We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a bit of a dive”
Review of Mariner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mariner Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's a bit of a dive”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

But thats what I loved about it. The food was really really good and there were no pretentions. The beer is cold, the atmosphere is inviting, and it was pretty much the best way to spend my first night in Costa Rica. We ended up coming back a few times during our week stay in town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asteiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    25
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
12
31
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilito, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The restaurant offers good food at reasonable prices. Really good beef fajitas. Excellent place to escape the crowds and relax on the patio drinking ice cold beer while taking a dip in the pool. Enjoy the view of the surrounding hills and the old Flamingo Beach marina.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AccurateInfoCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
323 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We really wanted to like the Mariner, it is centrally located and unique in appearance. They have fantastic quesadillas and good cold beer. The rooms, however, are cheap for a reason. The staff is not friendly, the front desk clerk barked, "Do you have a reservation?" (which we did) when we entered the office. The room was small and smelly - so much so that we had to go buy air freshener. The pillows were rock hard, and the bathroom was in serious need of bleach. It looks as though they just don't care.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StuartandDenese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The best hotel in costa rica super clean and good food family plase

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We were staying at the Flamingo resort and stumbled upon this great restaurant. Its part of the Mariner Inn and we found that the prices were phenomenal, sometimes less than half the price of the meals at the Flamingo Resort. The service was good and the company was great - a mix of locals, tourists and guests who frequent CR regularly. The food was good and the atmosphere is more bar than restaurant. There is a pool and you can swim if you purchase food. There is indoor and outdoor seating and a cute gazebo on the patio. The decor is ecclectic - signs, license plates and bumper stickers on the wall but nice chinese laterns and lights hanging around. A great place for a meal after a long day of activities, but not somewhere to go for a romantic meal. We looked at the price for a hotel room and were intrigued by the $29/night rate, but never saw what the rooms looked like. I'd consider staying here just for the price and the proximity to 2 beaches, which were both about 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

First let me say the owners Lyn and Larry are the Greatest !! The rooms are simple
very clean, with cold AC . A few steps away your in the very Zen outdoor eating balcony
and Bar patio pool area . The food is so reasonable and really good ( Old fashion Onion rings , Milk shakes , Burgers Great stuff ) A short walk and our into the very cool town of Playa Flamingo with lots of other great places to eat, shop , explore . The beach is really nice and has shaded area's to hide from the strong sun .
I've been to CR serval times and always stay at the Mariner , You can Not go wrong :)

Gary Thompson Toronto Canada 01/13/2012

Room Tip: End room Biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Mariner inn is a cozy small hotel with a nice bar and nice terrace. the stuff is great and the owners are ready to help in everything. for flamingo the rooms are very cheap and very nice. there is everything including hot water, wifi, aircon. rooms are cleaned every day. here also you can meet nice people and share a glass of wine or fresh juice. it is located conviniently, close to the beach and main sights of the town although there are not many sights here. so i really enjoyed as stayed here for 1 month. cozy and not glamorous, thats great! highly recomended.

Room Tip: number 10 was mine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate341341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
0.7 mi away
Paradise Flamingo Beach
Paradise Flamingo Beach
#2 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
202 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Guanacaste Lodge
Guanacaste Lodge
#3 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Brasilito
Hotel Brasilito
#2 of 3 in Brasilito
285 reviews
2.0 mi away
Conchal Hotel
Conchal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Brasilito
514 reviews
2.4 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Inn

Property: Mariner Inn
Address: Frente de Antiqua Marina | Guanacaste, Costa Rica, Playa Flamingo 5111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariner Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mariner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariner Hotel Playa Flamingo
Mariner Inn Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing