didn't live up to its reputation. The hostess was extremely helpful but our waiter was a little pushy and trying to up sell us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JessEE221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mar Y Sol Restaurant also viewed

Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing