We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the El Sabanero Beach Hotel!! ����”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paradise Flamingo Beach
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay at the El Sabanero Beach Hotel!! ����”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Sister trip to Costa Rica...We had an awesome time!! Staff was very helpful and accommodating. Josef booked the Vandara tour for us. It was great! Nice, clean rooms. Relaxed in the sun by the pool.
Delicious lunch on the terrace with Beautiful ocean view. Fun times and lots of laughs at the bar. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janie-WVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    58
    27
    18
    17
See reviews for
63
82
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The owners of the hotel were so kind and accommodating. The location of the hotel is a little far from the main beach and on a very steep hill. If you have a car it should be fine. Hotel has an amazing view and is in a very quiet spot. My one complaint would have to be the cleanliness and upkeep of the room. Our room reeked of moth balls. The ac was old and rickety and the sliding door was extremely heavy and did not open easily. TV was out dated and overall the room was kind of bare. If you are looking for something affordable then this spot would be great , however if you want something with a little more character and coziness then stay clear.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the hotel and enjoyed it very much. The atmosphere was wonderful. The manager Josef & wife were very charming and helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet type meal also. The view is awesome from the deck overlooking the ocean and mountains in the distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

For the price, it was a decent hotel. The manager, Josef, his wife and the barman were really nice and friendly to us. Josef was very helpful and accommodating the whole time. The room was a good size and had a good view of the ocean. Breakfast was decent but not great. Gallo pinto, bread, fruit, drinks. Also decent room service food. Big pool. Good distance from the public beach if not fronting. Also appreciated how they would provide towels even for beach use, which was a good plus.

However, I generally felt that they were pinching pennies because of how they maintained their hotel. Lamp bulb was busted (not replaced despite asking twice). Bathroom tiles had aged stains that were not cleaned. Shower did not attach to the wall and the hose had a leak. You could tell no one was sweeping up the hotel lobby floor during the day as it was full of leaves by midday -- granted it was open spaced so leaves would tend to do that but still some periodic sweeping could be done. Same with cleaning up the pool leaves. Trash in the lobby bathroom was not collected for 2 days.

Again, I thought it was a decent place to stay. Basic accommodations for a good price. I don't regret going but make sure expectations are managed.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We didn't know what to expect when we arrived. But we were greeted very warmly. The staff is incredibly helpful and knowledgeable about what we should do in the area. Our room opened up to the pool, it felt like we had a private pool. We left and realized we had forgotten my husbands coat. A man named Michael(I think that was his name) drove it to us and was so so nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmamma82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My husband and I spent 2 weeks from Dec 27-Jan 9th. The hotel was fully booked and the staff was very busy, but we were always greeted each time we went through the lobby. The absolute best thing about this hotel is that it's on the top of a hill and has an amazing view to soak in every morning at breakfast. The worst thing...that it's at the top of an insane hill that can get old quick if you're walking.

The location is great. You're just up the hill from the plaza, which has the tour companies you can book any tour through. We used Ecotours in the plaza,and were also able to book tours through the front desk.

The rooms at the hotel are basic, but very nice. It's really all you need...except a mini-fridge, which in talking with the owner is something he's looking into. They've only owned the place 3 years and are still working on a list of things they'd like to change.

That said, the pool was great, the staff -amazing, the view extraordinary.
This is a family run hotel and has a very family feel. Joseph and his wife are so friendly and will do their best to make you comfortable. Robert, and "Potter" were great at the bar. Always helpful and very friendly. Had many a good chat with the boys. :)

We spent 2 weeks exploring the area and used El Sabanero as out home base. It's convienient to Tamarindo, Portrero, and the gold coast. We took 2 days and went up to Moteverde, and had no worries leaving our stuff at the hotel. The area is gated and the gates are locked every night, with a security guy on to let you in (or out) after hours.

We felt very safe and very at home at the El Sabanero. Although we'd plan to visit different areas of Costa Rica if we return, We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Thanks again Joseph, for everything. It was truly a trip to remember!

Room Tip: It is definitely worth it to have ocean view or pool access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TessaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Lorenzo de Flores, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife, my two kids and myself stayed for one night. Price was $104 breakfast included. We received very good service, all the personnel were very kind when we asked for stuff (extra pillow, towels, etc...) We ate at its restaurant and the prices were reasonable and the food was good. The room was very clean, I have never paid extra for a room with ocean view, but in this hotel every room has an outstanding panoramic view which in other places would cost at least $100 extra..
Now, the hotel looks old and in need of restoration. no flat panel TV but an old CRT, A/C worked but was noisy and is obvious it is an old model. No keycards for the room but regular keys. Breakfast was not up to the place, it looked cheap and some corners were cut to reduce cost (no orange juice but an orange flavored beverage for example).
There is a new administration running the place, it could improve over time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javier R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
1.3 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Guanacaste Lodge
Guanacaste Lodge
#3 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
2.6 mi away
Conchal Hotel
Conchal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Brasilito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Flamingo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Flamingo Beach

Property: Paradise Flamingo Beach
Address: Flamingo Beach Road | Near to Flamingo Marina Resort, Playa Flamingo 50308, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sabanero Beach Hotel)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Flamingo Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Flamingo Beach is an Ocean Front Hotel in exclusive Playa Flamingo. In addition to sporting its own privately accessed beach.Paradise Flamingo Beach Hotel is close to Conchal Beach, and Penca Beach and only a short distance from Tamarindo Beach and Hermosa Bay Beach. Paradise Flamingo Beach Hotel also features multiple dining venues, the best of indoor and outdoor dining, ample meeting and banquet space, multiple bars including a wet bar and spacious Ocean Front terraces. Weddings, events, family trips... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Paradise Flamingo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estela De Fuego Hotel Playa Flamingo
Paradise Flamingo Beach Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing