We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best beach trip you could have”
Review of La Marejada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Marejada Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
“The best beach trip you could have”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My mom and I recently came back from our time in Costa Rica (sad face) and we began our trip at La Marejada. It was FANTASTIC in every way. Gail, Marco and the team at La Marejada were kind and helpful with all of our questions, scheduling and beach needs. I cannot recommend this place more highly to anyone looking for a relaxed place to stay. It was far enough away from Tamarindo to feel quiet and seclusion but close enough to beep bop into town for some activities and fun. Just go. You will be happy that you did!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed equally awesome. I did like being on the second floor though with the higher ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edmundcosette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    41
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
93
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south windsor ct
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights back in January 2010. This hotel saved our vacation in Playa Grande (we checked out of another hotel after one night).
The room was very clean and nicely decorated. Very close to the beach. The owners were very helpful and very nice (we walked in asking for a room without a reservation).
Would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marta l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Spent 2 weeks in CR early December 2013 and this was our favorite place for quite a few reasons. Gail was super helpful with getting us settled in, set up surf lessons and set the bar pretty high for the rest of the trip. The room was comfortable and we got our best nights sleep here. The restaurant served great food, breakfast was delicious and the fish tacos were the best we had during our trip. This was probably the only place that we actually felt like we were in Costa Rica. If you are planning a trip to Playa Grande, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benthebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We loved our stay at La Marejada hotel, which is conveniently located a few minutes walk from Las Baulas Marine National Park where we wanted to go and see the leatherback turtles nest. The hotel has a direct access to a 5 km beach which is very popular with surfers. The sunsets will take your breath away.

As for the hotel itself, we really liked the fact that it was small (8 rooms; 4 per floor, with balconies). The food was so amazing that we had lunch every day. We also enjoyed having drinks in the garden near the pool, which is spotless.

Gail, the owner and her spouse Marco are wonderful guests, who make everyone feel welcome. They are both avid surfers, and can provide valuable information about surfing in the area.

The hotel is a small paradise near a quiet beach, which is refreshing compared with Tamarindo.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Digre_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, WA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We arrived at La Marejada Hotel in Playa Grande about 4 pm. ‘Looked like a swampy area, a collection of junk across the street. Expecting to be unimpressed, owner Gail greeted us & quickly made us feel welcomed. It was the beginning of the season (November 1), which may explain the eyesore of dead appliances & other debris. When our AC quit, coupled with a trail of small ants, Gail readily put us in another room. While the pool lacked clarity on first glance, on venturing in, it was clean & refreshing. It's a short 3-minute walk to the beach, a few meters from Star Taco.

Room Tip: Upstairs is better--catches more breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Wonderful small hotel with immaculate pool and garden and friendly helpful owners. Our room was spotless and the bed super comfy - by far the best night sleep we've had in Costa Rica. The hotel is 2 minute walk to the beach in a quiet location but still close to the handful of other hotels in the area.

Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for value for money, location and friendly hosts.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have nice aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamoi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I love love loved my time spent at La Marejada Hotel :) The people all working and running the hotel and restaurant were so welcoming, friendly and very helpful in suggesting what to do and see. It was such a relaxing and enjoyable experience. The rooms were very clean and cozy and the beach is minutes away. Also the food was delicious, would definitely recommend staying here and will be going back to stay next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieClaireCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0.0 mi away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#3 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#1 of 7 in Playa Grande
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bula Bula
Hotel Bula Bula
#4 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
9.3 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Marejada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marejada Hotel

Property: La Marejada Hotel
Address: 200m Sur de Minae, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Marejada Hotel, located in the quiet town Playa Grande is a hotel for surfers and beach goers alike. The hotel is located a quick walking distance to the white sand beach of Playa Grande. Our on site restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner focusing on fresh, homemade food made with the best local ingredients available. The property itself is shaded with mature palms, has an inviting pool to cool off in, as well as hammocks for relaxing outside in the tropical ambiance. The rooms are simple, clean, and stylish, with A/C, hot water, and comfortable beds and linens. The surrounding national park ensures an experience for nature lovers and gives a tropical sleepy charm to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Marejada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Marejada Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing