We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our first visit to Costa Rica and he whole family loved it. Clean facility, friendly staff, great food (and lots of it). The beach was clean and plenty of space we never felt crowded.
Plenty of close by restaurants within walking distance, very relaxing atmosphere,
plenty to do during the day if you cant sit still and relax, boat trips, scuba, snorkeling etc.
we chose the river cruise, long drive on a small tour van but well worth it.
Would recommend.

Room Tip: ask for a room with an ocean view, you can watch the sun set every night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

748 - 754 of 2,128 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I absolutely loved this hotel. The beds were clean, the pool was clean and the food was very good! There were many restaurants in the area. Three were in the area and two other were close but not walkable, but the restaurants provided transportation. The sea star was an awesome restaurant along with Coco Loco. The beach was clean and beautiful but waster was a bit rough. But there are other beaches close by like Brasili and hermosa beach which had calmer waters. We absolutely loved the pool and wet bar. The drinks were plentiful and service great! We got to play bingo at the bar and won prizes like a free 15 min masage, free drink, and hat. 15 min may not be a lot but it's free! The included breskfast was also very good. Plenty to choose from. They infuse american and costa rican food. The only negatives were the slippery tubs and small ironing boards. I slipped getting into the tub because it's awkward and it would be better if they invested in better quality tubs. As far as the ironing boards, they were very short made for tables and I was afraid it would slide off the counter and I'd burn myself, it was a big inconvenience. But other than that it was a great hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I wanted to plan a vacation that would be enjoyable for my husband, 3 kids (ages 9, 6, and 3), and me. When looking for places to stay in Costa Rica, Flamingo Resort came to fit our needs and budget for an 8-day trip. When we arrived, the front desk was so accommodating after a long red-eye flight from Los Angeles, CA with a 2 hour layover in Chicago, we just wanted to relax in our room. Of course, it was only 1:30 and the room was not ready yet. Check-in time is at 3:00. Since we booked the all-inclusive package, I asked the manager if we could get a bite to eat since all of us were starving! He came back within minutes with orange & silver bands for us to wear so we can immediately enjoy all that the resort had to offer. The meal in the resort's only restaurant was perfect! In addition to the buffet, we could've also ordered from the menu which was very extensive with many delicious choices. After a nice lunch, we went back to the front and was informed that our room was now ready. A nice bellboy helped us with our luggage to our room. We had booked a family suite, but the room was actually very dark and not inviting. My husband asked if we could have another room with a better view and more lighting. Immediately the bellboy called the front desk and was told to show me another room across the way. This room was a little smaller but we liked the view it had of the pool area and the beach. We agreed to this room even though we had to pay $15 more per night. The room was so convenient to the entire hotel. With small kids, it was nice to be so close to all the amenities. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed. One night when the hairdryer broke, I made a call to the front desk and another one was brought to me within 5 minutes. The pool was a decent size and the beach was gorgeous. Truly, the dirt road is so small, I would consider it a dirt sidewalk. The beach is truly just steps away from the resort. It was a perfect beach to take a stroll with the family, enjoy the waves and beautiful sunset. We could not complain one bit about the food options for the resort. Even though there is only one restaurant, the options are plentiful. Our kids were never hungry and loved being able to order their 2 favorite drinks: "green monster" & chocolate milkshakes! Our kids also loved the family playroom. There was a movie theater, books, games, and table tennis. This was our first all-inclusive trip as a family and we would recommend it for anyone. The TAM tour desk was nice to have in planning our 2-day excursions. We did the Palo Verde river tour and Vandara Hot Springs and Adventure tour. They were both SO FUN and perfect for our children. Our only complaint for the resort was the pool area by the bar. In the pool were broken and chipped tiles that created sharp edges that could potentially cut someone while sitting or swimming in the pool. My 9 year old son unfortunately was one of them. He not only cut himself once on his leg but then the next day under his foot requiring 4 stitches. The front desk personnel was professional and caring in helping my son both times. I think he was more shocked that this was happening to the same child! His leg cut was able to be tended with some antiseptic wipes and bandage. The foot cut unfortunately was much more serious. We were lucky this was handled quickly by the hotel to help us. They called a taxi for us to a local doctor and even paid the bill. We know if our son got cut so easily in the pool, we do wonder how many others have hurt themselves or will in the future. Hopefully, they will remedy the problem by fixing the broken tiles to ensure no more "accidents." As with any trip, there are memories and stories to tell. The stitches story will always be my son's favorite story to tell. For my husband and I, we want to thank the amazing staff of Flamingo for being so gracious, courteous, and helpful. We will never forget this trip and know our wonderful experience at this hotel will always be one of those great memories. We loved Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We loved the location right on the beach. It was great to be able to watch the sun set during dinner - though the sun sets so early that we needed to get to the restaurant right at opening at 6pm if we wanted to eat at sunset. The pool was fantastic - it's shallow enough that our 8 and 11 year old could stand pretty much anywhere in it, which meant we could spend a lot longer in it since the kids didn't tire out. It's also huge, so that it never felt crowded. Playa Flamingo also felt empty and relaxing. The downside (for some) of this is that it's a small town with fewer restaurant and shopping options than some other areas, but for us, we preferred the smaller locale. Also, the food at their restaurant was fantastic. We especially liked the fettuccine toscana and the spaghetti primavera. We also went through their dive school for my husband to do his four certification dives after having done the didactic work at home, and he had a wonderful time. The concierge booked us a Palo Verde boat tour, which was fantastic. The rooms were nice, and ours was very quiet, though it didn't face the pool, so those could be noisier. Front desk staff also were very friendly and helpful. The only two things that we didn't love were the cost of laundry service (which we wouldn't have needed since we washed and dried things there very easily in our sink and air drying, but our previous hotel had been too muggy for our things to dry so we had them machine rewashed to get the musty smell out), and the fact that there are photographers taking your picture for you a bunch. The photographers were very nice, but we're private people who don't buy souvenir photos, so it felt intrusive. Still, it's the one hotel out of all 5 on our trip that I would return to without even looking for another option, should we choose to return to that area (we'd consider a Manuel Antonio trip for our Pacific stop when we return, even though we loved Flamingo). The kids were aged 11, 8, and 5, and we stayed 5 nights.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the parking lot, which was very quiet. We also could just see trees when we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank megananna22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

It was a very clean hotel, very friendly staff and the food was amazing! The pool had its own bar and the bar tenders were great. Beautiful hotel. It was on the beach and the water was crystal clear once you got past the waves.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms on the bottom floor had either a hammock to lay on or hammock chair. All the room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel earns 5 stars as far as Costa Rican hotels go. Definitely a lot of Americans, but the pool was gorgeous and not too crowded (we visited in the green season though...fewer tourists in general). Clean rooms and very kind and helpful staff. The photographers were really funny and would do an entire photo shoot for your family for no charge (just the $8/each photos you chose if you wanted to). There were fun activities organized in the hotel like karaoke and dancing. Our last night some locals taught my sister and me how to meringue! The only issue was that these events last until at least 10 each night, so if you have small kids or plan to go to sleep early, you may want to ask for a room further from the pool area. There is excellent access to the beach (less than 50 yards from our pool) and it's a 20 minute cab ride to nearby Tamarindo for some shopping and surfing (or surfer-watching). There are a few restaurants, souvenir shops, and even a pharmacy within walking distance of the hotel. We opted not to do the all-inclusive option for the hotel because we wanted to explore and try some different things. The breakfasts were included for each night at the hotel, and they were good! I would definitely return to this resort!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We are retired in Costa Rica. When we have guests that want to go to the beach this where we go. We call Flamingo Beach an adult beach, meaning there are not always a bunch of loud drunks and college kids around, making noise all night long. The beach is just what a couple likes to walk on and swim in the surf, also good for kids. The resort has all the stuff for a beach afternoon and staff will bring them out on the beach for you. You can also arrange for fishing and diving there. The food is good and sometimes excellent. We don't do the all inclusive, we get the breakfast included. There are nice places eat nearby. Wonderful Pacific sun sets. We have stayed there 7 or 8 times.

Room Tip: recommend pool side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
16.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,618 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,489 reviews
11.2 mi away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,447 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa

Address: Playa Flamingo Santa Cruz | Guanacaste, Playa Flamingo 50308, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range: £82 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once you've experienced a Pacific Ocean sunset from the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, you may never want to leave. Located in the vacation province of Guancaste, you’ll be perfectly-positioned to explore Costa Rica's natural beauty and limitless adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing