We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our best memories of Costa Rica”

Serendipity Charters-Sailing Costa Rica
Book In Advance
More Info
US$110.00*
and up
Small-Group Sunset Sail from Flamingo Marina
Ranked #1 of 42 Tours in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: When you sail with Serendipity Charters, you are chartering your own private yacht. As featured on the cover of Sail Magazine, she is a lovely 50 foot Beneteau complete with 4 cabins with private bathrooms, swim off and on transom, outdoor and indoor dining and a full kitchen. Captain Brad and crew are experienced, safe and knowledgable. We provide a full bar, lunch, snacks, snorkel and fishing gear to make this a memorable day. This is why we are ranked as the #1 Sailing tour company on tripadvisor in the area. Overnight trips are available to local anchorages and Witch's Rock and Ollies Point in the Santa Rosa National Park. Serving, Tamarindo, Playa Grande, Playas del Coco, Papagayo, Playa Avellanas, Playa Negra, Westin
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of our best memories of Costa Rica”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The 5 of us were fortunate enough to have chosen to sail with Brad on his boat just a couple of days before Christmas. We had a morning sail and Brad took us past some gorgeous beaches, and we stopped at Honeymoon Beach, where we snorkeled around and then explored the beach and rocks and a cave. It was the most beautiful beach we had ever seen! And Costa Rica has a lot of beautiful beaches. Our three teenagers, ages 14, 16 and 18 said that the sailing trip was their favorite thing they did in the 3 weeks we were in Costa Rica. And we did a lot of things! High praises! Brad is a great host and an interesting guy. He listened to what we wanted to do and he made my son's day when he offered him a second helping of lunch (really good chicken tacos!) I highly recommend sailing with Brad if you want to get away from the crowds and really go sailing. We would definitely do this again! Maybe we will try the sunset cruise! Thanks Brad!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 2ndchanceatlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradellen, Owner at Serendipity Charters-Sailing Costa Rica, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thanks for great review! I know there are many choices when it comes to your vacation. Thanks for trusting us with one of your days!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    4
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great day on the ocean”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Our family of four adults spent the day with Brad sailing out of Potrero.

This was really a wonderful day. This is the best way to enjoy the breathtaking coast. Sailing was good with pretty steady winds for much of the day.

We visited a number of coves and had a good look at the beaches.

We anchored in a nice Cove and snorkeled and spent a bit of time on a beach. Lunch on board was terrific.

We saw an amazing variety of sea life including numerous reef fish, mantra rays jumping, dolphins. While snorkeling my son was able to spot an octopus and an eel.

While sailing we encountered a number of humpback whales that were on the same course and spent an hour or two sailing along with them. They came surprisingly close to the boat on a couple of occasions.

The day ended with a beautiful sunset.

It's all priceless.

Helpful?
Thank leeattoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well worth doing......”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Charming guy, good assistant.
A wonderful afternoon.
Ok, so the boat is rather elderly, but she was under sail much of the time, and it was lovely.
Good food, as much and as you would like to drink.
A thoroughly nice afternoon.
Expensive, but memorable. Go for it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BoutiqueFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must Do Experience!”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Captain Brad and crew were so welcoming, boat was immaculate, we had plenty of room very comfortable for our family of four. We never felt rushed and felt very safe. Capt Brad is very knowledgable of the area and gave us tips on how to enjoy the rest if our trip. We went snorkeling and again felt very safe his crew member, Daniel, went with us. We all loved Daniel very nice, calm and can dive down and catch puffer fish, that was fun to watch while snorkeling. Lunch was delicious, might sound crazy but was the best food we had while here in costa rica so far. We caught two fish a barracuda and a Jack Creville. Toward the end of the day we just sat back and relaxed, listened to music, and watched a beautiful sunset. Out of everything we have done so far here in Costa Rica this was our favorite! Don't go with anyone else, you will not be disappointed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mstraveljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradellen, Owner at Serendipity Charters-Sailing Costa Rica, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thanks! It was great having you all out. Glad we could catch some fish for you. Enjoy the rest of your trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Awesome Sailing”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Capitan Brad and he crew were awesome. We sailed with our family (wife, and 4 Girls aged 7, 10, 14 and 16) and had a great time. The Sailboat was in excellent condition and more than enough room for our family and could have had a few more as well. We sailed up the coast, had great views of the coastline and beautiful sunset. As my 10 year old the tacos were great. We will sail again with Capitan Brad and his crew.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 58Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Serendipity Charters-Sailing Costa Rica also viewed

Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Conchal, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Serendipity Charters-Sailing Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing