We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hate to leave, I only have two days left.”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool, Spa, Sun Deck, and Monkeys
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool, Spa, Sun Deck, and Monkeys
Elevated Walkways Thru the Gardens The Gardens are Magical at Night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
165 reviews
Pool, Spa, Sun Deck, and Monkeys
Elevated Walkways Thru the Gardens
The Gardens are Magical at Night
Elevated walkway through the Gardens
Sunset and The Gardens Light up. Magical
Living and Dinning room Table for 6 Overlooking the Gardens
Living Room with AC, TV, Walk out to Gardens
Living Room
Living Room Open to the Gardens
Living Room Open to Front Terrace
Kitchen with Walkout to Dining and Seating Area
Kitchen with Granite Counter Tops and Laundry Room
Fully Equipped Kitchen with Granite Counter Top
Breakfast Counter
Spiral Staircase to 2nd Floor
Master Bedroom with Ensuite
Master Bedroom AC, TV Walkout To Day Bed & Seating Area
Deck off Master Overlooking the Gardens
Master Bedroom with Vaulted Ceiling AC, TV and Walkout
Ensuite Bath with Rain Shower
2nd Bedroom with AC, TV and Walkout
2nd Bedroom with AC, TV, Walkout to Deck with Day Bed
2nd Bedroom Deck With Day Bed
Private Side Yard
Private Side Yard with Dining, Seating, BBQ
Stef Surf one of two Pool Decks
Spa, Pool, Sun Deck
Sunset and the Gardens lighting up
Fishing on the Beach
Playa Flamingo
Playa Flamingo
Playa Danta
Our Neighbors
Our Neighbors
One Of The Many Beautiful Flowers found on the Property
Guest Photo: We Love, One Minute Walk to our Beautiful Beach
Sunset Just out Side our Door.
Rum in Coconuts Picked from the Gardens at the Stef Surf Pool
Stef Surf Guests walking the Hanging Bridges at the Congo Trail Canopy Tour
Stef Surf Guest learning to Surf
Stef Surf Guest Success First Try Surf Lessons
Stef Surf Guest learning to Surf and Celebrating Success
Stef Surf Guests at Mardi Gras
Stef Surf Guests on a Sunset Cruise
Stef Surf Guest Just Having Too Much Fun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 165 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Lyla M
1 review
“Hate to leave, I only have two days left.”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I really do not want to share, for fear you will not have room for the next vist. What a wonderful property you have. Thank you for the most wonderful holiday.

As you know I am not a great traveler but the time I have spent at your home and on your property has changed my mind.

I loved everything from the lovely grounds to my perfect accommodations. Everything was at my fingertips. Francisco and Marling, your care takers were amazing they made every day special.
When I needed to reach back home you even provide a free phone.

Your welcome package that arrived prior to my arrival was complete, I was never lost for a restaurant, grocery store or pharmacy or beach to visit.

Lis the property concierge was perfect arranging car rentals at rates I could not find my self and her suggestions for activities and local knowledge was invaluable.

I loved the pasta at the monkey bar, the margarita at las Brisas, the sunset and appetizers at the sailing centre, the dinners and entertainment at Perlas.

Thank you. Lyla ( Toronto )

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afischer2...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful property, very hospitable hosts”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Location is perfect, quick walk to the beach and local restaurants, and short drive to other beaches and activities. The groundskeepers and concierge were incredibly nice and helpful and the property is absolutely beautiful. Inside of the units is very nice, all appliances work great. Would recommend to anybody staying in the area.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richkniss
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodations in Playa Protrero!”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent four of our nine nights in Costa Rica at Stef Surf. They were among the most enjoyable. We stayed in the La Gaviota unit. The layout of the four units was great for our extended family. Having a pool was nice to have a break from all of the wonderful beaches in the vicinity. The kitchen had everything you would need, including spices (which our rental in Arenal did not have). This place was very well landscaped and felt as if you were in your own oasis. The balconies are very nice to sit on and enjoy an evening.

Compared to our stay in Arenal, Playa Protrero has many restaurants to choose from and more beaches than you can count in a 5 to 20 minute drive. you spend more time enjoying your vacation rather than time in the car. Be sure to check out Hibiscus, El Castillo and the Surf Box restaurants.

If you are planning to go to this area, it is much more peaceful than the other adjacent areas such as Las Brisas or Tamarindo The other benefit is you really get a chance to know the local people and culture, which was actually one of the best memories on our trip. Be sure to listen to Liz, the concierge. She arranged a chef to come cook for us one night with a true Costa Rican spread. We also did a half day catamaran sail that she told us about.

I want to mention how helpful Francisco was. From the moment we arrived he took care of us (helping us with our bags), taking care of the grounds, etc. to the day of departure. An example of this is on the day left. I wanted to get the sand our of our rental car and asked for a wisk broom. He ended up vacuuming our car completely. Knowing some Spanish helps with communication, but he does know some English.

I'd highly recommend this place. It was a great value for the money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the units and outdoor pool.
Liked least: Some other units in our group experienced an AC issue and leaky washer and dryer. If the hot tub was actually hot, rather than the same temperature as the pool, it woudl be better.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecv60
Dowell, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Quiet,Relaxing”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Great place for a family vacation! Lots of beaches and parks nearby to visit and explore. Francisco and the rest of the staff at Stef Surf were extremely helpful. We had a wonderful week there!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZMom2014
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay at Stef Surf”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My family along with 2 other families rented 3 condos at Stef Surf for 4 days in July (11 people total). Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but did feel the property could use some updating and small changes to make it more comfortable. The washer broke while we were there and couldn't be fixed until after we left, which was disappointing because we had lots of wet beach clothing, dirty towels etc... It was leaking water on the ground when we arrived. The master shower head (in the Delfin unit) is old and needs replaced. It sprayed water everywhere, even outside the shower, and was clogged so it didn't have enough power to rinse out the shampoo in my hair. I ended up using the kids shower instead. Also, the units all have narrow spiral staircases that were uncomfortable to climb every time you wanted to go upstairs to go the restroom or get something from your suitcase. The stairs wouldn't be good for anyone with knee issues and the property isn't designed to house anyone in a wheelchair. Another issue that we didn't care for was the master bathroom in all the units don't have a door for privacy. At night I woke up my spouse whenever I went to the bathroom. Also, the glass windows and sliding doors are all enclosed in metal frames that are very noisy. If the wind is strong or the ceiling fans are running, it makes the metal frames bang together. It was difficult for my husband and I to sleep until we turned off all ceiling fans at night. The (Delfin) furniture was awkward and uncomfortable because it slipped around on the concrete floor. Lastly, the WiFi didn't work upstairs in the kids bedroom, which made the kids somewhat unhappy, and the reception went out intermittently, and made it difficult to conduct business on your laptop.

As others have stated, the lush, tropical grounds are beautiful and relaxing. Francisco does a wonderful job maintaining the property. He also lives on the property to provide security, which allowed us to feel very safe. He mainly speaks Spanish, so communication can be a little broken down at times, but he's very friendly and helpful. Definitely contact Lis, who offers free concierge service to any excursions. She booked a catamaran curise/snorkel for us, and a private home cooked dinner for all 3 families by a woman named Alina. Lis really made our trip feel special. She even let us borrow her personal thermometer when my husband came down with a fever. Truly hospitable people in Costa Rica that make you feel like family. The pool on the property is small and not heated, but was refreshing for the kids. The jacuzzi isn't heated either, so we didn't use it. The water was fairly cold, which was such a bummer because we all really wanted to relax in the jacuzzi.

The house is a 5 min. walk to Playa Portrero beach which is a quiet black sand beach, but the best beach within a 10 min. drive is Playa Conchal, as the owners of the property have stated. It's great for everyone, especially families with kids. It's the perfect size, not too big or too small. It has a soft sand beach with small seashells throughout, and the water is clear compared to other beaches. It's not clear like the water in Hawaii, nor will you see any fish in the water, but it's beautiful none the less. You can rent wave runners, horses, ATVs, a banana boat or rent a fishing boat. Conchal also has a few great vendors on the beach for inexpensive shopping.

The best restaurants we ate at all received top marks on Trip Advisor and were recommended by Greg & Gladys. Don't leave the area without trying Estero Azul. It has the best Red Snapper, chicken and rice dishes (Arroyos con Pollo), and Ceviche - sooo delicious, everyone's favorite in our group. At El Castillo, Friday is Barbecue rib night. It was extremely tasty. We also ate at Hibiscus at the end of the street (a 3 min. walk from the front door of Stef Surf). It was fine dining at it's best. The menu changes weekly because the chef is Italian and French and cooks anything from tender chicken in a wine/mushroom sauce, to mussels, or rib eye. Everything is homemade, even the bread and desserts. Don't leave without visiting these restaurants. Oh, we also ate breakfast at Surf Box. It has scrumptious, chef style breakfast food you won't find anywhere else in the area.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The best part about this property is the quiet, small town feel of the area, and its close proximity to so many great beaches. Thank you for the wonderful memories Greg, Gladys, Franciso, Marling and especially Lis. Pura Vida!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: The poor WiFi reception. My kids were unhappy they couldn't get access upstairs in their room.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary R
1 review
“"Pura Vida" - we now truly understand what that means!”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Okay let's start by saying that Greg was wonderful to work with on setting up the reservation and provide a ton of information about Costa Rica and the location of their rental property. Francisco and Marling were so kind and helpful during our stay which made us feel extremely welcomed. The property did not let us down in it's comfort and cleanliness with beautiful landscaping where we woke each morning to the wonderful sounds of the birds and other local wildlife. Just a short walk to the secluded Potrero beach to enjoy the warm waters and surf for a day of boogie boarding or wandering in either direction to a nearby beach restaurant for lunch or dinner.

You can spend the time relaxing on the beach or in the pool at Stef Surf or rent a car and drive up to Monteverde to ride the Cloud Forest zip line. We even enjoyed the occasional rain shower that kept us from too much sun exposure when we needed a little break. We also sailed for a day on a catamaran at the Costa Rica Sailing Center just a stroll down the beach from Stef Surf. The owners, Jeff and Justin were super nice guys and we highly recommend stopping by there if only to sit and chat, drink a beer and watch the waves roll onto the beach. It's a laid back attitude at Stef Surf and one that gave us exactly what we needed - a rejuvenated spirit, a smile on our faces and a longing to return someday soon - "no problem" is our new mantra!

Thank you Greg!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness and very accommodating staff.
Liked least: Beds were a little hard.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy C
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Would really recommend. Great location,great service,great people.Rooms are very clean,spacious and open.Outside was like a Oasis.Plants, pool,baby parrots. Our own private getaway.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing