We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under new management and fantastic vacation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paradise Flamingo Beach
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My husband, myself and two other couples we travel with stayed here for the Memorial Day long weekend and we were impressed by the hotel's picturesque cliff side location, its facilities, and staff. The hotel recently came under new management and is undergoing extensive renovations. Our rooms appeared to just having been renovated and were nicely appointed and bright, and within steps of direct access from the room's patio to the pool.

The hotel's restaurant served delicious fresh seafood on its expansive outdoor terrace overlooking a to die for sunset view. The hotel's general manager, Willie, was exceptional and the word 'no' doesn't appear to be in his vocabulary as he helped us with all our questions on tours and must see sites, and was very knowledgeable about local history, etc. We will definitely come back and recommend to anyone looking for a value driven beach side stay in one of the most scenic locations in Costa Rica.

Bianca, New York City

Room Tip: Request a room with direct poolside access, its a bit pricier but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2011

Weird. When you drive up, the lobby and restaurant are attractive and the view is breathtaking. Everything else about this place is dreary though. Most of the hotel has been abandoned, and the few rooms remaining are in a sad state. The beds are uncomfortable; we found both a roach and a crab in our bathroom, and the pool hadn't been cleaned in ages and was filled with junk. The "beach" is really just a small patch of mud that isn't really big enough to sit on. The staff was friendly, the restaurant and bar were fine, but the vibe is depressing and you don't feel as if your valuables are safe. It's also pricey, but you can negotiate down as they are pretty empty. Wouldn't be surprised if they close up any day now.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Howie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Tel [--] it is very hard to find to find contact info for this place. We have copied the phone number onto our review. The hotel is set on top of a hill with a gorgeous view of the bay. Access to a small private beach. The actual hotel is very clean but the rooms are dated with carpet. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Easy to get a shuttle from town to Liberia airport for 20$. We had a great dinner with some of the best food and drinks on our trip. We would recommend eating here and staying here if you are looking to relax in a quiet town.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sa88640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

I tried to get information about this hotel through their website, unfortunately after more than a week I still wait for an answer to the three eMails I sent. Their phone numbers are not valid either, so it was impossible for me to contact them.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank honguito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Im impressed with this hotel.
I was travelling with my girlfriend in my friend. Because he is in a wheel chair we checked almost al the hotels in Flamingo and were astonished and completely satisfied with hits one.
The hotel is located a little bit hidden and up the mountain with an astonishing view and a lot of space. The rooms lead direct to the pool area, which invites for a morning swim after opening the door. They are spacious, comfortable and clean.
The restaurant and lobby area is huge, as well as the terrace with the mentioned view. In addition there is a lot of land, where you can enjoy the sun on a little walk down to a private beach. The water is cistal clear and absolutely romantic.
Because of the size of the hotel, unfortunatelly there is not too much sun.

The included breakfast is delicious and the incredible service employees do not mind, to fullfill every wish!

In my opinion this hotel is the best choice in Flamingo if you are looking for a quiet and spacious hotel with excellent service.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabiankoehli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We just drove up with no reservation. Willie was very nice and a hard working person. We spend the night, enjoyed a dip in the pool and had the best dinner in our 12 day tour, we ate out on the terrace at sunset. The view was beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie60814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We took 16 people to the restaurant and it was very good while still being reasonable. We even had the place to ourselves. The food was good and the service was excellent. They were very accommodating of special requests. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutdoorsCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
1.3 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Guanacaste Lodge
Guanacaste Lodge
#3 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
71 reviews
3 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
432 reviews
2.6 mi away
Conchal Hotel
Conchal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Brasilito
559 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Brasilito
Hotel Brasilito
#2 of 3 in Brasilito
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Flamingo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Flamingo Beach

Address: Flamingo Beach Road | Near to Flamingo Marina Resort, Playa Flamingo 50308, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sabanero Beach Hotel)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range: £57 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Flamingo Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Flamingo Beach is an Ocean Front Hotel in exclusive Playa Flamingo. In addition to sporting its own privately accessed beach.Paradise Flamingo Beach Hotel is close to Conchal Beach, and Penca Beach and only a short distance from Tamarindo Beach and Hermosa Bay Beach. Paradise Flamingo Beach Hotel also features multiple dining venues, the best of indoor and outdoor dining, ample meeting and banquet space, multiple bars including a wet bar and spacious Ocean Front terraces. Weddings, events, family trips... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradise Flamingo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estela De Fuego Hotel Playa Flamingo
Paradise Flamingo Beach Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing