We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mariner Inn
Nearby Hotels
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
US$259
US$141
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paradise Flamingo Beach(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Guanacaste Lodge(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$87
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Brasilito(Brasilito)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nany(Brasilito)(Great Value!)
US$75
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conchal Hotel(Brasilito)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flamingo Marina Resort(Playa Flamingo)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
26
26
9
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
26
9
7
7
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Came here a couple times during our stay. Food is good, service is good and they are reasonably priced. They have multiple flat screens so we caught the Super Bowl here and had a good time. I recommend stopping here for a beer and food anytime. Very laid back and good vibe.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3DTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

So you are going to the beach, exactly what do you need to be comfortable and close to the sand? We think Mariner Inn suits the bill just fine. Rooms are really from $29 plus tax and up. All rooms have hot water, AC, TV, FREE Internet, and they are clean. (Trust me on the clean part, my wife is real picky!) We stayed in a single queen room ($39 with taxes), the mattress was firm and comfortable just the way l like it. The AC worked great, the mini-frig worked properly and the hot water was HOT! The hotel buys a satellite cable package that allowed us to catch the Sunday night football games as well. Now for the beach part, you can walk. You are 2 blocks away directly down the street to a truly white sand beach with no hills to climb. The high end hotel and spa directly on the corner which you will pass as your feet hit the sand, is about $200 a night, important I guess if you really need a movie theater and spa. We were going to the beach!. Mariner Inn also has a swimming pool and patio located off the restaurant/bar with a beautiful view of the bay and all the boats that moor there. Say hello to Lin, she runs the place and is everything but the chef. (See our restaurant review). Service was above par and the overall feel of the hotel, restaurant, patio and grounds is very comfortable. They only have 10 rooms. Parking is available right next to the pool.

Room Tip: No real tips, the beer is cold! Ask for Lin, she runs the place.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Doug-n-Sandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My wife and I left the US with no particular landing place in mind in Costa Rica other than the airport in Liberia. A local friend called Larry who is the owner of the Mariner Inn, and got us a very difficult room to get in the high season. It turned out to be the best decision we made in the three years we spent in this area. This place is the focal point of all the interesting activities that go on in the Playa Flamingo area. Larry who has been around a number of years gets the best entertainment around and it is FREE. Its funky bar has a personality that should not be missed. My wife and I came back from the beach one day for lunch and found 6 young ladies dancing on the bar for an hour. They were celebrating St Patrick’s Day and had a little too much to drink but were having a great time. Don't miss this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chuck3773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We just spent five days in the Captain's Suite and were very satisfied. The basic rooms are small, with a good bed, good A/C, fan, small refrigerator and bath with shower. The suite has a tub/shower, A/C in each room, wall safe, large refrigerator, bar area, bar sink, microwave, coffee maker, nice balcony area with table & chairs and very comfortable hammock.

The downside is maintenance. Everything is on the shabby side. Lights that don't work, fan that doesn't turn on, shower with no water pressure, no hot water, etc. However, Lin (the owner) was very pleasant and accommodating: when I showed her the shower problem she said they would fix it after we left (have to open the wall to replace valves) and gave me the key to the room next door, where the shower worked fine. The lack of hot water was not a problem: the "cold" water here in CR is pretty warm and not at all uncomfortable.

The upside is that it's clean, well located, lots of parking, restaurant, bar, swimming pool, Wi-Fi, very pleasant staff (thanks Yancy, Maricela and Cindi!!!). If you plan to spend a lot of time in your room, you need to be in the suite. If you just want a clean, comfortable place to sleep (with A/C) and wash up, this place would be hard to beat for the price.

We'll be back.

Room Tip: standard rooms are small, but clean and comfortable; suite has good options.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

ok place a local place cheap rates bar and food the basics says it best. no frills active loud bar
in teh center of flamingo. no frills short walk to beach, the rooms a re adquate and are not the most modern but they are fine, you dont spend much time in it. all good

Room Tip: it doesnt matter
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnyourtripmyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews