We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Nearby Hotels
Guanacaste Lodge(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
US$88
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Flamingo Beach(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Brasilito(Brasilito)(Great Value!)
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nany(Brasilito)(Great Value!)
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conchal Hotel(Brasilito)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flamingo Marina Resort(Playa Flamingo)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,266)
Filter reviews
2,266 results
Traveller rating
1,077
798
256
86
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,077
798
256
86
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barflamingo beach resortacross the streetall inclusive planall inclusive packagecosta ricabreakfast planping pongsunset loungepool viewarenas restaurantpura vidawater aerobicsnight lifelounge chairssmall casinodestination wedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
864 - 869 of 2,266 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

It was a disappointing experience for us. We were given a pool side room which was basically in the basement with no view of the pool and also no sun light and no elevator. There was no one helping us with our bags either. It had a budget hotel feel and I have a feeling some of the rooms are for time share.

They have 2 pools, one with a wet bar. The beach upfront is a public beach so be ready for some vendors forming to sell you things or offering their services. We did the seaside massage $20 for half an hour which was reasonable but not exactly a good massage though another item is now off my bucket list.

I am not sure if I would recommend Flamingo beach as my number one pick while visiting Guanacaste. I think you'll be able to find better value in the neighboring beach areas.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Agustinkwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Reading your review was a disappointing experience as well. We deeply regret that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. We denominate our economy rooms (lowest room rate) with the designation "garden view" because that is what they are; they feature small patios with colorful hammocks, but yes, not a pool view, so the front desk definitely should have explained that to you and provided you with our other options. They also should have made sure that either one of our friendly bellmen or a security guard (if it's a late check-in) helped you with your luggage; that is our standard protocol and we are sorry it was not followed. For the record, all beaches in Costa Rica are public, try as we do to discourage the vendors along the beach there is no legal way for us to prevent their presence. However, we do discourage our guests from using their services for good reason: they are often unlicensed and uninsured; some even use their wares as a cover up for selling drugs. The beach massage you mention is a perfect example: they do not change the sheets or wash their hands between clients because they have no sanitary facilities! Meanwhile, at the hotel we have a beautiful full-service Onzen Spa in which you can request an outdoor beach massage if you wish. Yes, it is a bit more expensive, but our therapists, are licensed, very well-trained and hygenic(!) and we provide men's and women's Jacuzzi tubs, locker rooms, steam rooms, showers, refreshments, etc. Sometimes you get what you pay for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just the two of us, celebrating our 35th wedding anniv.. The location was very pretty; the accommodations very good. The service was Excellent during the whole time as well as the food served, especially the wonderful breakfast. Cons: not many, would have liked a few more places nearby for choices to eat and shop, but that's on us, not the hotel. Very comfortable and clean in all areas.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanb579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a good time in the hotel: very nice pool, good restaurant, live music, very good beach right next to the hotel. We've been offered an upgrade for "all inclusive", but did not buy it and we glad we did not - there is so much fun around that sitting every day in the same pool could be boring.
Instead, we had a dinner at Coco Loco down the beach. If you get there by 6 pm you will see a beautiful sunset! And do not miss to order they "Coco Loco" drink!
Another very good place is Marie's Restaurant, right across the street. Fantastic food! And very friendly staff!
By the way, both places recommended to us Christian Bustos. He is offering all kinds of tours outside the hotel on the beach. Well, you will see warnings that the safe place to order tours is in the hotel. Nevertheless, everyone we met was really nice and friendly in Costa Rica! We ordered from Christian a Catamaran cruise and it was really good - half a day flew like a minute and included snorkeling and a gorgeous sunset.
Pura Vida!

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms have a hammock on the balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing time at the resort! I'm giving it a 5 because it can't be beat in terms of price, location and pool!

Cons: Not many. The bathroom in our room could use some updating and the restaurant's food was good but not great (we preferred Coco Loco down the beach and Angelina's across the street, but had a few good meals at the resort too).

Pros: Service was excellent. The beach was one of the best I've ever stayed on in terms of swimming and beach walking. The pool, complete with swim up bar, was beautiful, relaxing, and fun. The spa services were also top-notch.

Also, rent some snorkel gear and check out Playa Conchal just down the road for fantastic snorkeling right on the shoreline.

We loved our stay at this resort. We would absolutely stay here again and highly recommend it!

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank bug27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

we visited May10th-14th for our honeymoon and we absolutely loved this resort. The staff was friendly and welcoming, the beach was amazing, and the room was comfortable and immaculate.This resort goes the extra mile We were greated with a tasty fruit juice on our arrival and our maid made towel animals each day of our stay. We were also given a bottle of champagne for our honeymoon, but as we are non drinkers we were allowed to trade it in for a fruit tray instead. The staff works tirelessly on the grounds and everything is classy, beautiful and comfortable. We really enjoyed the pools...we came during early rainy season but the weather was perfect! This resort grounds, pool and beach were not the least bit crowded! We enjoyed seeing the birds and iguanas on the property. Everyone was so kind...one of the groundskeepers brought my husband and I two fresh coconuts to enjoy the milk while we swam in the smaller pool. We hated to leave!! We are so glad we chose this beach instead of the RIU papagayo beach. Also we highly recommend Christian who sells excursions on the beach....we booked a horseback/snorkeling trip through him and it was a once in a lifetime experience! If you see Christian ask for the Richard Horseback/Snorkle tour....its well worth the $.

Room Tip: we had a standard room through our groupon and it was roomy and nice
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words about our property and, especially, our hard-working staff. We are so grateful that you chose our resort for such a special moment in your lives, your honeymoon, and that your stay was everything you had hoped for. We feel a special responsibility to our honeymoon, wedding and anniversary guests, because we feel so privileged to become part of your lifelong memories. We appreciate your sharing this lovely review on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews