We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time”

Point Break Surf School
Ranked #5 of 42 Tours in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: With a focus on personalized attention and safety, Point Break Surf is the surf school and Stand Up Paddle tour company of choice. Surf Lessons include LOCAL pick up at your hotel / accommodation, surf board and rash guard, 2hr lesson and mid-lesson water & fresh local fruits for snack. Surf lessons take place in Playa Grande (lessons can be arranged to other surf locations (additional fees may apply). We accommodate kids of all ages as well as large groups & wedding parties. We also offer Stand Up Paddling (SUP) lessons and tours in Conchal, Playa Flamingo, Brasilito, Potrero, Gulf of Papagayo & other pristine beaches in Guanacaste, Costa Rica.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great Time”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were staying at the Westin and ended up going here instead of through the resort. What a great choice!!!! Mike and staff were great- super friendly and helpful. Both my husband and I were able to get up on our first try. By the end, my husband caught a few waves completely on his own. Highly highly recommend!!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emily V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must Do.”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had the pleasure of meeting Mike and Michelle last week during our vacation. They run a top notch surfing school that our girls, ages 18,17 and 13, loved! In fact, when we asked which excursion was their favorite, it was unanimous that the surfing lessons was the winner. Point Break focuses on safety first, which was important to us. After that, the instruction with Brayan was awesome. He showed great patience and energy during the lessons, and after 5 minutes, the girls were getting up and surfing. The experience overall was very easy. Mike picked all 5 of us up, and took us to the lessons. My wife and I watched and took pictures and otherwise hung out while the girls wore themselves out surfing. After two hours (which is all you need because it is strenuous!), Mike returned us to our villa. When we return to Playa Flamingo, the girls have already mentioned they would like to participate in surfing camp over several days. Thanks MIke and Michelle, see you next time!! John in Atlanta.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohninAtlanta2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband spent the day with Point Break taking surfing lessons during our recent trip to Costa Rica. Michelle and Mike picked him up at the hotel and took him to a beautiful and very secluded beach about 20 minutes away that was close to Tamarindo. Another family was part of the class. Mike was very patient, and by the end of the day, my husband got up for a few rides. Everyone else in the class got up as well. Michelle provided fresh pineapple and water to all the vacationers. He said that he would definitely recommend Point Break to anyone learning to surf in that area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Turbofletch75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unique SUP”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Enjoyed an early morning of SUP with the owner. He was very personable, knowledgeable about the area and had a cool background story to share. Probably one of the coolest, most private placed we will ever SUP. Highly recommend this company if surfing or doing SUP in this area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Necole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience and highlight of our trip!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

What a fun and amazing experience we had with Point Break Surf!!! First off, reservations were very easy through their website, and Michelle was very prompt to respond to our inquiries. We stayed at the Westin where Mike, the owner, picked us up. We had about a 30 minute drive to where we did the lessons on an amazingly beautiful and quiet stretch of Playa Grande. We were pleasantly surprised that it ended up being only my husband and I, so we got our own little private lesson! Brayan was a great instructor...professional, but fun and also very patient with us newbies. Mike hung out on the beach, preparing fresh pineapple for our break midway through, and also taking some amazing pictures of our experience that we were able to purchase and download for ourselves. Mike and Michelle run a great operation and we highly recommend them if you're in the area and want to learn to surf! You can tell that they are passionate about what they do and really care about their customers. This was one of our favorite activities during our entire trip to Costa Rica. Thank you Mike, Michelle and Brayan for making it possible and helping us create memories we will have for a lifetime!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Point Break Surf School also viewed

Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Conchal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Point Break Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing