We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Hotel is fantastic, very clean, great pool, good breakfast and steps from a beautiful beach. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. The guest rooms are very large and clean. The pool also has a good about of lounge chairs to ensure that you can hang out there anytime you want.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

We were ecstatic to read your review and wish to thank you for giving us five "bubbles", which is what we aim for. Sometimes we read comments by reviewers who complain about exactly the things you commend us for, and we are left scratching our heads, because they never complained about a thing while on property. It's truly puzzling, but your review makes us feel a whole lot better that we are doing something right---because we sure do try our hardest to make our guests happy. Thank you for taking the time to let us know that we succeeded!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,116)
There are newer reviews for Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

866 - 872 of 2,116 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

We spent 2 nights here January 12, 13, 2014 with friends from Costa Rica. The rooms were expensive and dirty. Room furniture filthy and stained looked as though no one cleaned room before we arrived. Bathroom mirror filthy, hairs everywhere.- same dirt on mirror until we checked out. Dead cock roach in bathroom. Very well abused hotel in need of a major update. Lobby furniture filthy dirty. Lobby toilets filthy. Beware happy hour can be a rip off. Would I stay again? No.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Orbiting1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

We have put in a request to TripAdvisor to see if you even stayed at our property--or possibly got us mixed up with another hotel in the area, because some of the property names are similar. Not that we don't want to own up to our mistakes--quite the contrary!-- but your comments seem just so far off the mark for our hotel! While we are not brand new, we are updating constantly and have one of the most beautiful lobbies in the area, with clean, comfortable furniture and a gorgeous view of the pool and beach. Of course, while we try to be on top of everything, the daily housekeeping of individual rooms sometimes can and do fall through the cracks when the hotel is very full. We take complaints about housekeeping very, very seriously, because cleanliness is the number one rule of successful operations. We have already let one housekeeper go because of negative comments on this site and our in-house guest comment metrix, and we won't hesitate to keep changing and re-training our staff until we achieve perfect scores in that department. Our goal is to remain the number one hotel in Playa Flamingo and we constantly reinvest in our property to make that happen. If you did indeed stay with us, you have our sincerely apologies for not being up to par--and next time please complain right to management in the moment. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I researched and researched before we ended up at Flamingo Beach Resort for the last two days of our nine day trip to Costa Rica. The reviews are all over the place when you look on here. Now that I have been, I have no idea why. This hotel is great. We wanted to spend the last two days of trip at an all-inclusive on a nice beach and with a nice pool. This place had it all. If you are looking for a party hotel this is not it. We did go to bed early every night and did not leave the resort. We came here to relax and soak up some sun. We did make friends at the pool and the beach with other guests. There were a lot of kids, but honestly for the price and location--this place is great. If you want to party, go to Tamarindo or Samara for a night or two.

All-Inclusive Option-if you like to eat and drink, I would definitely sign up for this. Every time my husband and I sat down to in CR it was between $45-$80 for food and drinks for two people. We felt we would get our money worth with the AI option. We did. The drinks are fair. No, the AI option does not include any top shelf or any beer other than Imperial. The frozen drinks were fair. But we did drink. The mixed drinks were better. The food at the bar was wonderful. Loved everything we ordered. It was all junk food, but good junk food!! The breakfast was good. Plenty to choose from and just like everything else we had in CR. The food at dinner was pretty good. We ate off the menu and buffet. I had pasta every night. It was pretty standard. My husband had fish every night and said it was very good. I could see how it might get old to eat here for more than 5 nights, but based on our experience in other parts of Costa Rica it was on par with everything else we had. It is not 5 star, but definitely edible.

Pool- Wonderful. Clean. It is tough to get a chair if they are busy, so get out there early. You can get great Wifi at the pool. Like the swim up bar!

Beach- Beautiful and clean. We loved this beach, it was far better than a few others we saw in Costa Rica. Had we stayed longer we might have tried to surf. The waves were incredible when we were there. Beware of the guys on the beach trying to sell you tours. There are a few plastic chairs on the beach to use. The sunset was amazing to watch every night. The beach is literally 20 feet off the back of the resort. Walked barefoot from the pool to the beach often.

Rooms-We thought they were amazing. We were in 1201. We stayed many different places in CR. This room and bed was by far the nicest. We had a balconey view of the pool. It was not loud. The room was not musty. The bathroom was nice. The shower was not the best hot/cold, but that is all I can complain about. The housekeeping service cleaned up nice. Great American TV stations and the air conditioning was great. Absolutely 100% recommend this place and think it is just like many other AI I have been too, but very simple, nothing fancy! WiFi was not great in the rooms, spotty. The only thing that happened was I left a pair of really nice running tights when we left. I called multiple times and emailed. Still have not heard back from them and I know they found them. Don't leave anything! Getting it back might be difficult!

Spa-We did get massages. We thought the pricing was better than some other areas in CR. In Arenal, the massages cost twice what they did here. The spa itself was nice. My massage was so-so. My husband had the hot rock and loved it!

Room Tip: We stayed in 1201. I know it is a wonderful room. I cannot vouch for any of the others! That is a...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lbirdrobison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a balanced and thoughtful review on Trip Advisor of your Honeymoon Stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. 'Perfect" is what we love to hear! We regret that people sometimes go out early in the morning and put their towels down to "hold" lounge chairs, but that is something that we really can't police, we have to rely and people's common sense and sense of fairness. Which doesn't always work we admit, but truly puts us in a bind. Just like we warn our guests about using the guys on the beach who sell tours without credentials, insurance or safety concerns-- all the same, our guests often prefer these options because they can be cheaper. Glad you tried our spa. We wish we had wowed you, but at least your husband loved his, and you felt the prices were reasonable. Once again, we have to compete with massages offered by day merchants on the beach at lower prices; our guests seem oblivious that these don't have any bathroom or other facilities and usually don't even change the sheets between clients...Yuk! Thanks for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed January 3 - 10, 2014. The resort was very full due to locals being on vacation and our first room was a parking lot view with no patio/deck. On Sunday night we were moved to a third floor pool view room with a deck. Although the new room was smaller, it was better to have a deck to sit on. The smaller AC unit was also much more quiet. The rooms come with a small refrigerator filled with mini-bar drinks. We purchased beer in town and took out some of the mini-bar items to make room. The mini-bar is expensive and should be avoided. You can purchase snack items in the rec center and in town.

After reading TripAdvisor reviews, we did the breakfast only plan. The breakfast was quite good and filling. We found it easy to have a late breakfast and try one of the local restaurants for dinner. One of our favorite things at the resort was happy hour (2 for the price of 1) between 5 - 6PM at the bar above the restaurant. In January this was a great place to watch the sunset. Non happy hour drink prices were high if you are not on the all inclusive plan.

If you buy meals/drinks at the resort or in town you will save by paying in Colones. The resort and local shops/restaurants take $ but you will not get the best exchange rate. The Bank of Costa Rica is a bit of a hike and it would be nice if the resort would have shuttle service to the bank and into Brasalito.

If you plan on using the pool, do not expect to be able to go out and find a pool chair. Guests would go out before 7 AM and put towels on chairs and then disappear. It would be nice if the resort would have and enforce a rule that you have to be in the pool area in order to tie up a chair.

All in all, we were very satisfied with the resort. Our rooms were comfortable and staff were friendly and helpful. The resort is probably best for couples and families. If you want night life, this is not the place. (That was a plus for us.)

For a last tip or two if you enjoy a morning walk, go down the beach road past Coco Loco and walk up the hill. There are some spectacular houses and a great view of Playa Flamingo and the marina area. Even saw a few monkeys one morning. If you walk to Coco Loco at night with no moon, a flashlight would be advised. Great spot for a romantic beach dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TomR741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

A satisfied guest is always what we want to have, so thank you for choosing us and for writing your positive review in this forum. Like other reviewers, however, you mention your annoyance at guests who go down to the pool early to "reserve" pool chairs by placing items on them. There is really no way for us to prevent this or enforce a ban; if you see a lounge chair open for while with only a towel placed on it, feel free to move that person's towel! Unfortunately (and as always) the nice, respectful people suffer at the hands of those who don't care as much about their fellow man!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed at the Flamingo for 10 days over the New Year holiday and after the great reviews here was surprised to find it so lacking in some of the basics, especially for the price. If you expect hot showers, for example, this place isn't for you because we only had two for our entire stay. I feel like many reviews here could be misleading, depending on your expectations.

Our air conditioning broke down three times. They were quick to come out and work on it, but it had to be left on the highest setting to even begin to cool the room enough.

The rooms and furnishings are old and badly need updating. Pillows are lumpy and linens worn and stained. Housekeeping lacked in quality and sometimes we got clean towels and washcloths, sometimes not. Dust bunnies floated around the room.

Food was not good and I'm glad we did not do the all inclusive. We had the breakfast and also dined there for New Year's Eve. Local restaurants had much better quality. I also experienced the bartenders switching the alcohol from rum or vodka to what I think was the local sugar cane alcohol, and the taste difference was very apparent and they seemed to do this after the first order.

On the positive side the staff was friendly, the pool was really nice, and the beach across the dirt road was great. But I cannot, in good conscience, recommend this place.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank SuzyQTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

We regret that your guest experience was not up to par in your case, and we really wish you had contacted management while you were still on property, especially since you stayed with us for 10 days. We much prefer to address guest complaints immediately rather than read about them in this forum, after the fact. That said, we deeply apologize for your inconveniences. It's odd, because most of our reviews cite the cleanliness of our resort and also, while we admit that our restaurant is not gourmet, the food is generally quite good family fare and our all-inclusive plan is very popular. You also did not even mention our wonderful firework display on New Year's Eve along with the lively party featuring dancing to both live music and DJ. We are so sad that the failures in housekeeping and plumbing seemed to have affected your entire experience at our beautiful resort during one of the most fun times of the year, and we wish we could have done something to make it up to you, had we known about your problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My parents, my sister, and I stayed at Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa between December 26 and January 2. The hotel arranged for our round trip transport between the airport, and upon our arrival we were greeted with an alcohol free version of their signature drink, Green Monster, which is made from mint and passion fruit juice, and is absolutely delicious.
We had two spacious rooms right next to one another on the ground floor facing the parking lot. My parents had a King sized bed, and my sister and I shared a room with two spacious double beds. Despite some people’s complaints about the less than spectacular first floor parking lot view we had no issue with it, the only times we found ourselves in our rooms we were sleeping or getting ready to go out.
The hotel is a conveniently located just step from the beautiful Playa Flamingo, which even at its busiest is more than bearable. Early in the mornings the beach is completely empty, and the sunsets in the evening are spectacular. During our stay there was even a free concert on the beach!
The hotel pool and swim-up bar are also wonderful, as were our bartenders Elias, Leo and Manuel. Lulu and Arthur did a terrific job getting the vacationers involved in a variety of activities from dance lessons, to water volleyball, to aqua aerobics. Between the buffet and the menu at the restaurant there was sufficient variety for a weeks stay, the fresh fruit and fresh seafood were family favourites, and Gerro and Carlos were terrific servers. All of the staff at the hotel was friendly, courteous, and thankfully for us poor gringos, spoke some English. Any issues were tended to quickly and efficiently. The hotel has professional photographers going around the beach and the pool area taking fabulous (if slightly expensive) photos that we would not have otherwise gotten ourselves. The cost runs about $8 per photo and they put them on a CD for you to bring home.
We went the all-inclusive route which was super convenient, but I almost wish we hadn’t so we would have been forced to go out and try the other restaurants in Playa Flamingo and the nearby towns. Overall we had a terrific stay and would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allyson E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

We cannot thank you enough for your lovely and detailed review of your New Year's week stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. We were on property at the time, and could not agree more with everything you wrote. Wish we had met you, you sound like a wonderful family! Please come back and see us again, and tell your friends. Also thank you very much for the shout-outs to our hard-working staff members!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had a wonderful time here at the resort. The Bartenders, the restaurant staff to the front desk were fantastic. We stayed here for ten days and we really felt at home. I would come back here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smbcey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Aw shucks, we love you too! Even though you waited a while to write your review, we really appreciate your wonderful feedback. Hope you do come back and see us again some time soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
16.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,601 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,416 reviews
11.2 mi away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,416 reviews
13.9 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa

Address: Playa Flamingo | Guanacaste, Playa Flamingo 50308, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range: £80 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once you've experienced a Pacific Ocean sunset from the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, you may never want to leave. Located in the vacation province of Guancaste, you’ll be perfectly-positioned to explore Costa Rica's natural beauty and limitless adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing