We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A peaceful haven”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool, Spa, Sun Deck, and Monkeys
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool, Spa, Sun Deck, and Monkeys
Elevated Walkways Thru the Gardens The Gardens are Magical at Night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
165 reviews
Pool, Spa, Sun Deck, and Monkeys
Elevated Walkways Thru the Gardens
The Gardens are Magical at Night
Elevated walkway through the Gardens
Sunset and The Gardens Light up. Magical
Living and Dinning room Table for 6 Overlooking the Gardens
Living Room with AC, TV, Walk out to Gardens
Living Room
Living Room Open to the Gardens
Living Room Open to Front Terrace
Kitchen with Walkout to Dining and Seating Area
Kitchen with Granite Counter Tops and Laundry Room
Fully Equipped Kitchen with Granite Counter Top
Breakfast Counter
Spiral Staircase to 2nd Floor
Master Bedroom with Ensuite
Master Bedroom AC, TV Walkout To Day Bed & Seating Area
Deck off Master Overlooking the Gardens
Master Bedroom with Vaulted Ceiling AC, TV and Walkout
Ensuite Bath with Rain Shower
2nd Bedroom with AC, TV and Walkout
2nd Bedroom with AC, TV, Walkout to Deck with Day Bed
2nd Bedroom Deck With Day Bed
Private Side Yard
Private Side Yard with Dining, Seating, BBQ
Stef Surf one of two Pool Decks
Spa, Pool, Sun Deck
Sunset and the Gardens lighting up
Fishing on the Beach
Playa Flamingo
Playa Flamingo
Playa Danta
Our Neighbors
Our Neighbors
One Of The Many Beautiful Flowers found on the Property
Guest Photo: We Love, One Minute Walk to our Beautiful Beach
Sunset Just out Side our Door.
Rum in Coconuts Picked from the Gardens at the Stef Surf Pool
Stef Surf Guests walking the Hanging Bridges at the Congo Trail Canopy Tour
Stef Surf Guest learning to Surf
Stef Surf Guest Success First Try Surf Lessons
Stef Surf Guest learning to Surf and Celebrating Success
Stef Surf Guests at Mardi Gras
Stef Surf Guests on a Sunset Cruise
Stef Surf Guest Just Having Too Much Fun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 165 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jennie H
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A peaceful haven”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This villa was a little piece of paradise with everything we needed for a stay with young children and grandparents!

The villa is well turned out, and efficiently managed by Francisco who was on hand for everything we needed.

Being there in the rainy season meant we had somewhere comfortable to hang out when the heavens opened for the late afternoon!

Thanks again

Jennie

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerPresid...
Schenectady
1 review
“ONE OF THE BEST”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had the good fortune of staying at Stef Surf this past month and can confidently confirm that this was one of the BEST PLACES WE HAVE EVER STAYED!!! When we arrived, we were warmly greeted by Francisco who led us to our Stef Surf condo (El Tucan). Set in a tropical oasis of lush greenery and fruit trees, Stef Surf is peppered with delightful little surprises... like the papayas you can grab from your deck at El Tucan and Francisco's pet parakeet that greets you every time you enter Stef Surf!! The condos themselves are charming, spacious, and smart. We felt right at home but yet in an ultra-special-and-unique-sanctuary kind of home! Stef Surf is in close proximity to the beach as well as some awesome restaurants and bars (by the way, there is no bad meal to be had in Costa Rica… food is taken very seriously and everything is super fresh without preservatives or hormones). Several nights however, we found ourselves content to just chill in the pool at Stef Surf! One last comment on the hospitality you'll find at Stef Surf. Our flight home did not depart until evening… and while El Tucan was expecting new guests that day, Greg was gracious to allow us to hang out in another Stef Surf condo until our departure. This was VERY much appreciated after a late night out celebrating our time in Costa Rica!! :-) Pura vida!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dena4814
Bellaire, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay! Like a little oasis.”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Loved Stef Surf! This condo was spacious and beautiful. There was plenty of room for the 6 of us in our condo. The grounds and the groundskeeper were amazing. The setting is so relaxing. Very convenient to the beach and multiple restaurants. Will definitely be back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H
Mactier, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
“Heavenly, Lush, and Perfect Location!”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We just arrived home from our trip to Costa Rica and know that we will definitely be back with our family regularly. Staying at Stef Surf helped to make our trip spectacular knowing we had a lovely, safe home to lounge, sleep and visit with friends at.

The home and grounds are so beautiful. Francisco and his wife keep the entire place spotless. The gardens are talked about around the community as one of the best. While lounging on one our three porches, it feels like you are in the lush rainforest while on your swinging chair or plush couch. I loved going out to read my book in the mornings while the costa rican coffee brewed. The master bedroom was heaven with the ceiling to floor windows. Everything in the home is stocked and there wasn't anything else we needed. We did bring a portable blue tooth speaker that we used by the pool or on the balconies. There were Howlers in the tree down the road that we visited each morning, Coconuts and Papayas that Fransisco would surprise us by bringing it to our door that grow on the property.

There are so many things to do in this area within a 10 to 40 minute drive that we kept so busy the whole time. Our last day, we made a point to stay close to "home" just so we could really relax and enjoy the space which was our main purpose of our trip. Greg and Gladys sent us a detailed list of their favourite things to do which was so helpful. We kept referring to it throughout our trip. We loved playa Grande which was a quieter beach unless the surf was high when the surfers came out. I took lessons here from Yei who runs the smoothie bar called Taco Star. He was a great teacher and I met my goal of actually catching a wave! I went over to Bahia Del Sol for open air Sattva Yoga (Tues. Thurs. Sat.) a few times which was everything I ever imagined authentic yoga was. We went on the Panache boat for an afternoon tour of the North shore and went snorkelling in a beautiful bay. We met such great people. Another highlight was the Congo Trail where we went on the Original Canopy Tour (11 connected zip lines) and the Extreme (flying along 400m zip in superman style with rappelling and extreme swing). My husband and I loved the tandem zip line where we held hands flying over the rainforest.

As far as restaurants, there are so many delicious ones so close. We had every intention of cooking but kept wanting to try other places recommended or revisit our favourites. We especially loved Angelina's and Las Brislas (which is a little walk on the beach from Stef Surf).

We really would recommend this place to anyone. It helped us to fall in love with Costa Rica. All the people we met here, were so helpful, genuine and I didn't feel like there were any ulterior motives from any local we came in contact with. We will definitely be back!!!

Thank you so much Fransisco and family and, Greg and Gladys for opening your home to us. We LOVED it!!!!!

Lisa and Graham

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden, pool, master bedroom, porches, steps to gorgeous beach
Liked least: The outdoor night lighting (for sleeping) but extra precaution for safety.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jadk64
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pura Vida!”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This place truly delivered! The property was absolutely beautiful and everything we expected and more. Greg was wonderful, as he answered all of my e-mails promptly and made the entire experience of renting in another country very easy. Stef Surf looks just like the pictures on the website. It was cozy and quiet, as there are only 4 rentals available. We usually felt like we had the pool to ourselves, which was wonderful after a hot day of exploring. This is not the place to stay if you want the resort experience, but we did not. I recommend having a rental car, as there are many beaches, restaurants, and activities in the area to visit

Francisco, the caretaker of the property, is WONDERFUL! He was available for any problems/questions that we had. We absolutely loved his parakeet that lived in the vines by the front entrance. We looked for him every time we came or went (and occasionally took him inside with us) .

What we liked best was the beautiful property and tastefully decorated condo. It was very conveniently located. Also, we felt very safe, as the property has walls around it and the front gate requires a key (which you are given). We appreciated Lis coming to visit the first morning to answer questions about the area and help us set up activities. I would not hesitate to recommend Stef Surf to anyone looking for a homey, relaxing place. We can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lush plants on property, privacy, beautiful condo.
Liked least: I wish there had been coffee available the first morning to make.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelbelle4
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Little Slice of Heaven”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I stayed at Stef Surf for 3 nights with my boyfriend and friends and enjoyed it very much! The villa (along with a couple other condos) are all together, roughly an hour away from the Liberia Airport.
When we arrived, we were greeted by Francisco, and the dogs, and felt very much at home! The condo itself was huge, with a full kitchen, living room, and two bedrooms. We stayed in the master bedroom with an en-suite bathroom; the room itself was gorgeous; comfortable bed, a balcony overlooking the little bar outside our unit. There is a beach approx a 2 min walk away and fairly secluded. If you want peace and quiet, this is the place for you! There are plenty of beachs and restaurants to visit but overall this is condo rental was more for a relaxed, tranquil trip.
Small things I didn't like; the previous occupants had left a brought in a lot of fish, so the owners had to air out the fridge because it didn't smell great and made our food all smell fishy. I also wasn't a huge fan of the cloth that closed to the master bedroom bathroom.. there was no door. Aside from that, everything was great.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BongoToad
Lafayette, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, peaceful, beautiful, we're ready to move there!”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had such a wonderful time at Stef Surf. The condo is elegant, spacious and offers lots of privacy. We were surprised to find out the other units had people staying in them because we never heard and rarely saw anyone the whole time. The units are soundproof even with 2 toddlers staying in the adjoining condo and we never heard a peep. We found the location to be perfect to everything, very short 2 minute walk to the beach, or 10 minute drive to Flamingo for nice white sand. Its an easy drive to the monkey trail and Playa del Coco(if you have a strong heart and 4 wheel drive), and short walk to the Super Wendy, Merkdo market and local bars and restaurants. Its also only about 25 minutes or so to Tamarindo and Lagosta beach. Francisco and Marling are two of the sweetest people and I always made sure to stop and say hi to Paco the parakeet who was usually hanging out in the entry way. We had a fantastic time and can't wait to go back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing